All parent member reviews for Fallout 3

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 97 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byESRBguy26 December 15, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A real ESRB worker's opinion

I am A ESRB worker. Off the job i think this game is go for 13+ as long as the teen knows it is just a game and is mature enough to handle the violence. This game actually teaches teens what not to do with the KARMA system. This game has gotten a lot of smack for being a really bad game but it really isnt unless the conditions are right. Over all this game isnt that violent on average. As ESRB workers it is our job to honestly review games and this is my honest review. A lot of us post our true feelings about games outside of work.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byyetijones September 25, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The Pinnacle of Joy

I remember seeing the trailers for this game. As a fan of the previous two Fallout games, I could only hope for the best. And I hoped correctly. Fallout 3 is hands down one of the best games of all time for the Xbox 360. The game follows the story of a world thrown into disarray some centuries after a nuclear holocaust that threatens humanity. The player starts out as a member of Vault 101 (just one of hundreds of vaults spread across the wastelands). The vaults are a ironic sanctuary for the people of the time: they offer the only protection and boast freedom of self, only to be a prison of the mind, soul, and body, and completely unsafe (gangs, bribery, violence, etc.). However, certain events take place, and the player is set off onto an adventure across the lands, the entire world open to their imaginations. Basically, this is how the game works: If you can see it, you can go to it. The entire game is one open world environment (only incremental load times between inside and outside places). You can literally walk all the way across the Wasteland, North to South, East to West, without hitting any loading screens. You will not be unopposed on your adventure, however. There are uncountable enemies prowling every inch of the wastes, from annoying RadRoaches, to Super Mutant Behemoths and Death Claws (with a name like that, just run). The player will also encounter various communities across the world, which is where the basis of the gameplay is. Sure, this may look like a FPS/RPG, and you're D#@! right it is. But it goes so much deeper than that. The core of the game is interacting with this new world, getting the feel of the people, becoming a human fit for this new earth; everything you do affects you, everything you live for is at stake. Nothing in this game goes without consequence, as the honor system is ranked by your "Karma" (the better it is, the more good characters will interact with you on a deeper level, and vice versa). The graphics are unbelievably realistic, with the entire landscape looking as though the artists carved each rock, pixel by pixel. Skin textures could use a little tweaking for those with lower resolution televisions, but seriously, if you don't have an HDTV by now, get with the times. The voice acting is phenomenal!...well except for maybe one character you'll meet in Girdershade (trust me, you'll know when you find her). The combat is pretty decent in real-time (the physics are a bit odd, as you can shoot someone point blank with virtually no response from the occasional "AH!"); but VATS is where it's at. VATS is a Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System, where the player can focus in on any individual area of an enemy, queue up multiple attacks, and let loose a maelstrom of violence. When coupled with the Bloody Mess perk, where attacks become increasingly violent (and therefore increasingly AWESOME), there are just those moments where your jaw drops from pure, maniacal, delight. But overall the violence is only moderate compared to other games (i.e. F.E.A.R., SMOD, UT3, etc.). Parents, if you love a good adventure (over 100 hours of game-play if you're into it), and you want your child to be delighted, then delve into Fallout 3 from Bethesda Studios.

What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written byjerkstore July 13, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Just a heads-up

If you're a particularly computer savvy parent and wouldn't mind your child enjoying this along with you but have an issue with the ULTRA violence, there is an active modding community out there that make mods to tone down the brutal dismemberments, head explosions and blood sprays.

Adult Written byCSM Screen name... August 23, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Fine for 13+.

This game is one of the best in this generation of games. This game will easily, easily last you more than 60 hours long. Me and my child switched off nonstop, eager to see what would await each of our characters next. Whether we were exploring a dead military base full of robotic enemies and super mutants, or while we were exploring the broken down White House to find the president's office, we had fun 100% of the way.

Fallout 3 is not for children. I'll give you that. But Fallout 3 is a very, very fun game, and you shouldn't be sheltering your child from this experience. The game is bloody, but you can turn off the blood and gore on specific systems. (PC, and 360, I believe) The game also has quite a bit of language, but if your child is above 13, they've heard all of it.

I'm pretty tired of hearing people scream and yell that their child's mind will be poisoned from M rated video games. While I do agree this game is not suitable for ages 10 or under, easily a 13 or 14 year old could play it with no problems. There's no sexual content from what I could find, (and I explored everywhere) and there are some virtual drugs in the game you can take to enhance your abilities, but you risk getting addicted. The messages can either be positive or negative, because the game works with a morality system. If you're nice to people all around, they'll be nice to you. But being bad has many perks, as does being nice.

Overall, this game is perfect, and one of the finest games this generation. It feels totally worth the 60 dollars I paid, (as you can play it for an upwards of 60 hours, and not get bored) and parents, you shouldn't let your child miss out on this title.

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written bycallofduty1000 April 1, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great game 10-11 year olds

This is a great game because your able to turn off SEXUAL STUFF. great for kids just turn that off. language isnt an issue because that can be disabled too. 10-11 year olds will love this game!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byDavid862 July 5, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Honest review

Ok, I think this game is pretty boring, but VERY violent. you can do drugs, dismember, curse, you name it. GTA is more appropriate than this game.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byDJ Wolfman August 20, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

The Best Game, For A Limited Crowd

Normally I wouldn't review a video game, and truthfully I only registered to talk about this one. For starters, the violence can be intense, even for my age. It's around that of Dead Rising, but not as bad as the movie the Patriot. I'd say this game is for high school sophmores-seniors, that know the difference between a game and real life. Face it, if your kids don't know that by now, don't even let them get a permit. The reason I like this game is for the plot (but the violence helps with stress relief), and it's message. The hyper violence is realistic, and shows what the world could be like if the Cold War ended as many people expected it to end. This game is Mad Max for the next generation, and it doesn't hide it at all. I believe the Karma system works well, as you are berated for your wrong doings on the games radio, or you are brought up as a hero if you don't. The game does have notably less law and order, unlike Oblivion where if you do something wrong you go to jail. If any real lesson could be learned from Fallout it's why we need a goverment, and that hope survives no matter how messed up the world becomes.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byOo XxX COD XxX oO April 8, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fallout Is a Must Have

Fallout 3 is a must have... Probably even better than New Vegas because it doesnt require as much time to keep your character alive... Parents should not be concerned about this game because most of the game requires exploring

Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byKevin Quire November 27, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The game can contain some mild violence here and there but the player is rewarded with making good decisions.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byleonardo87 August 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing game, but it can get extremely gory.

you can knock peoples heads off with axes and baseball bats. throw a severed head as a weapon. lots of stuff like that.

Adult Written byDKR725 February 2, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Faaaaaaaaaaaaaallout 3

Bethesda is back with another open world RPG. This one is unique in that it's setting is the post-apocalyptic world. It is great fun, even though not as good as oblivion. There is much blood (enough that there is a targeting system pretty much based on making bloodier kills) and sexual innuendoes. I think it's good for mid and older teens.

Adult Written byredfoxboots May 16, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great game for adults! Very strong language, strong sexual themes, violence, and drugs.

I have only gotten the chance to play this game for about 14 hours, but It is very difficult and entertaining! A wonderful work of Bethesda! Now, suitable for children? Definitely not! First of, language. It's everywhere! When talking to people in town. there are F bombs in every other sentence just about. One of the lines for the background characters (ones with no real dialogue or importance) is "F*** off!" There really isn't much avoiding filthy language, its just part of the game. It makes the game realistic, living in a wasteland and such, but its not child-appropriate. Also, there is a lot of sex. It bars and inns, you can rent a prostitute with your room. Kids would likely not listen to their parents and buy the prostitutes because they find it funny and they are curious. Please don't trust that your children will just listen to you and avoid these parts. If you do, and you buy the game for them, you will be responsible for exposing your child to this. There is a lot of drugs in this game. In a mission in the first town, you can help a drug addict away from his drugs. He gives you his stash, which you can use or sell. Each drug has a different perk, and the perks help greatly in combat. However, the addiction side effects can be terrible to deal with. The more you take the drugs, the more addicted you become. Just like real-life addiction. There is also a cannibalism perk you can get, which is too graphic to not warp a child. You can literally eat the bodies of the people you kill at the cost of karma. There is that and more violence. I will update when I play more of the game, but you can tell from the beginning its not for kids. Know your child at 15 or 16, but if there is any doubt, stick to the ESRB rating. This goes for any game, but especially Fallout.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJehriCurlJoe April 6, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Excellent Emotional and Violent Journey Through Post Apocolypta

I actually picked this game up because I was bored and it was only $20 at Best Buy. I thought it would be on okay game, but boy was I wrong, it was one of the best games I have ever played in my life. I like the choice of being able to switch from third to first person shooting, I will be in third person just walking around but switch to third person in close quarters or combat. Something that people might skip over is the positive message in this game, the whole premise of the game is trying to find your father in a post apocalyptic Washington D.C. When you find him you discover that he has been working on a project to eradicate radiation from the waters of D.C., while quoting the Biblical verse "He said to me: 'It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life'." The central plot revolves around this attempt to make life better for the people of the Capital Wasteland, and in the end dealing with the issues of ultimate sacrifice. Of course there is plenty of gore and violence, even a perk to make MORE gore. The sex is minimum really, you can't have it with anyone, you can't see it, and the only "nudity" is you see your character in their underwear if you choose to do so. Not to say there isn't mature sexual themes and language, at one point you run into a Russian with two sex slaves. Strong language of course. Drugs, but not any real life drugs, and you can see the negative sides of the drugs including addiction. There is a really good barter system in the game, you can sell just random pieces of junk at vendors or you can sell miniguns and rocket launchers. Vendors are an integral part of the game. I definitely reccomend this gaame to anyone who has the attention span to play it. It does start out slow, so bear with it, and I also recommend purchasing the Game of the Year Edition, the add-ons are fun and give a more well rounded story.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5, 12, and 12 year old Written byLady Kataana March 23, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

can be played in front of kids, but only if discretion is used.

I LOVE this game. I can play in front of my kids, but I only aim for the torso and avoid the scary places (dunwich building, etc) while the kids are awake. Avoid the bloody mess perk (obviously) if you don't want to give the kids nightmares.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byanewman109 March 3, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

An amazing RPG for adults/mature teens

**SPOILER ALERT***

From Bethesda Studios comes yet another extremely amazing RPG. Fallout 3 begins with the player's birth. We don't see anything inappropriate here. As the game continues, the player grows from child to adult in Vault 101--an underground safe-haven, hidden from the nuclear wastes outside. This portion (like every portion) of the game was done wonderfully. Not only did I become overly attached to my character's Dad (who put aside, we later learn, his entire life's work to make a life for his child, free from the dangers of the Wastes, and is voiced by Liam Neeson), but I became so immersed in the Fallout world there was no way I could quit playing right away.
Years pass. Your dad has left the vault. He didn't tell you about it. After escaping an angry Overseer with help from a friend, you see the Wastes for the first time. There is nothing green on the surface. House frame still stand, covered in rubble. Crumbling overpasses collapse. Animals--emaciated and vicious--prowl the grim landscape.
You set out on a mission to find your Dad. Your quest takes you to the nearby town, where you quickly gain other quests from other quirky, memorable NPCs.
My summary? Graphics: Amazing. Action: Engrossing, but very gory (which doesn't bother me, personally.) Language: Sometimes intense, (I turn down the voices, and skip over certain parts of subtitled dialog.) Characters: Extremely well done, memorable, and worth loving. Storyline: Awesome, with several add ons packs to purchase in the Game of the Year edition. Re-Playability: Definitely re-playable.

Don't miss out on this game.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 and 12 year old Written byBrandi44 February 14, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

One of the best RPG's out there, for kids 14 and over

This game definatley earns its GOTY position, as it is one of the best games. I have no problem letting my 14 year old play it. The language is graphic including f*ck, Sh*t, and so forth. The violence is quite grusome, but ESRB could do a better job with "sexual content" because there isnt anything sexual. Overerall the best game ever, but definatley a "teens" game.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byFacebones July 30, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect for older audiences. will captivate you.

The game is set in the future that was expected in the 50s nuclear powered cars, old dress styles, and old family values. but when war struck in 2077 only few made it to the Vaults. bomb shelters only to be used by those who were accepted in. You were living in one in 2277 when one day your father goes missing and you must leave the vault or be killed. The game world is filled with Raiders, mutants, and violent psychopaths. The game represents positive messages like being evil and killing a drifter can be fun but it will cost you karma and though you can achieve awards for that, regulators or "police of the wastes" will stalk and attempt to kill you. In the end the players action will be shown. The storyline has you save the wasteland by sacrificing your life to activate the water purify and save the wasteland from the Enclave who wants to kill every impure humans. Many people should not play fallout 3 but it is truly a great game and voted 12th best game of all time.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10, 12, 13, and 16 year old Written byPluap1 July 26, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Violence/Gore: This is not a game for young childeren. During the course of the game, You WILL encounter many violent sequences, and countless bodies being reduced to piles of flesh and blood. V.A.T.S. is a great gamplay tool, yet a spawning ground for gore. Sex: nothing. I had to search for any sexual content, and when I found it, it was merely a misguided girl talking about it. Language: There is strong language,and it's used frequently. But, then again, if your kids have set foot in a public school, this is nothing new.

If your child really wants this game, they must be very mature. Or you could check out it's less-mature-content counterpart, Oblivion.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 15 year old Written byHorseFurry June 20, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not Violent Enough

Let me begin by saying this - Fallout 3 is COMPLETELY different than its predecessors, Fallouts 1 and 2. In the first two fallouts, the world is alot grittier, alot more depressing, alot more violent, sexual and disturbing than its Bethesda-made rebirth. That's why I believe this game is terrible - except for its massive amounts of violence, it cannot live up to the awesome details of its forefathers.
Now, onto the game itself.
Sex, drugs, violence... What's there not to like? But besides all of these malefactors (all of which I hear about, see or use at school on a daily basis [I'm not a druggie, though]), there are some valuable Karma-based lessons to reap from this post-apocalyptic pie. It's really quite simple - you do bad things, bad things happen. Do good things, good things happen. So really, because of these valuable lessons and the use of factors common in teenage society, I believe anybody over the age of 15+ can enjoy it.
Just please. For the love of God, these players need to play the first two Fallouts. Sure, you may need to have a higher tolerance, but the classics are far more immersive and remain true to Interplay's original canon.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent Written byV1776 August 28, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not for kids or even teens

I am a thirty-something gamer. I ran an arcade when Killer Instinct and Mortal Kombat were in. I was clerk people came in to play. I play most of the games out there and I can tell you everything about Fallout 3 because I actually played it. A lot. When I see that the parent reviews say this is okay for kids 13+, I have got to wonder what isn't allowed.

Fallout 3 features total dismemberment, head, legs, arms and you can see eyeballs roll off objects if you explode someone's head.

There isn't "drug use", you can buy and sell drugs or even steal them off of people. You can take hit contracts (assassinations) on targets and the language used is not fare that would be acceptable in any less than R film.

The entire environment is depressing after awhile. The gameworld is Cormac McCarthy's The Road with language of Deadwood and the violence of Saving Private Ryan. There was nothing like it at the time.

Characters, such as one named Jericho, fight alongside you and say things like "F***in' die" "F*** you", etc... while he is blowing limbs off of people.

The game is excellent, for grown-ups. The rating on the violence should be max.

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages