All member reviews for YouTube

Common Sense Media says

Vast video site entertains, educates; iffy stuff abounds.

Users say

(out of 1217 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old March 26, 2010

Wrong! Wrong! WRONG!

OK the common sense people are wrong. I know for a fact that youtube should be for age 10+. And it can't be iffy for 13 to ages 15. It should be inappropriate for ages 6 and under, iffy for 7 to 9, then age appropriate for ages 10+ OK so I cleared it up. Now I hope they take my advice and do what I say. They are very wrong.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old March 4, 2011

It depends on what you watch

Youtube is a good website, but is it inaproppiate? It really depends on what you watch. If your a parent and think that your child is looking up inaproppiate stuff on Youtube, then watch them the next time they're on. Other than that, it's an awesome website!!!!!
Teen, 13 years old Written byrobinrunner March 20, 2011

viewers should stay cautious

Youtube can be an educational place or a place to get information through video. The only problem is anyone can upload one, with whatever innopropriate content they'd like. And once you see something through your eyes, it's hard to get out of your brain
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Adult Written byGregory Nelson February 22, 2016

Not even a good site anymore, not original anymore, and no longer safe for kids or teens either

YouTube was perhaps, the greatest site to ever hit the internet, back then, when it first started, it was just an average site where people can watch videos and not get so interested, but then one day, with the help of a kid becoming a sensation starting a phenomenon, YouTube changed to being an awesome and addictingly good site, there were so many great videos that you can't get off of, there was so much into it, there was comedy, education, music, science fiction, drama, you name more. And the 13+ rating was alright back then, because there were very few videos that were inappropriate back at the time, while the rest were clean and super fun, there was no way or chance of ever getting off and going to bed for the night, and yet the videos still managed to keep us in good shape, you laughed, cried, smiled, danced, chatted, and had the time of our life, crude humor back then was an insignificant minority. But then one day, certain stars started obscene videos in which they did dirty tricks and secrets, then later, coming out started, and that was when YouTube, the greatest site, hit the gutter. Stars come out as certain sexualities on videos, bi, straight, trans, gay and hereto, just as a way to let viewers know more about them, are they crazy? And ever since that started, all that's been going on was that they do sexual things and make sexual videos, it's like porn, it's like a drug, it's not safe anymore, it's overriding the Safety Mode. Shane Dawson, was one of the first stars to do that stuff, and that was way long ago, and that was such a minority, good videos from other stars stranded that star, but now, with the help of stars coming out, the minority that YouTube had is now becoming a majority. YouTube used to be such a great site with funny and awesome videos, now it's more about sexuality and that sort of stuff, it just sickens me that YouTube can't go back to being the good site it used to be. Many kids who try to look for clean videos on YouTube will have Lots of trouble finding them, because the offensive videos are taking over the good videos, YouTube has become a piece of poop nowadays. And why are people still so interested in it? They should feel ashamed about what it has become recently, People don't even care anymore about certain choices being illegal, and posting sexual videos IS illegal, and against YouTube's terms of use, which started ever since it was launched, Did YouTube forget about it? Anyway, If you're trying to get on YouTube to look for good or appropriate videos, then you'll fail right at the first second, because YouTube is now so dangerously inappropriate for pretty much almost all ages, and someday, they might even allow stars to smoke real cigarettes in front of their cameras, yet we should realize that they're only putting their lives in danger, and can't be saved unless by a special fan or someone speaking to the star and the audience with many things. And with the coming out age, some of them are even becoming deranged rapists, meeting strangers just to have sex with them forcibly and without permission/consent, yet that's one of the most serious crimes out there, Rape is illegal and horrible, yet sometimes deadly. For someone to have sex with another, one must do respectful things to the other, and then with that point, will have to marry the particular person, then with all of those respectful and honoring things together, and with permission from that person, and care, then that can happen, Rape is just the wrong thing to do, and stars can get arrested for those decisions. Yet not only that, things start to get worse, MUCH worse, Stars can't do original things anymore and now they're copying each other. Back then, YouTube stars used to do their own original things. Now they're just copying one another and can't make good videos anymore, that's against copyright, they're someday going to get sued and even arrested for violating copyright. And not to mention that even the greatest stars, including the star who made it great, the star of Fred, Lucas, has recently become one of those idiotic stars that YouTube is reigning on, he came out in 2013 as gay, and next year, sold his channel for money, and has taken the same path that many of the bad stars on YouTube are taking, yet he's nowadays copying Shane Dawson. What is WRONG WITH THIS WORLD! YouTube needs to learn not to accept rapists, semiporn stars, copycats or anything like those people, don't we realize that porn is dangerous and polluting our minds with the wrong concept of sex? and when parents let children get on porn, they get charged and arrested. Fans need to know what's right and what's wrong, It's just such a shame that YouTube has become that way. So YouTube has become, perhaps, the best example of things that have gone WAY downhill, and it's no longer safe for any audience. So if you guys want to look for good sites, then stay away from YouTube. YouTube used to be a good and our greatest site, but now it's just bull trash full of mean weirdos, So until YouTube ever has the chance of recovering, Stay away from YouTube at all costs, Thanks.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old March 8, 2014

NO NO NO NO NO NO NO.

ITS BAD OK! 1 it has scared me so bad so bad I have learned bad words and all of that its not good for kid not al all trust me something's are ok but some are not like bad words and all of that its not very good for children ok parents look watch your children while watching YouTube to be safe if something happens its ok otherwise still it can be sad or mean so on and so on but please I have gotten so weird its weird so parents watch your children while watching you tube its just not a child friendly site ok thank you and god bless.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old February 11, 2011

Do you Remember what the old youtube was like?

Remember when you? go to your youtube page and? there wasn't an? advertisement at? the top of the page? Remember when music videos were uploaded by? users and not VEVO Remember? when there? wasn't advertisements? that never go away? Remember you couldn't have a limit to favorites? Remember the famous yellow subscribe button? WE MISS THE OLD YOUTUBE! Post? this in every video and lets start? a youtube riot!
Teen, 16 years old Written byteamjacobgirl2.0 January 11, 2011

Stop overreacting parents!

YouTube is one of those websites that is 100% unavoidable. Everyone has been on YouTube and even thought some comments\videos are going too far with drugs and things like that parents can't stop their kids from going on. I think YouTube is easy to get around and its fun to sit and watch weird and random videos. Defentily a great site and parents shouldn't overreact.
Kid, 12 years old August 3, 2010

Be careful and you'll be fine

Youtube. It's on the same level of site as Google and Facebook. It has EVERYTHING. Educational how-tos. Trivia. Documentaries. Porn. Swearing. Drugs. It's a great site, by all means, but stick to what you know. When you do a search, stay on page one, where the videos you want are and you won't be tricked into an innapropriate video. Stick to searching topics you like and don't venture into topics "your friend told you about". When using Youtube, you just have to be smart and when you here a swear word or nudity or gore, turn that video off and find another one. Just be smart, and you'll be fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 3, 6, and 8 year old Written bymr.travis February 11, 2010

WAY too many wildcards on youtube

There is a smuttiness prevalent on youtube that ultimately has made it off-limits to my kids. Example: a friend forwarded a funny Christmas video showing costumed monks presenting the "Hallelujah Chorus," silently using signs. As soon as it was finished, up come the suggested videos, one of which is entitled "the 12 gays of Christmas." I didn't watch that one - maybe it was funny too - but I surely didn't care to explain to by children age 8, 6 and 3 what the title might mean. So even when I'm in territory on youtube that seems kid safe, it seems somewhere on the page there something about (actual examples again) "how to shoot up heroin" or something about oral sex techniques. I have posted several videos to youtube and been disappointed and often shocked at the abusive, sexual language left as comments, even though the videos were of my small children and were posted simply for their grandparents to see. (We're not posting any family videos to youtube any longer.) There seems to be a poisonous misanthropy among youtube users - or at least among commenters - that to me is starting to feel like the lingua franca of the web in general. Based on experience in the last year I'm starting to find the web an unsafe place for kids overall. Maybe these problems will be addressed by the new safety feature. It will be hard to convince me, though. With the exception of text content, it seems to me that safety features will rely on user-provided tags and flags. As I have said, I don't have a lot of faith in youtube users as advocates for children. As for quality, it's a phenomenal challenge to find content of genuine merit. Flippant fun is what we find primarily. All this was a lot more fun before we had children. Now comes responsibility... sigh.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 9 year old Written bylabtop909 February 6, 2010

I don't know

I can't say I love this website or that I hate it. The good thing is that it inspires children to be creative. Creativity is something all children need but CAN get better sources of it in other places. Alot of bad languge, sexual behavoir and other inoproproit things have popped up on youtube. One time, my four year old got on youtube all by herself. She clicked a random vidio becouse she saw Rudolph the red nosed deer becouse she likes him. It turned out to be a gory horor.She was scared out of her mind and ran to me. She showed me this clip.I banned her from the internet for a while. Although in this case youtube has been unsafe, my sister bought a sofywear that block inopproproit content. Youtube can either be terrible or great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bylindsey12345 April 5, 2009

youtube poop

some videos are youtube poop
Teen, 14 years old Written bysuperherofan2002 June 6, 2016

depends on what you watch

It completely depends on what you watch.I myself am enraged with common sense media saying it's 2 stars for learning.I learn more on youtube than in school.Check out a channel called vsauce.He gives very educational science videos that are surprisingly very,very interesting.i assure you your kids/teens will love it.now i'm way ahead in science and maths class by videos such as some infinities are bigger than other infinities, and he cracks a lot of questions people have on there mind.Another good channel/channels are top 10's they teach me so much about the world.theyre are even some about things you were told/believed that aren't true which tell stuff like (believe it or not) columbus did't discover America, a Viking called leaf Ericson did.(this is a fact )just watch your younger kid while on youtube, if not you can always check theyre history
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written bydeana1 December 12, 2015

Getting repetitive and generic now

Well the King of YouTube swears all the Time and shouts at the screen and yet it's full of under age children who will copy this behavior, but now its all about The Money and not the Hobby it was not meant for monetization Money copy rights, but everyone want's to be a YouTube star these days and earn Money but yet they forgot it's not about the Money its about the laughs and perfect video and not the views and subs it's changed so much over the years every youtuber wants to be the same and act like a 5 year old kid
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old September 7, 2014

YouTube is great

YouTube is pretty much the greatest website ever, I have a Youtube channel (kirbyswarpstar123), and my 8-year-old brother has a Youtube channel (Connor PizzaOnWheels). And if you have Safety Mode on it blocks inappropriate stuff from being seen by your kid. Totally awesome. I got my YouTube channel when I was 8, and if you let your 8-year old have a YouTube channel make sure they turn the comments off when they are uploading their video. Best video site ever.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byJSB1985 August 24, 2014

No protection for anyone

Youtube will allow anything online. It doesn't matter if the video has violence, language, hate speech, nudity, or anything else. The only stuff it removes is Copyrighted Videos & Music. It claims to have "Community Guidelines" but they are never enforced. Want to advocate the death of innocent people? Go ahead. Want to stalk someone on Youtube? Be free. Want to copy someone's account & slander their name? Have fun. Just don't put anything copyrighted on there. That's the only thing that they actually care about.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMovieviewer001 November 28, 2011

Bad for 15 iffy for 16-20

Well the videos you can watch any innapropiate videos you can post. There are porn videos, violent videos and videos that has swearing. Especially when have a comment that has profanity in it. The website does not care. Bad videos (some good) but bad. It does NOT be a iffy for 13
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 17 year old Written byunixworm April 3, 2010
Kid, 12 years old February 17, 2016

its ok

Its ok if you watch what your watching. Somtimes the videos on youtube it terrible... With sexual videos and bad language...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old November 10, 2015

Parents stay cautioned youtube features sexual content drugs and violence.

On YouTube kids don't know what to expect from porn, to foul mouths, to drug heads, to racism, to violent gory videos and topics that come up. It's not particularly a family friendly sight for everyone and educations not featured anywhere unless you look hard for it. Since anyone can upload a video with sex in it or smoking weed or cursing up a storm I wouldn't recommend it for young kids. Sketchy topics always come up and kids will type up the most innocent of things and the most inappropriate upsetting things just might come up and a lot of kids don't know what they're doing and some do and just like to look at sex or drugs or violent videos or racism against blacks. I would say off limits any one ten and under, only for very very mature double digits, okay for tweens, teens, and older teens such as 11,13,and 15. You Tubes main concerns are sex though and nudity and child pornography online so I would not recommend it for young children. I rate this site Ages 15+ Coarse explicit language strong sexual content, strong crude sexual humor, strong drug references and drug use explicit bloody gory graphic content graphic nudity and full frontal nudity including some torture and disturbing images and videos use of alcohol and alcoholic references teen partying and some coarse strong disturbing mature and adult humor
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 30, 2015

Not for children under 15 as far as i know

The most common things about videos are probably the profinity used. There are nudity, but most of them are censored. There can be violence in videos, but those are a little bit common.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages