All member reviews for Amelie

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Thoughtful, charming for 16+.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 16 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bynumberdomino April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Foreign Film Bliss

I love this movie. It is a hidden foreign gem that would be fine for mature kids 14+

Adult Written bymoviemadness July 27, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Quirky and Gorgeous -A Must-See for Older Teens and Adults!

Amelie is a quirky, gorgeous, candy-hued film that makes the world just a little brighter! (Can you tell I'm a fan?) Filled with delightful characters, genuinely sweet messages about love and confidence, and fantastic Parisian scenery, this is not a film to miss! Although Amelie is filmed in a fairy-tale/candy shop way (the tone, cinematography, costuming, and etc. is charming and juvenile) there are themes that are anything but. There is a large helping of comedic sexual situations including characters employed at a sex-toy store and some very silly sex scenes. Also, in the style of French cinema, this film waxes on and on. The foreign language and the length mean that it won't entirely appeal to younger viewers, which is great because it really is not for them.

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Adult Written byrdsf April 9, 2008
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Sweet Non-Threatening Movie

Despite the site's review of this movie, it is quite suitable for a mature 12 year old. No violence or coupling of sex with violence. The main character (Amelie) is good hearted, and tries to help lonely people. There are some very funny scenes where she gets comic (and non-violent) revenge on a greengrocer who is mean to his retarded employee. The movie has excellent values. Despite the R rating given this film by the prudish MPAA, by way of contrast the move received a rating of all audiences by the Dutch film rating agency

Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written bykvirgin April 9, 2008
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

OK for mature teenagers, wonderful visuals and story

Mature teenagers interested in foreign films will be fine. Scenes/language relating to the porn shop are probably the most sexually explicit.

Adult Written bysilakkalaatikko March 22, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good

Unique in a good way

What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old Written byHenryRedJeanz January 7, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Beautiful feel good movie, some sex..

I saw this film when I was about 11 and I thought it was beautiful, it has fantastic messages about love and life, its a bit quirky and very fun, I love this movie!
There is some sex, which includes Amelie imagining people having orgasms (2 second long clips are shown of women and men screaming in pleasure), there is a standing up sex scene but its played for laughs and not very explicit, kids would be able to handle it, a character works in a porn shop, we see a womans boobs while shes dancing topless, and we see a pregnant naked lady's stomach getting bigger in fast motion, I think CSM were being a bit over-reactive when they said 16+, after all most 14 year olds would know about the subjects in this film, and there are no bad messages, it is all good and fun and a fantastic feelgood film, even if its a bit raunchy. Be warned, its in French so there are subtitles, but that doesnt take away from this magical, feelgood viewing expereince. Its a masterpiece! :D

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bydanielauo April 8, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

I liked the concept of the movie. I'm 15 and what I didn't like were se sex scenes (that are not too long) but they're not good for us.
It would've been perfect if it wasn't for the sex.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written bymovieman333 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great

mild stuff great for kids my kids 11 12 loved it

Teen, 17 years old Written byXantara July 11, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for 17 year olds, ok for some 15 and 16 iffy for some below that.

Well, this movie was very cute, and whimsical. Viewers who like fantasy or know what it's like to have Imaginary Friends will appreciate Amelie. She becomes actually quite a strong character as she weaves herself into other's lives by helping them by doing good deeds (Ex: Convincing her father to travel by kidnapping his prize garden gnome, and sending it into the world, sending him pictures of it's location) we also see her gain friends and change, becoming a more whole person in the world. My only thing was that the review did not really go into detail on how sex scenes were, so I didn't really know what to expect what the 'humorous situations' would be. But it really wasn't too graphic. The movie shows almost no nudity for almost the entire film until the toward the end. The nudity was a man trying to communicate with a woman while she was filming a porno video for the store she works for. It shows her breasts, because she is stripping in front of the camera. However, this scene is only about 1 minute long, and so should not be too graphic for younger viewers. Amelie reveals in one scene that she has had an abortion, and smoked pot, but it was in one sentence, and I couldn't tell if she was being sarcastic or not. One more thing was that 2 people have sex in the bathroom at the diner where Amelie works. The women begins shrieking, and the wall starts banging, which could be confusing to younger views (she sounds like she's in pain, or being harassed) Also, the movie does take a LONG time to get the story told (2 hours) and so the plot drags on a bit, but nevertheless this is a very cute movie. The family should enjoy watching Amelie discover herself as the movie progresses, and as she discovers life and true love. Very good filming, story line, and acting. A quirky modern fairytale, of sorts. Enjoy!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bylabourforblair April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byotto2007 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Beautiful story--and funny!!

I agree with every word from the reviewer rsdf--the R rating is prudish, and mature 12 year old could see it. It's just a wonderful movie. If you see only one foreign movie in a year's time, this is definitely the one.

Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Amelie

An excellent movie, those with a taste for the offbeat will probably enjoy it.

Teen, 15 years old Written byevolinag January 17, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

French masterpiece has positive messages, but also sexual content.

"Amelie", also known "Le fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain", is a French epic drama/love story.
The movie features terrific performances by Audrey Tautou as Amelie Poulain. The movie has a great script and the great directing skills by Jean-Pierre Jeunet.
From beginning to the end the movie features wonderful scenes, some of which willingly break the fourth wall. The movie has some great messages, too.
The movie is very unusual and goes beyond what most viewers are familiar with. If you like mainstream movies, don't watch this.
The whole movie features wonderful music by Yann Tiersen.
"Amelie" is truly a piece of art, everything is harmonic and works perfectly.
It is one of my favourite movies of all time.
There are sexual scenes, nothing too strong.
No genitalia, some breasts.
We see a footage of orgasms (no strong details).
Two people have sex off-screen, and we see everything in the next room vibrating and we hear moaning.
Those scenes are comical rather than erotic.
It's not a big deal and the movie does not focus on sex.
It's the only reason for the R-rating (the rest is PG).
The movie is very light-hearted and it really cheers you up. Nothing dark, no sarcasm and no strong violence.
Amelie is a very sympathic person and a good role model. She frequently helps people and shows how little acts of kindness can have great positive effects.
Teens and up!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Parent of a 18 year old Written byValdoria August 10, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Sexist

Not sure why the producers had to sexualize and degrade women by constantly showing breasts throughout the movie. I did not see any exploited men in this movie. Has a great plot and story line with a good purpose. Why they had to exploit women, I am guessing to boost profits in case the story was a fail.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byPolemical May 7, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Is Sex Really A Problem?

This was a wonderful movie, with an amazing character, character development, and setting. The soundtrack was also very well done. Yes, there were sex scenes, but they didn't take away from the overall story. In my opinion, the sex adds to the depth and quirkiness of the story. I doubt you could be scarred for life from this story. If you love films, you will be able to see past the sex and nudity and find a very enchanting story.
Overall, this is a story about self discovery and imagination. As Amelie discovers herself, you discover her as well.
This movie is amazing and very artfully done. I recommend it to people who love films in general.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Adult Written byFashid vc December 19, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Except Sex, Everything Else Is Perfect

Some Scenes Are Not Meant To Be Showed To The Kids
If Needed Some Portions Can Be Cut And Exhibited
Overall The Movie Is One Of The Best In The World

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking