All member reviews for Up in the Air

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Adult dramedy taps into emotions of current tough times.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 28 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written by4Spice June 15, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

good movie

this movie was ok not if looking for a action movie don't watch this one some good funny parts 16 and over for sex and language

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byBrando804 January 3, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

An excelent film with values, humor, and a decent story for hard times

I just saw this film, and i have to say, I was impressed. I'm not normally into the "indies" so-called, but this film was different. Up In the Air is different. It has a good story about hard times, humor, and lots of heart. The film did not deserve its R-Rating. Anyone over the age of 10 who goes to school hears this kind of language every day. And lets face it, when your pre-pubescent 12-year-old says their going to their friend's house for a sleepover, their going to rent movies like 'The Hangover', and 'Saw'. So trust me, by age 10 kids have been exposed to the worst of it. (and also, part of this was filmed in St. Louis, where I live. So that was somewhat exciting to see.)

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old Written byplaybill313 May 22, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Don't get the idea it's a comedy

Good movie with complex plot and great characters. You can discuss it for hours. The problem is that the main character's job is firing people and the people's reactions are very sad. Many curse and yell but quite a few cry (including a grown man) and show pictures of their families and how they can't afford anything anymore. One even calmly states she's going to jump off a bridge and carries through with it later in the film. There are up points and down points but the ending isn't completely happy. The relationships are dishonest and there is tons of sexual innuendo. ***hole, f--k, and s--t are the main bad words said but there are also littler ones said. We see a female's butt and see 2 people in bed (and a handful of people in the background making out) but don't see them doing it... we come afterward. American Airlines, Hertz, and Hilton are popular names in the movie

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byglaice October 14, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

The end is a little makes me sad.
It's a good movie.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 17 year old Written byJesusrulz666 July 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Perfect Film

Yes well this Perfect Film deserves a standing ovation by every single unemployed person. The screenplay is 99.99% perfect, except when Farmiga says," Just think of yourself, with a vagina." That was unneeded. The story was excellent, and this film was on par with The Hurt Locker. 4.999/5 Stars.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byScoobysnacks_8371 February 4, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

You know for those of you that believe it doesn't deserve an R rating let's go ahead and let some naked woman walk through your living room with your kids and husband sitting there, then what would you do??!! I consider any movie that has nudity porno! I bet it would be total different if it was a man naked walking around in the movie! It's pretty bad when movies now days can't keep nakedness out of it! I mean really why do we have to see people have sex to enjoy a comedy movie? it's so stupid me and my husband are so tired of this!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bymardoggie2013 June 18, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Wonderful movie.

Extremely relevant. Well done.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byMr581 May 16, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

George clooney, Vera farmiga, and Anna Kendrick
Shine

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymasonlackey January 15, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

relateable to may people

awesome movie got to see it

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 15 year old Written byjibran_pcc January 8, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Ryan Bingham (George Clooney) has a dream: To be the seventh person ever to accumulate 10 million frequent-flier miles. And he’s not far off. He spends 270 days a year in the air; airports and planes and hotels are home to him. When he’s not on t ... kate

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 6, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Watch for the R rating.

great,but not a kids movie

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 and 9 year old Written bydavid.wallace February 8, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A Movie Made For Adults, iffy for teens

Up In the Air is a complex movie not made for young kids or many teens. The story is not relevant to kids' lives. My child was thoroughly bored throughout the movie. In hindsight it was a mistake letting her watch it. There were a lot of ups and downs throughout the movie and the ending was not particularly uplifting. My daughter had a lot of questions throughout the movie and has still been asking about it 2 weeks later. Up In the Air is not a family movie.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMature-teen September 10, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Be mature enough to appreciate it...

Not that inappropriate but only watch it if you're a teen mature enough to appreciate it.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old Written byuhya August 28, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

pretty good

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bymongofa June 5, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Teens and Adults

It was very good! It had great acting and a good plot!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviegoer13 March 26, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not worth the hype, but a very great film nonetheless

Up in the air, to me, is a great film. It sends an informative message, ties it around with the economy, and shows how our perspectives on life, affect our personality. I believe that the film doesn't follow the hype, but it is still a great film nonetheless. The performances and story are strong, which are the films' best suits.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bym1 February 13, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Deserves Best Picture, but Won't Get It :(

This is probably the best film I've seen all year. It is a bit stretched out, but the acting and script are fantastic and fun. The iffy 16+ rating given is for the complex story and themes and for the ending. Personally, I didn't find it to be too profane and sexual for it to be off limit to some middle schoolers. The only scene which might require a fast-forward would be when the two lovers are laying next to each other post-sex. However, it is a marvelous film and I think people will be talking about it for quite some time.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written byjustinw123 April 12, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

ok

Ok movie. Some funny parts.

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byjhartsock81 June 27, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Clooney what were you thinking???

No real point to this movie. Main focus is a guy who fires people for a living, when their own company and managers dont have the guts to do mass firings.
Its also about his lack of a life other then his job, and his only relationship is hooking up with a women he met in an Airport Bar.
Spoiler: find out later she is using him to cheat on her husband, and wont give up her real life for the main charactor. Boo hoo so sad.
This movie wasn't worth the time or energy i struggled through it.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPlague March 18, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Up in the Air

Very moving and funny movie with a possitive message to it. A great film for teens and adults.

What other families should know
Great messages

Pages