Parents say

(out of 216 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent of a 7 and 16 year old Written bySimon S. January 2, 2017

It all depends on what you watch

First off the bat, I'd like to mention one thing that CSM lies about: YOU CAN'T WATCH PORN ON YOUTUBE. YouTube doesn't allow things with nudity/excessive sexual content on the site. If there is a video like that, it gets reported and they take it down. Obviously, there can be videos with sexual jokes or mildly sexual content. It all depends on what you watch. Some channels/videos are completely clean, non-violent, and non-sexual. Other channels have more of that kind of content. It varies from channel to channel, video to video. My recommendation is that if your kid wants to watch a certain channel, then just check the channel out, watch some videos, and determine whether or not you think it's appropriate for your child or not. YouTube channels usually are pretty consistent in terms of appropriateness.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byBrett N. November 4, 2016

the black hole where your monthly data is going

if you are looking for the black hole where your monthly data is going you have found the colporate. Failtube here is getting worse and worse and greedier and greedier. The ads are bad enough but when you are trying to watch a low quality video and youtubes servers fail to stream it to you it is very frustrating that the HD ad that came on before came through perfectly (ad servers are more local than content servers and the content severs are a dime a dozen these days)…You used to be able to skip these 5min HD ads in 5 secs now its 10secs?! Also what is with failtube downloading your video past an ad marker (wasting downloads) and then the ad comes on which dumps the additional data downloaded and then re downloads the video? I have done the research and reviewed the usage on average for every 10mb that is downloaded almost 5mb is either wasted or dumped and re downloaded as the content stream was interrupted due to an ad. You also need to love when you are forced to watch a 15 to 45 sec ad and after it is finished the ad server fails to connect you to the content server…
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byYathan D. September 28, 2016
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymagic man26 July 29, 2016

depends on what you watch

first of all I want to point out that there are many uploads of ect: disturbing/creepy content or bad language. there is also a pathetic yt kids but most kids would watch gameplays (if you are a parent tell them what they are watching if you are not sure if it is suitable stay in the same room)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byjr1 May 7, 2016

Not for kids

I saw a video with the word C--t. Thats discusting!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byReplayliste.com March 28, 2016

Replayliste.com is a better interface for youtube videos

Youtube interface is not good. You can try RepeatYT.com which has a much better interface for youtube videos. 1. you can search for videos while currently playing video keeps on playing. 2. you can repeat youtube videos 3. you can create playlist on the go without any sign up.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byjavedsumsh March 18, 2016

good

very nice
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byEScsm January 12, 2016

Risky

I think it is a bit risky too let your child be allowed to roam this website freely if your child is under 13 because there is a inappropriate content on there and you don't want your kid to be exposed to that. I think you should only let your child roam this site freely if you know for sure that your child is very responsible and is aged 13+.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 7 year old Written byt.r.d September 27, 2015
Adult Written byfaithrebekah18 July 6, 2015

YouTube

This website is very easy to navigate and it is very fun. Kids can watch lots of viral videos and many Youtuber's videos. You can find videos on nearly everything from science to hair. It is a great way to spend your time but you may need to monitor some access.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byPennDisneyCEO May 7, 2015

My Youtube Review

I think the website, itself, since, is fine, and has went thought the good and the bad for 10 years now, but is all okay to go to, full of things for all ages! Is really to my option that is that of a useful videos site for all things! From logos end of TV shows, to game plays, from POW of rides, to movie trailers, from educational lessons, to funny fails, from tas runs, to the best music in the world. Is for all people of different things, even schools trust it thanks to fact you no longer need DVDs of educational things to put into laptops, they are all there! Honestly is just that full of everything, but there's the bad side of things often on youtube you need to worry, which may include the following in some, like bad words being said out in videos and comments (You won't notice them coming) which was a problem to the website a lot! Other issues is included sexual content, violent videos, and some of the heated hate. If you have a child, i say you keep watch on them and only give them the appropriate videos for any of those baddie things, and if you do find one immediately move to the next one that's better, and also very careful with the comments section. If you have a teen, give him/her some freedom to search around youtube, but still make sure they don't come up with bad videos in their result pages! I say is good for all, and that it does not need to be rated for it's age, but is with your child(ren) or teen(s) ideals.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written bywhip April 23, 2015

Great site for teens!

YouTube has amazing videos! However, some bad videos are posted sometimes. But you can block them with Safe mode. One of my favorite types of videos are Youtube Poops. Because they have bad words, I prefer that teenagers choose to watch DaThings1's YTP videos. There are tons of things on YouTube and I think this is a great site!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 9 year old Written bygoogle1321 March 1, 2015

Common sense media dumb

Youtube has very appropriate videos for any age.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bygracevirginiac December 20, 2014

The Learning Faculties R Gr8

This website is my nephews whole existence. Everyone should subscribe to danisnotonfire and AmazingPhil they r gr8. There is nothing bad about it and all kids should use it in everyday life. It is my current favourite website for learning and education. Try out teacher tube if you are worried about anything
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byKaguas November 7, 2014

Great Site

Great site, explore entertainment videos. Watch studying material, help, tutoring, games, etc..too much swearing in the comments though.
Parent Written byerinw2 November 2, 2014
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymarc laboy October 10, 2014

let your kids on youtube

you can just put up age barriers
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byconnorm1 October 7, 2014
It is a great, resourceful site, however, some videos may be inappropriate for younger viewers.
Adult Written bygrizmaster1981 April 28, 2014

MANDATORY IFFY AD pollution

Even if you use youtube to teach your kids you get these iffy ads YOU CAN'T SKIP sometimes. Then they throw an ad in the middle of the video you are watching. I don't know how these companies do this but it contaminates what could be a perfect site to teach kids or allow them to watch cartoons. Somebody came in and polluted this website. Some of these ads push wine or alcohol or vapor cigarettes in videos that should be family friendly. And beware there could be privacy traps in some of these ads. If the site starts taking down these ads maybe I will put it okay for teens. It is mixed to say the least. Parents strongly cautioned.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bynorad91 April 6, 2014

flailing with YouTube

My children are pretty good about avoiding inappropriate material, but they keep stumbling upon videos that aren't suitable. I wish I could effectively block certain channels and content on YouTube. It bothers me that my children have become big fans of vloggers I don't know. I try to stay informed, but I just can't keep up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages