All member reviews for Little Brother

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Exciting, provocative dystopian novel will make teens think.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 25 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byicantfindaname January 7, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Very good, but adult oriented

This is an extremely good, thought provoking book that should be read along with books such as 1984, Fahrenheit 451, and so forth. However, the large number of sex scenes might be some cause for alarm. Although nothing a responsible teen couldn't handle, this book edges on pornographic in some places. I really think if this were a movie, it would be rated R on this alone.

Adult Written bygbeb March 24, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Story. Lots to discuss. But, deal killers for our tween.

I loved this book. Doctorow creates a first person narrator whom I wanted to see succeed. But, he is seriously flawed. Doctorow clearly appreciates the complexity involved in standing up for what you believe. Sadly, he seems to imply that those who don't foersee the consequences of their actions are the only ones who will do so.

I wanted both my kids to read this. It's perfect for my 15 y.o. son. But, the few pages of a naked teen couple would have made my 11 y.o. uncomfortable (the writing and the pacing were perfect for him). While there was little and light drinking, I was surprised at the ease of access to it.

Some might be disturbed at the violence. I don't believe my kids would be.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bySasukeUchiha August 6, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Book! It's like a modern 1984.

I loved this book, personally. I am not really a fan of anything having to do with swearing, sexual things, or drugs/drinking. However, this book had an entirely different message that I took from it. I ignored the inappropriate things, and stuck to the plot. I am a geek myself, so I found the hacking parts intriguing. I don't hack, but I love computers and video games.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bymoviemadness April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Brilliant Teen Book!

This book is a fascinating look at the world of technology. The book is set in modern America, but the DHS has taken over. People's rights are being compromised for "the good of the republic." A group of teens use technology to regain their freedom. There is some bad language, several violent or scary scenes, and some sexual content. The complicated plot of the book and some of the more mature references make this a better bet for teens 15+.

Kid, 10 years old Written byariana9098 February 20, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Perfect for kids 10+ who understand the political community.

I loved it! Its my next favorite book next to Harry Potter.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written bykjinho November 20, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Languages such as "s--t", "crap", etc, some well-described violent scenes, and mentions of "gang kids". Very realistic.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bylecritic February 5, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Wonderfully Written, Very Timely

An amazing book about government taken too far.
To Bibliophile: Just because a book has some mature content in it, doesn't mean its bad. The Godfather is the greatest movie of all time, but that has sex, violence, and language.

Parent of a 14 year old Written byGiniaGin March 16, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I loved this book it was hard to put it down I would encourage all people 12+ to read it........and im 44 years old

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byw1n5t0n February 16, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Don't Trust Anyone Over 25, And Other Lessons Learned

this book was great. it touched on the importance of freedoms, the fun world of technology we live in, the power of protest, the injustice of government and the simple truth that: 'Governments are instituted among men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, that when any form of government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the right of the people to alter or abolish it, and to institute new government, laying its foundations on such principles, and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their safety and happiness.' that is from the book and the declaration of independence. convinced it is educational? Marcus, Angie, and all the" Xneters" in the book are all strong characters. Of course, as certain parties point out, it touches on underage drinking, drugs, teen sex, hacking, and crime. but it doesn't say "do all this stuff", it is simply a minor part in the book and readers will have already heard about those things from their parents(hopefully). this does not mean it is alright for all young children, but okay for some.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 7 year old Written byjandrewworld March 29, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A how to book for sticking it to the man.

This is a complex book. First of all, if parents are looking at this book, they need to be aware of the the two scenes where the main character has sex and fools around. It is written very naturally and realistically but it isn't full of details or going into consequences.

This book is about questioning authority. This shows it as a positive thing. The book was written as an outsider to the George W. Bush administration (The author is a Canadian ex-pat living in England.) He has created a hero who is a 16 year-old boy who is sent to a gitmo-esque prison and tortured. This leads him on a path of vengeance and in the end...well lets just say, it shows the consequence of being a rebel.

I would recommend that a parent read this book with or before your child does so you can talk about the difference of being right and still being incorrect.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bymontag July 3, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Don't need to repeat what's up there

Some of you guys think that you have to repeat what has just been said in the review about the violence, language, etc..., but you don't. Readers want to know what made you like/dislike the book, not tell them AGAIN what violence and stuff is in it.
As for Little Brother, it is the best book that I've ever read, and Cory Doctorow is the only gateway that my generation has to surviving the future.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old Written byEvent Horizon July 30, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Page-turner, though the political messages are touchy and the characters aren't really pitiable.

It's okay. I really didn't care much about the characters, and it seems that the author goes through a lot of trouble to make four dimensional characters that he doesn't mention much throughout the much. It was pretty tense and was a good page turner. My biggest complaint witht he book is that it represents the government as an evil being and a bunch of drunken teens as good. I'm a teenager, and I really don't agree with that. While I believe in free speech, the teens did obviously illegal stuff and were dissapointed that they got punished. Welcom to earth, people.

By the way, what was with the sex scene? Was it really necessary?

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bya teen book lover February 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great for middle aged teens

I loved this book.It was great.but i wouldnt reamind it for kinds under 13.

Parent of a 9, 13, and 16 year old Written byBooktress October 1, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bycsccosecant February 9, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing!

This book is amazing. It is similar to 1984, but is very believable and scary. There is some inappropriate stuff: I don't remember many swear words, but I usually don't. There is a lot of sexual content, including a sex scene, but any American teenager has seen much worse. There is some violence, including a graphic scene of torture and some people being trampled to death.

These things, though they are certainly inappropriate for a young child, are all very important to the story, and are nothing an intelligent teenager can't handle

Teen, 14 years old Written byreadingfreak April 28, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

I thought that this was a quite good book. Although I myself am not a hacker my brother does have lot of expertise in that field. He actually has his own hacked Xbox. He thought that it was well written in the knowledge of hacking.
The main thing I had a problem with was the sex. Personally I agree with Jourdy288. Being a Christian I believe that sex has no place outside of marriage. That is everyone's own decision. I don't think that they thought through their decision to have sex. It was to rushed, and because of that it took all the specialness out of the scene. As Jourdy288 said, the book seems to be pushing 'if it feels right do it'.
I really liked how Marcus stood up for what he believed. Hacking may be wrong in some instances but when it comes to correcting a corrupt government, do it. The main character was strong in that sense. he stood up for what he believed no matter what the circumstance. I recommend this book for 14+

What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old Written byrie97 January 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Well written book about hackers.

I finished this book about a month ago (finished it in a week) and it's probably one of my favorite books I've read--ever. But there is a lot of swearing (someone who was being nosy and looked at it said that it was "disgusting" because it contained swearing) in it, and some sexual references. Aside from that, it was good.

Parent of a 5, 9, 11, and 14 year old Written byJamesRobertson January 4, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byJourdy288 January 26, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not one I can recommend.

Having read the book, I'm afraid that I must say I disliked this one. Just to get this out of the way, I thought the sex scene was entirely inappropriate! It seemed like an awkward attempt at telling teens to "go ahead and do what they want so long as they use protection". It was poorly thrust in there.
That aside, I did appreciate that the author advocated open source technology and hacking (for a good cause). Many fail to realize the true implications of hacking things, like, for example, an Xbox/Wii/PS2/Whathaveyou. If you 'hack' a console, you have the ability to run your own programs/games on it that you create. There's entire communities online dedicated to what's known as 'homebrew', making games for consoles independently.
The book mentions a new form of Xbox (albeit a nonexistent one) used by the protagonist for homebrew, and later, as a tool for social reform.
There is a darker side to hacking, referred to as 'cracking', but that's a different kettle of fish, and usually involves things like stealing credit card numbers or embezzling cash, etc.
The book also seems to reflect the author's view of marijuana, which I (and most people in their right minds) disagree with.
All in all, an interesting book, but in all honesty there's better ways to introduce your kids to open source technology.
I wrote a review here:
thestuffiread.blogspot.com/2009/08/little-brother.html

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Parent of a 11, 15, and 18 year old Written byJulieKryger1970 January 5, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Pages