All member reviews for Whyville

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Social site with good edu value needs supervision.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 41 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old February 23, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I used to love the website,until one day I was talked about as a so-called "Newbie",and was once asked a very gross question.I left the website imediently,and have never visited the site again.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old January 5, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hmm...

well I go on whyville and im 10 I think its okay for my age but suddenly im noticing there are people telling Each other THEIR PHONE NUMBERS!!! And saying oh here baby text me or call me shmexxi (sexy) so idk...iffy on this review...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bysummerbird July 27, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
This site USED to be a fairly good website but not anymore. My daughter complained many times to the workers there about inappropriate behavior such as virtual sex, talking about sex, positions for sex and blow jobs, pretending to drink, foul language and nothing is done. She was informed that there was nothing wrong with the behavior and to quit filing 911 reports (their name for complaint reports). She even had a boy ask her if he could rape her and when she did a 911 report she was told there was nothing wrong with what the boy did. There is no way any kid under 18 should be on that site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old July 10, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR ANYONE!

HATE IT! i used to go there and then i entered the room then there was a BANANA WITH A TONGUE AND THEN HE WAS RIGHT BEHIND MY AVATAR! i was like "wat r u doing?" then he said "butt s**" i was like OMG! STUPID PERSON! i also saw a girl and a boy then the girl said "ooooo mmmm baby! i wanna have s** with u all day" and then my jaw dropped for five min. staring at the screen! its super gross. one time i tried to do wat they did but just an expiriment,then after that he said "i wanna lick ur va****" GROSSSSSS! I WUD NEVER VISIT THIS SITE EVER AGAIN! DIZZYWOOD IS BETTER!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old February 11, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

this is perfect

love it
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bydsworld February 16, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

perfect for ages 12 years of age to the age of 13,14 years old.

I love it. Kids have a safe website that is educational for ages 12 years of age and up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

14 AND OVER!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 15 year old Written byChavitavb August 13, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I love Whyville and still go on it. But it has gotten so pathetic with new kids and they always come up with terms like Licks, Blows, etc.. Sexual words... The kids also find ways to get pass the filters and end up figthing. I would not allow a child under the age of 13 to come on this site has innaproaite teenagers which curse, and think there the cools ones in Whyville. Another thing is kids take advantage and threaten people on the chatting rooms which is a big cyber bully. These lazy City Workers needs to wake up and bring the old whyville back. Message to City Worker your ignorants, stupid, and idiots for not doing such a goodjob. Somebody get new workers that actually handle a child website.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old August 22, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

hate it

bad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byHanzah September 4, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Only for kids 14+

Chatrooms are NOT constantly monitored, Filters don't catch anything, People talk violently, Sexual behavior (People make their avatar "Have sex" by doing a dance in front or behind them), Kids use special spellings to get around filters ("Faak"), Even though they try to keep people from sharing personal information, they do it all the time. It is also somewhat addictive to kids under 15.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byGoldhunt January 28, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Safety Pre-Cautions Will Make You GO Crazy!

OK, I went onto Whyville to try it out as a guest user. When I got on, I noticed the graphics weren't really all that great. Avatars only show part of a person. The avatars move around in the game by zooming around the screen. All of it is very 2-D. Nothing special at all! Anyway, this girl came into the room I was in, and it appeared she had a cold. She kept saying "Achoo!", and her avatar looked ill. I took this in, and I tried to say that she didn't look so good, but the chat wouldn't let me! Instead, it suggested I tell her that she looked good! At this point, I was beginning to get ticked off. I hardly ever misuse chat, and all I was trying to do was have a conversation with this person, but Whyville's limitations wouldn't have any of it! After the incident with the sick person, I went to another room that dealed with oceanography. The NPC at the counter was named Reggie. I tried to say "Hey Reg!", but again the chat wouldn't let me. At this point I was really starting to get mad. My second attempt at speaking in the game had failed. Thanks to the system we can't say anything unless it's in a dictionary of approved words. Nor can we say anything that might be seen as mean. (although it's not to be mean!). I also tried to say: "How do you do?" "I want to try that!" "What do you like?" "I like to rollerskate." "Have you ever flown in an airplane?" "I have three cats and two dogs." "I talked to her earlier." Guess What? None of these were approved! That's just a small percentage of what you can't say in the game. The truth is, if a word, phrase, or sentence isn't approved, you can't say it!
Kid, 10 years old January 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

G-R-E-A-T tweens

Teen, 13 years old Written by10ISPRO May 19, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Hmm....

I used to go whyville but there were some things that made me feel uncomfortable. One was that I felt that you can give it WAY TOO MUCH personal information. Such as your home town. Also , some people are very rude on there. You can block them by using there safety features but the people that you blocked can still see you in chatrooms. This website is also very addictive, one can become easily addicted to the designs, rares and your clams. For me that was what happened and I found myself wasting hours on pointless things. Things such as designing at Akbar's Factory. This website is great for people who don't care what happens on the net and have LOTS of time on their hands.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written bywolves4love November 29, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

no

The site tries to keep it safe, but really, its not that good. i have an account and most of the kids on it are pervs and jerks. they put you down if your new and some make their avatars "do IT" with yours. i dont like it. only go on it if your being paid at least 15 bucks
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written byKelly_P February 19, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Why bother with whyville?

I allowed my daughter to try this site and was disappointed. The graphics look 2nd rate and the site is not monitored closely enough. There is a type of restricted chat where you have to choose phrases from a list, and then there is a more open type of chat kids can do if parents sign a permission slip and snail-mail it in. Eventually she prodded and begged enough and i decided to allow her to access the open chat and sent in my permission slip. Whyville staff never responded. I emailed a complaint and waited.... In the meantime, I noticed a lot of mean-spirited comments being thrown back and forth, and kids finding creative ways to use swear words. Eventually I got an email from the staff saying that they never received my permission slip. There is also a lot of pressure to buy "clams" (currency) that is used to buy clothing and face parts for your character. I was not about to use my credit card on a site that is so poorly run. We decided to give up on whyville and try Disney's Pixie Hollow instead. It's an adorable site and lots of fun, and the customer service is terrific. They also have a pirate site for boys.
Adult Written byAngelCloud October 17, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

This is not a safe site for anyone under the age of 18

They claim to be a child friendly and educational website, but the only educational thing you can find on there is sex ED. They let the kids talk about sex, drugs, drinking, and smoking. They let the kids pretend to have sex in the chatrooms, tell each other to go kill themselves, and they let a lot of harassment go on. They tape kids for telling homosexual kids they are not interesting in dating them, even if they do it nicely. They let the kids talk about nude pictures and porn sites, but if you talk about a website as innocent as the Hello Kitty website, you get in trouble. They also let kids over the age of 18 influence minors and harass them. This is not safe website.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 7 year old Written bystar4ever47 November 7, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

WHYVILLE SUCKS

I HATE WHYVILLE FOREVER!IT IS SO MAKING ME MAD THAT I CAN ONLY SAY ''HELLO'' AND ''HOW ARE YOU'' THATS ALL!AND ONE TIME,I WENT INTO A ROOM AND THIS BOY,LIKE,PUT HIS AVATAR ONTO MY BODY AND COVERED IT!HE WAS GOIN UP AND DOWN TO COVER MY AVATAR!HE WAS DRUNK AND STUPID!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMagicRain July 27, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Inappropiate website

I used to log into Whyville and it used to be a cool site, but now it's just nasty. The kids just run around pretending to have sex, talking about sex, cussing, pretending to get drunk, talking about drinking and drugs, typing out lyrics to nasty songs, pretending to rape other random kids, giving out personal information, and more. I've even seen guys on there asking girls nasty questions and the girls would respond with answers. When I reported kids for nasty behavior the staff always told me they weren't doing anything wrong and that it wasn't bad. They don't do anything about the nasty behavior anymore. They just basically let everyone run around on there doing whatever they want now. I stopped logging in because every time I went into a chat-room I would see kids acting and talking disgusting and I always got attacked by guys asking me inappropiate questions and trying to "rape" me. They say this site is educational and appropiate for young children, but it's really nasty and kids don't need to see the stuff some of these kids do and say. They say they have chat filters so kids can't talk nasty, but they just word the words in a certain way so it gets past the filters and they don't do a thing about it. I've even seen kids with nasty usernames. When you first go to their site and see the log in page, make your account, take the chat test and all that it looks like a clean,fun site, but once you go into the chatrooms you learn differently. This used to be a clean site that was fun and cool, but now it isn't. :(
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byHotaru Chan July 7, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Ugh

I used to be a Whyville addict. Now I've long quit it. Someone will ALWAYS be doing something inappropriate (I've even seen people "getting it on") and when I report it, it will either usually say that its not serious enough for a 911 report, or that they can't find it in the chat script, and that's because they actually LOOKED for it practicly a week later! I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byPorcelain December 23, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good for 3~6 year olds living in a strict christian family.

Lol? This website is stupid as hell. No supervision? You will get reported by anyone and everyone who sees you say ANYTHING that could be considered "offensive" to anyone. You can't say any curse words including "dam" or you'll be banned. You can't even ask people their facebook or you'll be banned. Hell, don't even risk telling them your name. The graphics of this site are total crap, and the rules are so strict you might as well not even get a chat license. No point. Fail game.

Pages