All member reviews for American Pie

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Ultra-raunchy sex comedy is a teen fave -- beware.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 53 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byasecoolish February 2, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

not for kids

this is excruciatingly funny but its over the top extremely raunchy parents i don't think you want to let your kids watch it until there old enough but i think mature teens and adults would enjoy this but for goodness sake do not bring this out on family movie night.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bylittlemuddyboots April 20, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

time waster

Pure disgusting trash

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byBabyBri84 June 20, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Ridiculous but funny

1st of all you don't go make a pack with your friends then go off and see who can loose there viginity 1st. (Guys, i just dont get it lol). I think that would influence young kids to go off and loose thier viginity with someone random, when they dont even know a thing. But i was laughing the whole time

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byFridaythe13th June 26, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A Great Teen Movie!

I love this film it is simply the teen movie ever created so far! It is very funny and it is not very bad, expect for two to three scenes but nothing a teenager has ever seen! It is a movie for teens!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bymbubbledbg September 11, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great for anyone in highschool

First of all this is a great movie. second of all, this movie is good for anyone in highschool. There are plenty of cliche movies about seperation by jock and prep and nerds and losers but highschool isn't like that. Sure there are people who no one really talks too and people no one likes but in highschool, most people are just concerned about, their reputation, sex, and liquor. In fact in my highschool, atleast 65% of the students smoke marijuana and get high on a weekly and even daily basis. Atleast 15% of the freshman aren't virgins. Most teen girls won't care or will even be offended by the female nudity and trust me when I say, if your son is in highschool, he's seen porn. So if you honestly think there's something (other than an older women having intercourse with an 18 year old) in this movie your teens/high school students haven't already seen, then you're either protecting your kids too much, or your an.. um... politely, idiot.

Adult Written by4Spice October 24, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

very good but not for kids

good movie mild nudity and some kussing a mature 14 year old can watch it

Kid, 10 years old Written bynikky718 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bytequisquiapam December 11, 2008
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for kids

This movie is not for kids.

Kid, 9 years old Written bybenbrm October 9, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good movie

this is an awesome movie. 1 or 2 scenes of nudity, a LOT of bad language, not that bad but still R rated

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byevolinag August 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny teenage comedy is sexual, but handable for teens.

Some people will hate me now by giving the movie this low rating but i watched this movie at the age of 10 and i managed to handle it. There is strong sexual content that some others might not can handle but with a parential guidance this movie can be watched by anyone 12 and up. There are frequent strong references, a scene of oral sex and a scenes of masturbation. All for comic effect and not meant to be pornographic.
The movie itself is a cult classic of comedy. Though i usually dislike teenage comedies this one is funny and something i can always laugh about, no matter how often i watch it.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byGreg Foltynowicz March 29, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Adults only!

Contains strong sexual comments and it contains very bad language lots of F bombs!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byasmartperson December 8, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Horrid, horrid, this isn't sutible for young kids and even older kids for that matter. It is just about teens having sex and doing stupid things, I can't believe that they made so many American Pie movies, (yes there is more than one)

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old Written byJasonsWebsite January 17, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

suck is a bad word

suckers

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byGabGab100000 November 1, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

One night I had a friend over and after dinner he said "Gab, have you ever heard of ammerican pie? "I answered no, why?"He took out the cover from his bag and handed it to me. From what I recall I saw a group of teens, both boy and girl, smiling and a guy in the middle with his shirt of and a pie with a hole in it covering his penis.My first impression was; this looks awsome, Its probably a funny film about some teens going through high school and their sexual experiences. It's probably really funny and only a little bit rude. Man was I wrong about only being a little bit rude! I don't think I realized what a pie with a hole in it ,next to a guys penis would mean! Lol. I put the disc in and my mum came in and said "what are you watching?" I gave her the cover, she looked at it for a while and said "do u think it's approppriate, it's MA" I looked at  my mate and he said "only a little bit, they talk about sex for a bit yeah it's not that rude. My mum seemed very curious and insisted on watching the first 30 mins of it. Well, I started the movie and the first thing we heard was a guy groaning and the camera soon focused on this guy masterbating and then his parents come in on him and are just as shocked as my mum and were. I was a bit unsure on what to think and what my mum was thinking, so I burst out laughing,  both out of nervousness of what my mum was going to do and because it was pretty funny. The only thing my mum said was "are you sure this is approppraite?" I didn't answer and we kept watching. Soon after this scene all the characters were at a party,  at this point we were only 15 minutes in the film and my mum was starting to shake, lol. Two of the characters went into a room and started kissing. The guy reaches out onto the table and grabs a glass of what looks like beer. He drinks it and runs down screaming and chucks up. It wasn't beer but seamen. I thought this was pretty funny but i just couldn't laugh, partially because this was just way to awkward with my mum here and it was pretty gross. By this time we were 20 mins into the film and I was sure my mum was having an apoplectic fit and was going to turn it off in rage but no she let run. Soon after this scene another pair of character walked into a room and started making out. All this time I didn't think that it would show them having sex but just give vague impression. Instead what happens is the girl say something along the lines of "just relax and let me take car of you," and she makes her way  down and out of the camera and The guy starts moaning. By this point my mum was incredibly angry and was shaking voilently and I could of sworn that their was froth beginning to druell out of her mouth. She couldn't take it any more and only 30 mins into the film she screamed at us, took the disc out, put it in it's case and drove it back to my friends house and left it on the mat. After she came home she was just as suprised as we were, both about the movie and what she had done. lol .Overall, from what I have seen ( a dude mastubating a dude who accidently drinks seamen, a dude who gets a b.j and numerous, tones of swearing) that this film is approppriate and is intended for older teens to have a bit of a joke about high school and college but definitely not for kids or tweens. Also it is incredibly disrespectful of woman and shows them as just sex objects      
     

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old Written bywwechampion April 2, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

American Pie

Rated R For Strong Sexuality,Crude Sexual Dialogue,Language And Drinking-All Involving Teens

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byAshnak April 9, 2008
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Adult Film

This was an entertaining film that no teen ager should ever see. It should be viewed by adults only. It would have been better if they just made it NC-17.

Adult Written bybutterflyangel7 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i hated this movie

this movie was terrible -- it made teens look really bad and irresponsible. no wonder everyone hates us if they think we are like this!

Parent of an infant, 6, and 6 year old Written byjakeandjonathansmom April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byterpsfan810 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old Written byHinataHyuuga April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Really bad sexual i movie!!

this movie is bad, my mother says that she will let me see it in the future but right now this will give me a very bad idea!
This movie and others play a part as real life. Too much sex in this. I HAVE NOT YET SEEN IT, BUT REMAIN GROSSED OUT! THIS MOVIE ENCOURAGES ADULTS TO THINK BAD OF THEIR TEENS. WARNING: DO NOT ACT LIKE THE TEENAGERS IN THIS MOVIE! NO SEXING LIKE THAT! YUCK! HOW DID THEY GET THE CHARACTERS TO FAKE SEX?? NO SEXUAL Sexual harassment TOWARD SOMEONE AND THEY DON'T LIKE IT! WARN TEENS NOT TO BECOME LIKE THAT!!

Pages