All member reviews for Marie Antoinette

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Teen queen rocks out in punk-scored biopic.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 20 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoveeluvvr666 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byGuard Girl June 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

must see

wonderful it tells the tail of a Habsburg girl living large and illinformed in thelife of the french court. this is grate for informing(though not knowing) your childer and even your self on the awesome world of Maria Antonia Josephina Johanna
(pluss they have bow wow wow and who cant turn THAT down?)

Teen, 13 years old Written bygracie105 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

awsome

luv this movie total chick flick some sexual issues but over all very good

Teen, 14 years old Written bybookworm123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

History with a refreshing twist

"Marie Antoinette" was a great movie! Sure, there were a couple of "iffy" scenes and a lot of champagne, but people should go deeper. Everything was great, except that the camera focused "too much on each scene" (especially carriage rides and less important scenes) and the ending felt cut off. But, I loved the way that "modern" music was tied in with scenes, like where at a ball the guests seemed to be waltzing to the music of our times. I couldn't believe it when some senior citizens were criticizing the movie and, translated into teen language, called it "a bore fest". I DON'T CARE WHAT THEY THINK; IT WAS AN OUTSTANDING MOVIE. BUT, BEWARE: IT DOESN'T HAVE MUCH OF A PLOT BECAUSE HISTORY DOESN'T HAVE A PLANNED OUT PLOT LINE, NO MATTER WHAT PEOPLE SAY. IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE MOVIE FOR HISTORY'S SAKE, AT LEAST TAKE INTO ACCOUNT THE INTRICATE CLOTHING AND THE SCENERY. THIS MOVIE IS HISTORY WITH A REFRESHING TWIST FROM THE MUSTY, OLD TEXTBOOKS WE HAVE TO READ OUT OF. WHO SAYS LEARNING CAN'T BE FUN! IT'S WORTH IT TO SEE THIS MOVIE!

Adult Written byconfettie April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great performance by K. Dunst!!!

It was OK. I didn't like the ending, but it kept me gessing at what was going to happen throughout the movie. In general I thought it was a good movie and well filmed.

Teen, 14 years old Written byWildChild30793 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

loved it

I loved it

Teen, 14 years old Written byNonsensical April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

great movie cute shoes

great movie she had such cute shoes great for teen girls some sex and lots of references main portion of story some cheating etc. but overall super good

Teen, 17 years old Written byGorgousxxx April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

The Ending Disapointed

I loved this movie. I cant wait til i get it on DVD. But in a scene this movie was ruined by its horrible ending. I felt it came to a hult. I would have loved to see the truth of what hapened next. Marie Antoinette was beheaded, although that may have been graphic, i do fell the movie should have gotten to that part, i know many people were expecting this. But if the ending proved the way i planned, i would have no doubt given this 5 stars. And Kirsten Dunst was amazing.

Teen, 13 years old Written byNirvana Girl March 21, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Loved it, but...

I really loved this movie. It was Perfect for me because I'm a history buff and all. Just they had put a little too much sex in it though. I understand that it was an important part of the film but, you know, maybe instead of it being shown, it could have been implied.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pretty Good

I was surprised to have liked this movie! It gets a bit slow in spots, but overall is very good, and one of the most beautiful-looking films I have watched.

Teen, 15 years old Written bymaygen1441 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A big Disapointment

THis movie was one of the worst I have ever seen. I was very disapointed in Kirsten Dunst especially. it was a awful inpercination of Marie Antoinette. A big waste of your time!!!

Adult Written byFreegirl405 July 25, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Ick.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byChocolatchipcookie August 27, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Love this

This is one of my favorites its a fantastic movie.
the sexual stuff is brief and not that bad.
she is naked but you dont see anything so not to much to worry about.
the only thing missing from the movie was the part when they chopped off her head but its still good without it.

Adult Written bydakritree April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bywho3697cares January 28, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Much better than many critics claim it to be.

Teen, 13 years old Written byhippochick7 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I'm a big fan of her's (marie antoinette) and I loved this movie! There is only like 1 nude scene, well 3 if you count scenes were she's naked but you can't see any thing. There is kinda a sexual thing where they talk about her and her husband having children and the her and her lover are shown... and when her brother talks to her husband about how sex is like putting a sword in it's case thing, but he used the right word but i can't remember it. over all there isn't much sex and it's not as big a deal as people make it out to be, as parts or the movie would not make sense without it. Amazing movie!!!!

Adult Written bytrolololoderp May 18, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Older kids will have a better appreciation, but no objectionable content for mature teens

I saw it for the first time and didn't understand it. Hated it. Then I watched it again and felt a greater connection to Marie's character. Being more mature the second time around, I realized that Sofia Coppola wasn't trying to make a perfect period movie about a perfect queen. She exposes the pressures put on Marie and conveys the blur of emotions she experienced during her short-lived, adolescent reign with a reasonable degree of historical accuracy. Much better film for older kids (17, 18?) who will understand how being a teenager and having virtually nobody to turn to as a positive role model can lead you down the wrong path. As an adolescent, I could identify with poor Marie during the movie, but I can definitely see how anyone younger with less 'life experience' would find this disconcerting, or frankly, boring.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 8, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

wont appeal to kids

Marie Antoinette focuses on some mature topics for instance it is mainly about marie the teen queen who is having trouble taking on the stress of being a queen at just 19 and frankly it's just boring

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written by915072 May 13, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 1 and 9 year old Written bySteffauri516 March 12, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Creative take on history, stunning costumes

As a historical fashion junkie, I probably enjoyed the movie for the dresses alone! I have two kids, 8 and 1, so obviously, they wouldn't hold interest in a movie like this, nor would I let them see it. There is nothing too graphic or edgy in the movie, but I'd say that for some of it's content, like the half-shown, half-implied sex scenes, brief references to drugs and lots of drinking, I'd say kids 14 and older.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking