All parent member reviews for YouTube

Parents say

(out of 211 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent of a 10, 12, 13, and 14 year old Written bySnursing1 July 31, 2009

Useful information when looked up appropriately

You tube has something for everyone. It is educational when u look up thing u need help with. I have never seen anything crude on here, but maybe that's because I never looked up anything that would have any concern of nudity or explicit language. So, I really enjoy the website and so do my children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written byactive reader July 30, 2009
i love it all espicially the semi nude videos me and my son watch then all the time
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written bybrown_eyed_girl July 29, 2009

Educational gems abound in the sea of trashy user generated content

A great site if you are sitting next to your kids. We have used YouTube to learn so many things, from how to do Michael Jackson's moonwalk to special knitting techniques to physics demonstrations to viewing portions of popular musicals to determining what exactly a bot fly is (totally disgusting, you have been warned!). So while YouTube can be considered the Wild West of the internet, it's also a really powerful resource for kids who need to see how something works to understand it. I'd never turn a minor loose to search videos on YouTube w/o parental supervision, but I also wouldn't completely ban it from my house. As long as you are sitting next to your child, supervising the search terms and screening the content, it can be a great educational resource.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written byYOUTUBEYAY July 29, 2009

PERFECT FOR EVERYONE

YAAAAAAAAAAAY
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byWebsiteReviwer June 23, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byRemacno June 20, 2009

Opinions of Youtube

After being a Youtube member for the last few years, I have actually considered the concerns many people should be facing when letting your child join these sites or watch videos on them. There are many things such as false advertising with examples such as "Naruto Episode #" which your child, if not like most children, would want to watch it, would click it and find that the video is nothing but something completely different, sexually oriented, offensive or otherwise damaging to the sensitive younger ages. As Youtube is now opening it's own Anime section where your child may have access to many anime which would be fun for your child, I would have to say watch out for certain cartoons that they may watch. Some titles that I would personally have my own child, if I had one, avoid, would have to be as follows: Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni, Blood+, Trinity Blood, Elfen Lied, Metalocalypse, and many other gory, and disturbing cartoons. Please keep a close monitor on your child's viewing of this website as you many have some trouble on your hands should you choose to believe that what your child watches has any pressing on whom your child may become. The suggested age here, 16+!
Parent of a 5, 7, and 13 year old Written byTBF June 11, 2009

my exhusband loved it

he came home with this talk about youtube and then i tried it out
Parent of a 14 year old Written byhibendy09 May 29, 2009

16 and old

this site should be rater 10 and up
Adult Written byThe JP Show May 25, 2009

Denpends

Some VIDEOS are appropite while some inappropite. The child is the target
Educator Written bytennisguy1847 April 11, 2009

NOT THAT BAD

i seriously dont know why people think it is so bad. you have a choice whether to watch bad videos. you can use youtube as a resource for anything you like
Adult Written bymoviemadness March 30, 2009

Watch Out!

Youtube can be a wonderful source for movie trailers, clips from TV shows, and (unfortunately) bootlegged music, music videos, and full movies. All of this stuff is great, but not all of it is for kids. Some is excplicitly violent or sexual. An account is required to watch movies deemed "suitable for 18 or older" by youtube or the community. This account doesn't need to be activated, and anyone can lie about their age. On the not-so-great end of things, anyone can post videos of themselves. These can be creative and fun, or show kids and teens doing stupid and dangerous things. Think of it this way: youtube is like a 24/7 television with no parental blocks.
Adult Written bymissbunhead March 26, 2009

Absolutely awful

How dare they allow kid's ages 13-16 to view this site. Nearly all video's have teenagers swearing or mentioning sexual things. And children can lie about there age, there are also PORN videos. Not for you're tween or your teen either. No one under 18 should be aloud on youtube. Do you want you're precious little children to know what a naked body looks like. Do you want you're precious young teenage girl or boy to even see this? If you are a responsible and conservative parent, of course you wouldn't. Parents keep you're little darlings and teens ages 13-17, that's right 17! away from this horror. Unless you want them to see uncleanness before they are 18.
Adult Written byRaichu4u March 20, 2009

No problem if...

YouTube has been a FINE sight for media. Many people take it to be a bad one because of the references to drugs and swearing. Most kids now-a-day are just searching Fred videos, or music videos. Your kids aren't going to search up porn instantly or people killing each other as soon as they go on this site. It is also a way for many to get involved in the process of film, animation, and others. There are sites worse than youtube, and I don't see why it needs all the criticism from parents. Worried about you child's videos of him/her on the site? As long as no major personal info was leaked, only like address, city, last name, phone, and school could attract attention. YouTube would be sued for millions if their site was a cause of an amber alert or child molesting.
Educator Written byTHEBEST56 January 10, 2009

hi

What happen to all of the innaproipate stuff here
Adult Written bymovieman1230 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byCSM Screen name... April 9, 2008
Adult Written byNetbug009 April 9, 2008

I depends on what you look for

Giving Youtube one appropreate age bracket is impossible. The site is open to content from the suggestive for adults only to videos safe for kids. The only way to make this site safe for ANY age is to teach kids what is and isn't okay to view and keep on eye on what your kids watch. The site is safe with proper use of the search ngine. I am on Youtube frequently and haven't had a shocking encounter yet.
Adult Written bybaconbrother4 April 9, 2008

Depends

everything about this depends on the kid
Adult Written byjoe joe April 9, 2008
i really dont feel like writing but kids under four should be now reading so they can learn at a young age
Adult Written bychubby April 9, 2008

Pages