All member reviews for YouTube

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Vast video site entertains and educates; iffy stuff abounds.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 1168 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old March 26, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Wrong! Wrong! WRONG!

OK the common sense people are wrong. I know for a fact that youtube should be for age 10+. And it can't be iffy for 13 to ages 15. It should be inappropriate for ages 6 and under, iffy for 7 to 9, then age appropriate for ages 10+ OK so I cleared it up. Now I hope they take my advice and do what I say. They are very wrong.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byrobinrunner March 20, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

viewers should stay cautious

Youtube can be an educational place or a place to get information through video. The only problem is anyone can upload one, with whatever innopropriate content they'd like. And once you see something through your eyes, it's hard to get out of your brain
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old March 4, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

It depends on what you watch

Youtube is a good website, but is it inaproppiate? It really depends on what you watch. If your a parent and think that your child is looking up inaproppiate stuff on Youtube, then watch them the next time they're on. Other than that, it's an awesome website!!!!!
Teen, 16 years old Written byteamjacobgirl2.0 January 11, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Stop overreacting parents!

YouTube is one of those websites that is 100% unavoidable. Everyone has been on YouTube and even thought some comments\videos are going too far with drugs and things like that parents can't stop their kids from going on. I think YouTube is easy to get around and its fun to sit and watch weird and random videos. Defentily a great site and parents shouldn't overreact.
Kid, 12 years old August 3, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Be careful and you'll be fine

Youtube. It's on the same level of site as Google and Facebook. It has EVERYTHING. Educational how-tos. Trivia. Documentaries. Porn. Swearing. Drugs. It's a great site, by all means, but stick to what you know. When you do a search, stay on page one, where the videos you want are and you won't be tricked into an innapropriate video. Stick to searching topics you like and don't venture into topics "your friend told you about". When using Youtube, you just have to be smart and when you here a swear word or nudity or gore, turn that video off and find another one. Just be smart, and you'll be fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old September 7, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

YouTube is great

YouTube is pretty much the greatest website ever, I have a Youtube channel (kirbyswarpstar123), and my 8-year-old brother has a Youtube channel (Connor PizzaOnWheels). And if you have Safety Mode on it blocks inappropriate stuff from being seen by your kid. Totally awesome. I got my YouTube channel when I was 8, and if you let your 8-year old have a YouTube channel make sure they turn the comments off when they are uploading their video. Best video site ever.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old March 8, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

NO NO NO NO NO NO NO.

ITS BAD OK! 1 it has scared me so bad so bad I have learned bad words and all of that its not good for kid not al all trust me something's are ok but some are not like bad words and all of that its not very good for children ok parents look watch your children while watching YouTube to be safe if something happens its ok otherwise still it can be sad or mean so on and so on but please I have gotten so weird its weird so parents watch your children while watching you tube its just not a child friendly site ok thank you and god bless.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 17 year old Written byunixworm April 3, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 3, 6, and 8 year old Written bymr.travis February 11, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

WAY too many wildcards on youtube

There is a smuttiness prevalent on youtube that ultimately has made it off-limits to my kids. Example: a friend forwarded a funny Christmas video showing costumed monks presenting the "Hallelujah Chorus," silently using signs. As soon as it was finished, up come the suggested videos, one of which is entitled "the 12 gays of Christmas." I didn't watch that one - maybe it was funny too - but I surely didn't care to explain to by children age 8, 6 and 3 what the title might mean. So even when I'm in territory on youtube that seems kid safe, it seems somewhere on the page there something about (actual examples again) "how to shoot up heroin" or something about oral sex techniques. I have posted several videos to youtube and been disappointed and often shocked at the abusive, sexual language left as comments, even though the videos were of my small children and were posted simply for their grandparents to see. (We're not posting any family videos to youtube any longer.) There seems to be a poisonous misanthropy among youtube users - or at least among commenters - that to me is starting to feel like the lingua franca of the web in general. Based on experience in the last year I'm starting to find the web an unsafe place for kids overall. Maybe these problems will be addressed by the new safety feature. It will be hard to convince me, though. With the exception of text content, it seems to me that safety features will rely on user-provided tags and flags. As I have said, I don't have a lot of faith in youtube users as advocates for children. As for quality, it's a phenomenal challenge to find content of genuine merit. Flippant fun is what we find primarily. All this was a lot more fun before we had children. Now comes responsibility... sigh.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bylindsey12345 April 5, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

youtube poop

some videos are youtube poop
Teen, 17 years old Written byhamstergurl09 May 31, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

So Many Videos, So Little Time

Honestly, it's WAY too hard to classify YouTube as "appropriate" or "inappropriate" for certain age groups because it's so diverse. You'll notice I checked off all the little "What should other families know about this website?" options. There's too many different types of content to count! I couldn't say if it's "on" or "off" for any age groups(TAKE NOTE OF THE SENTENCE BEFORE THIS ONE WHEN SEEING THAT I RATED IT ON FOR 13, I DON'T NECESSARILY AGREE WITH THAT). In my personal opinion, YouTube is quite interesting.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bynsvv April 30, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Loads of great content and loads of bad content: only for mature children.

You've certainly heard all about YouTube, so there's no need to describe what it is. YouTube has got an incredible amount of fantastic, entertaining and educational user content, but this is balanced by a large amount of more inappropriate user content. You can't put an age rating on it because it depends on your child's maturity. If you trust them and know that they are sensible enough to make good decisions, by all means let them use it as it is an incredible invaluable resource. However, if you suspect that your child will negatively exploit it, keep it banned.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 9 year old Written bylabtop909 February 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I don't know

I can't say I love this website or that I hate it. The good thing is that it inspires children to be creative. Creativity is something all children need but CAN get better sources of it in other places. Alot of bad languge, sexual behavoir and other inoproproit things have popped up on youtube. One time, my four year old got on youtube all by herself. She clicked a random vidio becouse she saw Rudolph the red nosed deer becouse she likes him. It turned out to be a gory horor.She was scared out of her mind and ran to me. She showed me this clip.I banned her from the internet for a while. Although in this case youtube has been unsafe, my sister bought a sofywear that block inopproproit content. Youtube can either be terrible or great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old February 16, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It's awesome!! Why would you rate it ZERO STARS????????

OMG why do you rate everything bad???? just because it isnt good for kids doesnt mean its bad for teens or adults.
Kid, 10 years old April 21, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Maturity Matters, question the child

YouTube- that familiar video sharing sensation we've all heard of. This site depends on the maturity of the child. Like others have said, the videos you watch are either clean and educational, or dirty and worthless. I go on YouTube ONLY (with minor exepcions) to get the lyrics for pop songs I really like or to watch my art teacher teach magic window lettering for my homework. You have to put your child into consideration because its a win-lose situation. Can you really trust this person? Do you know they won't try to watch dirty videos? What do they really need to be on YouTube for? Do they need to be monitored while using this site? These are questions you have to answer. YouTube has inappropriate content, and we have to except that. But it can also be highly entertaining and educational, rewarding. I have never watched a bad video on YouTube, maybe because I am mature and like to make sure content I see is not inappropriate. But I like to watch the duck song, a cute little video. And what comes up in the related column? The retarded duck song. It's sad how a clean video like that has such a violent interpretation. Some people think its a joke,others like me hate it. Overall, it's honestly about maturity of the kid theirself. Hope I helped!
Kid, 11 years old August 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

YOUTUBE IS WEIRD

IN ONE VIDEO A GUY DID A STUNT AND HE FORGOT TO WEAR HIS BUBBLE WRAP, HE ALMOST DIED!!!!!!!!!! REMEMBER TO WEAR BUBBLE WRAP KIDS, OR YOU WILL END UP LIKE THAT GUY!!!!
Parent Written bymrporkface11 February 2, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

R U A GURL?!

I think that this site deserves a lot more water. It's underfed. Seriously, give it a job too. Once upon a time, the end. But on a serious note, clam chowder is a good way not to get institutionalized for insanity and constipation. Y'know what feels good? Putting baby wipes in my socks. Mmmmm...get all that 'zucchini casserole' off of your face...gurl. YEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH CSI: Miami. DALE! Keep calm and Fus Ro Dah You thought this review was over?! NOPE So uh...Dovahkiin, Dovahkiin, naal ok zin los vahriin, Wah dein vokul mahfaeraak ahst vaal! Ahrk fin norok paal graan fod nust hon zindro zaan, Dovahkiin, fah hin kogaan mu draal! Huzrah nu, kul do od, wah aan bok lingrah vod, Ahrk fin tey, boziik fun, do fin gein! Wo lost fron wah ney dov, ahrk fin reyliik do jul, Voth aan suleyk wah ronit faal krein! Ahrk fin zul, rok drey kod, nau tol morokei frod, Rul lot Taazokaan motaad voth kein! Sahrot Thu’um, med aan tuz, vey zeim hokoron pah, Ol fin Dovahkiin komeyt ok rein! Dovahkiin, Dovahkiin, naal ok zin los vahriin, Wah dein vokul mahfaeraak ahst vaal! Ahrk fin norok paal graan fod nust hon zindro zaan, Dovahkiin, fah hin kogaan mu draal! Ahrk fin Kel lost prodah, do ved viing ko fin krah, Tol fod zeymah win kein meyz fundein! Alduin, feyn do jun, kruziik vokun staadnau, Voth aan bahlok wah diivon fin lein! Nuz aan sul, fent alok, fod fin vul dovah nok, Fen kos nahlot mahfaeraak ahrk ruz! Paaz Keizaal fen kos stin nol bein Alduin jot, Dovahkiin kos fin saviik do muz! Dovahkiin, Dovahkiin, naal ok zin los vahriin, Wah dein vokul mahfaeraak ahst vaal! Ahrk fin norok paal graan fodnust vok zin dro zaan, Dovahkiin, fah hin kogaan mu draal! Franklin Pierce
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old September 17, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

SAFETY MODE WAST OF TIME

Ok so the safety mode is a complete waste of time i mean one time when i used to have it on it didnt let me watch my most favorite funny video which was the game Left 4 Dead and no swear words at all no sexual content absolutely nothing bad (except for the zombie on fire) and then t let me see a video that had 30 f-bombs in like 5 seconds
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySouthparkfan August 22, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

No matter who you are, you'll love this site

I love using this site so much. Wanna listen to music/music video without have to buy it off iTunes? Youtube it. Wanna watch parts of certain tv show's/episodes? Youtube it. Wanna watch a random video? Youtube it. True, there are people who complain about language, but it's always like this on these kinds of sites.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byRenee5322 July 30, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Inappropriate things where you'd least expect them...

Obviously everyone knows what YouTube is by now. It's without a doubt one of the most popular sites for teens. But what about younger kids? If they're dead set on going on here, it would be best to watch them. Even if they are just going to watch an upload of a Dora episode they missed, some of the videos that come up on the front page are inappropriate. I can just imagine a curious kid clicking on one. The comments from other users can be seen on all videos. Some video uploaders don't allow comments, and there's also a button to hide them. But if you have an older kid who's planning to join YouTube and comment as well, be warned - there's A LOT of heartless users on there who use intense swearing and are just genreally rude. Lots of stupid "cat fights" occur in the comments also, with tons of cursing. Not only are the comments a problem, but so are the videos. Like I said, you can watch your kid or give them restrictions on what they can watch...but I have had a personal experiance that made me realize how unpredictable this site can be. Now, I did use to think that YouTube was a perfectly fine site as long as your kid didn't look up porn videos or something wacked like that. But one day, at my aunt's house I saw my twin 9 year old cousins were on YouTube. I came over to see what they were watching, and I was shocked. Apparently they had looked up videos about "Elmo kills Barney" or something like that. The video they were watching had Elmo trying to shoot Barney. I just thought, at the time, that this was just harmless. A little weird, but still harmless. Then I heard Elmo yell, "Shut the f*** up!" to Barney and then he started cursing up a storm. My cousins laughed and didn't seem bothered by it. I thought about just switching off the computer, but then they did anyway when my aunt called them for a snack. Then I realized that people can so easily stick a curse word or other inappropriate stuff into a video where you'd least expect it. I'll admit I kind of did see it coming in the Elmo video, but once my friend and I were watching an Animal Crossing video and the guy playing the game started cursing and having a fit. Oh, and guess what I heard one of my cousins say the other day? The F word. Hey, Elmo said it, right? *rolls eyes* I once even read a comment on some other forum (months ago; I have no idea what forum it was now) that once this one person discovered YouTube, their innocence was shattered and they learned about the "birds and the bees" shall we say. So, while Youtube had a lot of good videos, some educational even, it'd be your best bet to supervise a kid under 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages