All member reviews for Red Faction: Guerrilla

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Sci-fi shooter tackles tricky topic in terrorism.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 30 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byopenmindeddad October 13, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

absolutely

there is no gore no contraband and is basically like freeing nazi occupied france but on mars

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written byGhost Rider Sky January 20, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This game is not M! it is just violent there are no bad words except h--l is said once

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byKevin Quire November 27, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

for older teens

This game is not violent at all. Basically you just walk around crushing broken parts and shooting martians. The only problem is the language. My fourteen year old loves this game and I allow my twelve year old to play it occasionally.

Adult Written bysparky481 October 20, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

i hate this site sometimes

um first this review is horrible "OH online play poses a risk of personal information to be said in open chat" u know teens and pre-teens are not dumb its not like "hey uh new person i dont know who is most likely older than me here is my address" and oh my god terrorism hes fighting oppression like the patriots in the revolutionary war our ancestors were no different. also cigarettes most people smoke cigarettes like parents of children so overall its a great game but i hate this review HATE in capital letters

What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byjacobnolan777 June 27, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

VERY FLIPPING FUNDAMENTAL!!!!

It A Very Educational Game it Teaches Good Values Like Killing Aliens What If Aliens Actually Did Invade Mars HUH I BET YOUD FEEL STUPID HA

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byyay8899 January 22, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

perfect for those who like a mix of gta 4 and crysis(kinda)

i love this game. its a mix of the freedom of choice and exploring like in gta 4 and the destruction and physics of crysis. the only problem keeping it from a near teen rating is the language

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymr dr man4 December 19, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bycross_breed June 8, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

This game is pretty fun. It's a nice little distraction while waiting for better games, and it's only 20 dollars, so, you know, why not? The ridiculously over rated M rating is ridiculous. The game is not bloody though bloodstains do appear on bodies and on walls. It's really about blowing things up. Which is a blast (pun intended). There is an F word maybe once every three hours. If you buy this game, you will definitely enjoy it. Just don't expect a story, or compelling characters, or anything like that.

Teen, 14 years old Written byagameingjerk October 25, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bykathy221 December 4, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good for 10+

This game isn't too bloody or violent, and the language is not terrible. It's a great game for anyone over 10.

Teen, 13 years old Written by3choices December 12, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

"Not for kids" !!! What is this website on about !!!

Firstly id like 2 say HE'S NOT A TERRORIST!!!! He's a hero fighting a violent corrupt government. He is sticking up for himself and others which in my mind is a great role model. He also regrets killing people but does it for the greater good. If it didnt have the swearing in i think it could pass for a 12+ game. The only down side to this game is the online swearing but this can be avoded via changeing the consoles security settings. Overall there is little wrong with this game.

What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written bybattletoad4456 January 23, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

No Kids... are you kidding me

first I love this game. it is the most stress releasing game ever. But it is definitely for kids. The only bad thing is there is a little blood when you shoot a guy and theres a little swearing. But any where over kids ten hear why worse in school (or at least for me). But this is definitely for kids over ten

Teen, 13 years old Written bylsudude December 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byRubberducky7 June 17, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

This definitly shouldnt be M, there is a small amount of blood when you kill people but the game is all about demolition; placing charges on the weak points, destroying military buildings stragically, and since you are extremely outguned, avoiding fighting the soldiers. Wether or not it was justified is sligtly debatable, it says in the game that mining on Mars was vital to the Earths economy and without it Earth would be doomed, but the goverment was extremely opressive

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymorebetterful February 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great fun game!

This game is great! i can not figure out, for the life of me, why they rated it "no kids". Its less violent then halo, theres hardly any blood, and language is used infrequently. The best part about this game is that everything is destructible! I'm 13 but my 10 year old neighbor plays it fine.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written by10mike123 October 8, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

perfect for kids ages 2-4

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written bydudester122 July 7, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

he's a terrorist now? c'mon.

ok the language might not be for young kids, but some parents need to know that kids hear these words every day! if i dont hear the f-word at least once every hour something is wrong on earth. but you call him a terrorist!!! hes a guerrilla. hes a rebel. but if hes fighting an unjust government, hes a hero. lets take the movie red dawn. there guerrillas. but everyone loves them. they have to be willing to charge the ultimate price. death. but in return they protect their familes. he is a HERO, not a terrorist.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBEASTBOY13 March 19, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good game

the visual in this game are realistik yull agree with me if youve played it before, you can pretty much demolish ANYTHING with your slegde hammer, but the blood can get ecsessive if u keep shootin

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bychessmstr September 18, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

perfect for kids 11 and up in the themes

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJasonr May 29, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Just Okay...

This game is fun, and blowing stuff up is addicting. But than I got bored and there was nothing else for me to do other than run around a red planet. This game is a little violent, with blood splats, but the game is in third person so you don't get a good veiw of the blood. You can kill civillians, but you get punished. (You can lose ammo) The worst part of the game is that one of your main weapons is a sledgehammer, but it's mostly used for destroying buildings.

What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages