All parent member reviews for YouTube

Parents say

(out of 211 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent of a 2, 4, 10, and 11 year old Written bybpm01 December 11, 2010

Unsafe

Kids should not use Youtube alone. You can find anything under the sun on it. I have it blocked on on web browser unless myself or my husband puts in a password. You can get educational videos but there is no way to monitor it unless you are with your kid when they are on it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byannie435 December 11, 2010
well only they giving approitte things and u know what i mean
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written byTwilighterGurl13 December 9, 2010
Some of the materical on Youtube is inapropriate.People use bad language like, "b**ch", "d*mn", @$$,etc. Also, some videos on youtube show sexual content and violence that is NOT apropriate. I reccomend parents to monitor what their children watch on Youtube.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byUnicornPoop November 29, 2010

READ THIS!

YouTube is NOT that bad. Really, it can be educational, and there are plenty of little kiddies shows like Elmo, Arthur, ETC. And good music for 10+ like Lady Gaga, Ke$ha, Rihanna. YOUTUBE HAS PARENTAL CONTROLS (for overprotective parents)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written byshaking bacon November 11, 2010

cool

it is best thing i ever saw.
Parent of a 11 year old Written bySamantha T November 6, 2010
Youtube is a good website if you trust your kids to not watch bad videos. I use it all the time, and so does my daughter (she's 11). My daughter mostly uses Youtube for listening to music. The comments on the videos are really bad. I wouldn't suggest letting a younger kid on it, but Youtube is very useful, in my opinion.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 14 year old Written byzackk710 November 5, 2010

14+

YouTube is a great video website. Ranging from just entertaining videos, to music videos. I rate it on for 14+ because most popular shows on YouTube are not really any problem. There may be some swearing, but 14 year olds are using those 'naughty words' these days anyway. YouTube also has a wide range for educational videos. Such as Discovery Channel, and Animal Planet, and many others. Although there are some 'naughty' things on YouTube, parents can set a Parental Control. Also, YouTube has a 'Flag' option, where you can report a video to the YouTube Staff. YouTube is not allowed to have racism, or any sexual contact. (Must be nudity) Other then that, YouTube does have some great videos, and is entertaining for all ages. Although, I do still suggest Parental Supervision.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Adult Written byjjmy momma November 5, 2010

love youtube

i love it it has all videos its awesome
Parent of a 6 year old Written byMrs.Cherry October 27, 2010

Perfect for tween and teens

Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Parent of a 16 year old Written byNick00105 October 27, 2010

perfect

:o ^
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Adult Written byberrybus October 18, 2010

>blank

lovely role models if u can find them
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 17 year old Written bynoface October 18, 2010

perfect for ages 8 and older

i think kids need to learn how to be mature about things utube is for something to watch funny videos and see what another contry lookes like not to watch porn its retarded i know some kids can be ceryus about what a another person looks like but just ask your parents
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 3 year old Written bymissklswt October 6, 2010
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of an infant, 8, and 10 year old Written byBensyMom September 18, 2010
Some bad/innapropriate user content, but a few are good!
Parent Written bymargyw September 15, 2010

Some useful tips and educational videos. Too much cursing and insulting comments.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 2 year old Written bysamantha9858 September 12, 2010
cool
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator and Parent of a 13 year old Written byMsKrista September 8, 2010

A great tool but Parents need to monitor what their child watches...

It can be a great educational tool for learning many things. However, it can also be VERY inappropriate. I use Youtube all the time to learn how to work computer programs and issues. I also like to watch positive affirmation videos, meditations and scenes from shows of our child actor friends.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 12 year old Written byLoveTheAlli August 30, 2010

It's useful.

It's very useful, And educantional, becuase it's has tutriol videaos.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 23, 2010
the majority of the popular videos include words like f--k s--t and a lot of others (for example,Shoes.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybme777 August 14, 2010

Pages