All member reviews for Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Fantastic, but kids are older, themes are darker.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 148 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 8 year old Written bysbg2010 October 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Scary for younger kids

As a reader of the Harry Potter books and as a parent, I really enjoyed the movie. However my 8 year old son was really scared by this movie. He is a little sensitive to scary material. I think he could have handled the same material in the book but in the movie it's much more real and graphic. He cited the "possessed" voice of one of the characters and the werewolf transformation. Even though I used the "violent" icon, I really mean it's scary more so than violent. I also think the first two movies were not as scary.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 24, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

bad for just 5 and some under

See this Harry Potter movie. this is the best HP movie yet.My favorite HP movies. 7DEATHLY HALLOWS PART1. WORST 1 EVER.6THE 2nd one bad.5 sorcerers stone good.4 order of the phoenix.3goblet of fire good a lot of girls would like this because the guy from twilight in it.2.THE 1 IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS IS Harry potter and the prisoner of the wizard jail.BEST ONE I HAVE SEEN EVER.THAT IS NO.1 111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111THE BEST ONE

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old Written byananga April 28, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old Written bySunset reader April 24, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

best potter movie

My fav potter movie.when hermoine punched malfoy i went LOL

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written byjeneferinia September 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I love the Harry Potter books! They are my favorite. But I give it an iffy for 10+ because number one; there is some love. Not really very innapropriate, and I don't mind, but some people might. Two; there is a lot of action and scary stuff. Again, I don't mind a bit, but others might. If you don't care about some love and like action/scaryness/some sadness, then this is the book for you.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 7 year old Written byDad42 January 27, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Nightmares for the young audience

Although rated PD here, this is really not suitable for kids under 9/10, much too scary - it frightened my daughter aged 7 and we had to switch off, I had to spend a good deal of time calming her fears. She had loved the first two movies in the series which were not a challenge to her.

Kid, 12 years old Written byerraggarn98 July 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie

But has turned to a more scary film

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old Written byAthenaGirl October 3, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The best movie for the almost-tweens!

This movie is better than SillyBandz! I love it! I started watching it when I was about six and had to many nightmares, so I waited a few years and love it now! I must see for 8-9+!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byannesbanannes May 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written byjll795 February 15, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Totally Awesome movie for 9+

Why I chose these ratings above?
Positive messages:
1. Professor Lupin teaches Harry to fight these "dementors" by focusing on happy thoughts
Good Role Models:(List)
1.Professor Remus John Lupin
Why? Helps Harry conqueor his fears. Forgives Sirius Black for thinking that he (Remus) betrayed Lily and James Potter accepts Sirius' apolgy for thinking that he (Sirius) was the betrayer.
2. Rubeus Hagrid
Why? Comments positivly to Harry, Ron and Hermione
3. Albus Dumbledore
Why? Helps Hermione and Harry save Sirius Black from a horrible fate not deserved.
4. Hermione Granger
Why? Keeps Professor Lupin's secret "disease", lycanthropy a secret.
5. Sirius Black
Why? He forgives Remus Lupin for thinking that he (Sirius) was the betrayer and asks Remus Lupin to forgive him for thinking that he (Remus) was the betrayer.
6. Harry Potter
Why? He saves his past self from the "Dementor's Kiss".
Concerns: Violence:
1.At the end of the movie, Professor Remus Lupin transforms into a werewolf and (unknowingly) trys to bite/injure Harry, and Hermione sevral times.
Language: 1 use of b**** and some uses of d***.
It was an excellent movie!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written bygumwithatwist March 5, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!

To make a long story short, we all loved the movie and book. It sends a good message and is very exciting. But don't show it to any children under the age of 7.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byXemnasSuperior March 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written byMissPerfect January 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Romance?! Since when! Scariest Harry Potter movie though.

When I say violent,I mean scary.Seriously,I think it is the scariest out of all the movies so far.And romance? Since when! What are you talking about? That's in the 5th movie,not the 3rd!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old Written by67mare September 17, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not the best movie

It's not the best movie for kids.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 year old Written byrang October 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Parent of a 6 and 11 year old Written byfastraxsg July 1, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

STILL THE BEST!

Too violent for younger then nine..

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bycoolbrees09 March 23, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

not the best one, but still very good

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byIgnotus_Peverell May 9, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Masterful!

IT'S ON EMPIRES TOP FILMS OF ALL TIME LIST!

^ Needless to say, this movie is absolutely breath-taking! Alfonso Curaun took J.K Rowling's amazing work and turned it into an amazing, family classic for ALMOST all ages

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bybananalover March 6, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

BEST HARRY POTTER MOVIE

this was the 2nd best harry potter in the whole series

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 April 6, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Very good third movie.

My rating: PG [borderline with PG-13] for fantasy action, creature violence, frightening images and some language.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages