All member reviews for This Is Spinal Tap

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Hilarious, ribald, drug-filled rock send-up.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byMusicman23 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Great spoof of the Rock-n-Roll Life. I highly reccommend it!

Awesome movie! Most of the songs have sexual innuendo, but it is all stuff that you would only get if you are old enough to know about it. If you have a mature 13 year old its fine, but anyone younger probably shouldn't see this movie.

Kid, 12 years old Written bygirlskates September 29, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Hilarious Film about life in a band

Make sure to know your child. some may not enjoy this film, but some, like me, will think its great.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bySynchronicity May 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Takes the essen?ce of heavy metal and turns it up to eleven

Tufnel, St. Hubbins, and Smalls are some of the best people heavy metal has seen. Unfortunately...they're not real. This is one of the best mock-rockumentaries ever made. Of course, it's probably the only one. Spinal Tap - scratch that, Spin?al Tap - is England's loudest band, and you get to learn all about them in this amazing, amazing movie. When it was described that one of the drummers died from choking on someone else's vomit (as opposed to his own), I laughed until I cried. There are certainly many other parts in this film that are laugh-out-loud hilarity, including a famous scene involving a replica of Stonehenge used as a stage prop. Not to mention, it's fairly mild for an R-rated film. The songs have lots of innuendo, such as "Big Bottom", "Hell Hole" and "Sex Farm" (which [SPOILER ALERT] is a big hit in Japan). One of the band members is stopped by airport security for having a foil-wrapped pickle down his tight pants. Yeah, that's totally not suggestive. However, in a world where the sexual hijinks of, say, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen can get a PG-13, this is quite tame. The only major reason Spin?al Tap is rated R is because of the bad language. There are about 30 f-bombs throughout the film, and about half of them are used in an argument in a recording studio. Overall, if you want to be cheered up, This Is Spin?al Tap will do the job. Anyone over 12 could see this movie.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byChambear May 6, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

This movie showing the funny side of heavy metal is first class! You get to know Nigel Tufnel, David St. Hubbins, and Derek Smalls, and every drummer that has lived and died for Spinal Tap also including all of Nigel Tufnel's favorite guitars. The only bad thing about this movie is the 23 f words, but they are short and infrequent usually execpt for a scene where they try to record in a studio and it has alot of f words so you can skip it. But all in all a hilarious movie from first to last for all 12 and up!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bywookiepie93 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I love these types of movies!

The big problem in this movie is the language. There is a lot of cursing. However, if you are into music I recommend you see this. It is funny.

Kid, 12 years old Written byStatic16 July 26, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Another Mistake

WRONG AGAIN! It should be 17 NOT 14.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3, 6, and 8 year old Written byLiveYourLife March 27, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It will give you a good laugh.

One of the best movies i ever saw,but i wouldn't double dog dare let my kids see it.Too much sex,and swearing.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 December 25, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

funny mockumentary follows fake band, has profanity

a hilarious, explicit, but truly funny fake documentary about a fake band has a lot of humor, but is too profane for little rock fans. there is no violence at all, except for a man breaking things with a cricket bat. but there is lots of F words and sexual innuendo in their songs. the members also smoke a bit.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 11, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Lots Of Smoking, Language, and Sexual Innuendo

Amazing movie, and very hilarious. Sadly, there is they say the "f-word" at least 10 times which gives it the "R" rating. Also a lot of sexual innuendo in the lyrics of "Spinal Tap's" songs. Also, most of the characters smoke cigarettes. But, some kids can handle this and I think it deserves a "PG-13" rating.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking