Parents say

(out of 218 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Adult Written bymovieman1230 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byCSM Screen name... April 9, 2008
Adult Written byNetbug009 April 9, 2008

I depends on what you look for

Giving Youtube one appropreate age bracket is impossible. The site is open to content from the suggestive for adults only to videos safe for kids. The only way to make this site safe for ANY age is to teach kids what is and isn't okay to view and keep on eye on what your kids watch. The site is safe with proper use of the search ngine. I am on Youtube frequently and haven't had a shocking encounter yet.
Adult Written bybaconbrother4 April 9, 2008

Depends

everything about this depends on the kid
Adult Written byjoe joe April 9, 2008
i really dont feel like writing but kids under four should be now reading so they can learn at a young age
Adult Written bychubby April 9, 2008
Adult Written byannabellee April 9, 2008

okayyyyy...

Youtube.com is not a horrible site. Honestly i think it could be a good thing. It's like fire, you know? You can get injured, but you can ude it for good things also. One of my daughter has a project on Dub poetry, and she used this site to watch 'lost' footage of an icon. It was a great help. but proceed with cautiion... as for uploading videos i wouldnt want a child under 16 doing that, but that's my opinion, it depends...
Adult Written bysham April 9, 2008
Adult Written byhorse_gerbil April 9, 2008

The site can be good or bad, it just depends on the vid you watch.

I see no real problem with the site except for the fact that in the comments, people will often insult the creator of the video, and/or the video while using crude language etc. But it's simple to keep YouTube a safe environment. All you have to do is know what you are searching for. Take me for example, I usually search for the user-made music videos of my favorite movies such as Pirates of the Caribbean, or Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron. I still agree, that you should watch your kid, because sometimes people will tag a video about something crude with words like 'Pirates of the Caribbean', because they know it's a popular genre, and want more people to watch their video. Overall, it's a great site if you know what you're doing! (Btw, if you need any assistance, you can messege me on my account there. http://youtube.com/profile?user=horsegerbil)
Adult Written bystaci April 9, 2008

Youtube : Pedophile Paradise?

I have many concerns with Youtube, there have been several things brought to my attention about a group called YTASK. If you look deeper on YouTube about what adults are saying on this group it becomes very nerve racking. On the front page they advertise for XXX although the videos are NOT porno a lot of videos on this website are obscene for example : Animal abuse, and children say between the ages of 9-14 posting videos of them in their undies dancing and so on. Youtube doesn't pay attention and rarely looks into things. :( It's a wonderful place but please keep kids OFF of Youtube.
Adult Written byPetegertoil April 9, 2008
Adult Written bykellayyxo April 9, 2008
Adult Written bysouth side April 9, 2008
Adult Written byDexterSmith April 9, 2008

YouTube.com

Sexual Content (Pause): You have to be 18 or older to access the porn videos, but anyone can lie about their age. Violence (Pause): Some silly slapstick in the videos. You can't access the extremely violent videos if you're under 18, but again, anyone can lie about their age. Language (Off): Strong language in the videos and comments. Social Behavior (Pause): Some good role models, some bad ones (more of the latter). Commercialism (Pause): Some Google ads. Drug/Alcohol/Tobacco (Pause): References, and sometimes consumption of all three. Educational Value (Pause): Some of the videos are helpful and educational, but you wouldn't want your kids imitating most of the behavior on here.
Adult Written bykidoman583 April 9, 2008

awsome!

rules
Adult Written byblondy881 April 9, 2008

hate it

i hate it
Adult Written bylannyl April 9, 2008
Adult Written bykhalif47 April 9, 2008

Pages