Common Sense Media says

Fun social tool, but use the privacy controls.

Users say

(out of 716 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old January 22, 2011
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bytigger100 May 22, 2010
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2010

for all ages exept over 12

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 9 year old Written bylitlesweetheart2000 April 23, 2010
Parent of a 17 year old Written byLA TIJUANERA May 20, 2010

vvvv

i love it
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Parent of a 17 year old Written byCHULY September 16, 2009
LOVE IT
What other families should know
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator Written byFutt747 February 11, 2016

Horrendous

Asks for mobile numbers to login before you can use it. No respect for privacy, lots of inappropriate content. It's no wonder their stock is plummeting. FB and Twitter are ridiculous now, information about you stored and sold. Shameful.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bycherry BOOOM June 18, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bySunbeam7x3 April 9, 2014

Inappropriate Material On Seemingly Innocent Accounts

I have my own personal twitter account. I subscribe to innocent accounts like "Wikipedia Facts" and "Love Notebook". They might be getting hacked but they are posting things that are porn. Every single day from these accounts, I get posts about Miley Cyrus sex tapes or links that will take me to naked women. I report these tweets everyday and nothing has changed. Even seemingly innocent accounts can post material I would NOT want my child seeing. I will not be allowing my son to have a twitter account. Even if a child only "follows" their friends, friends can retweet this material or they can easily search twitter for pages that upload full frontal porn pictures (mainly of women). But I was able to search "boobs" and multiple pages came up of twitter accounts dedicated to posting women's breast. I was able to view the page and all of their pictures without any need to follow them. So it would be without a parents knowledge if their child did this as well. Extremely disappointed in twitter for their lack of standards or morals.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bySkyJewelDiamond October 18, 2013

Great for teens

As a teen personally I follow a lot of fan accounts - basically accounts which owners like the same celeb as me - and of course the official accounts of the celebs. Wonderful way to connect to people, and the D.M is really good cause you can only D.M people who follows you, but it's quite easy to track someone down though- through hashtags, and if you know the person's likes and whatsoever, you can type something that they like - e.g. popcorn - into the search engine or something like that. You could start with a private account if you're not used to it. Explain to your kids about privacy and safety before letting them use the app.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old September 24, 2010
i realy like this site. my mom signed me up so when she was out of town she would not have to keep calling me. she could just send me a D.M on twitter. i also follow my favorite singers, actors/actresses, authors, and tv shows. just watch who your kids are following. its only inaproppriate if you search inappropriate stuff.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byparty chick November 28, 2009

awesme things

love it i think all ages should b on twittr
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bymattbruns3 October 29, 2015

Be more coutious with twitter.

Twitter is not as privacy guaranteed as FB. Kids also need to be mature enough to watch what users they follow. Some users post adult content and kids need to know not to follow certain stuff.
Parent of a 1, 3, 4, 6, 6, and 12 year old Written byResponsibleParentOf9 October 24, 2013

Unsafe. uneducational. Beware.

Twitter may seem harmless with it's tweets, but BEWARE! People can insert violent/sexual/alcohol/drug references into tweets, mention companies, and insert foul language, and it's not an educational site. For adults only.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bytina103004 July 20, 2010

ok for 10 &up

What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Parent of a 17 year old Written bycricket123 March 12, 2010

the best

don't know yet
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old November 12, 2009
i think its cool.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byWe Rock Our worls September 20, 2009
I love this place. As long a do not have bad world on my site!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bygeorge512 April 27, 2014

Woah! Not for Kids.

A Lot of Inappropriate Content on Twitter. There is a load of Female Nudity. This Website is Rated NC-17. No One 17 & Under allow. Be-careful using this website. I was shocked by what I found. This is really bad for kids to be on Twitter. I can easily find these Stuff on this website.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byVickywatford March 3, 2013

Stay clear from twitter

Twitter needs a MAJOR revamp. They take no responsibility over cyber bullying, by allowing people to say what they want but yet they can be completely anonymous. Their attitude is that its "free will" to write whatever the hell people want and to just ignore bullies. You can't ignore bullies! - people kill themselves over bullying, so it effects lives! Don't get me wrong people should be able to express their opinion and their beliefs but some people on twitter are vile! there is a fine line between your "opinion" and Bullying on that site. There should be tighter regulations, people shouldn't be aloud to be anonymous and twitter need to have a team monitoring anti-social activity!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages