All member reviews for Between the Lions

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Educational TV with heart -- and a slight flaw.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 20 reviews)
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old Written byPikachuLover121 December 22, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

This show used to be my fave, until I saw a scary episode. It was about a creepy book called "The Scary Old Man", :(.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old Written bydmnc April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byouarda April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 14, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

i love this show.i watched all the time as a kid. its all about getting kids to read.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 5 year old Written bysthomas April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent Written bymriordan60 October 9, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

A MUST SEE FOR CHILDREN LEARNING TO READ

As a parent and a first grade teacher, I can't recommend this show enough for children. It is not only educational and entertaining, it has been proven by research to help kids learn to read. The beauty of it is, they don't realize how education it is. To them it is just fun. My only problem is that it is often on during the school day when Kindergarten and first grade students are in school. Parents can dvr it but the kids who most need to see it also have the parents who aren't likely to dvr the show. That is why I have purchased the DVD season sets from PBS and show them to the children in my classroom as a treat! CHECK IT OUT on your local PBS station!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byThe JP Show May 25, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Educational

Educational, but they said stupid in one episode

Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 5, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Boring!

I love books, but this show is too pushy and educational to be enjoyable.

Teen, 15 years old Written byDominicboo1 May 27, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Puppet Show For Kids Learning To Read

This show encourages kids to read with great classic like Three Little Pigs, new favorites like Click Clack Moo, and stories you never heard of such as Missippi Skip and His Pirate Ship. The characters not only learn to read, but also the cubs learn that helping people never goes unrewarded and that anger makes us do things we'll regret. Brother and sister argue, but you can tell they really love each other.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written byshtime July 2, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

GREAT!

I LOVE it!!! But, I haven't seen it in a long time.
I've seen it Saturdays at 7:30 a.m. but I can't find it on TV anymore.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bykabook April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I like this show! It's cute & clever (love the Gwain's Word segment). However, my son did not really get interested in the show until he was just starting to read; so the CSM comment about the words flashing too quickly might be correct. But now he loves it; he loves reading the words & figuring out what new words can be made by switching the letters around. I'd rather they watch almost anything on
PBS(Kids) than some of the other mindless junk that's out there!

Kid, 11 years old Written byFangbite91 June 1, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A little scary but still sends positive messages

Well it can be a little scary for younger kids but still sends them positive messages.

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bycarri4eva219 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old August 30, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

That was one of my memories!

This is possibly one of the best PBS Kids shows I had ever watched.

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old January 28, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

I was little, I KINDA love it.

When I was watch this when I was little, I KINDA love it, I KINDA love it when they teach me "Vowels & Reading"! I forgot about this show. from: ajroxs111

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byghecko13 October 9, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good show for kids learning how to read

Good show/movie for kids just learning how to read. I thought the puppets were more geared towards toddlers but the reading portions kept my daughter interested who is turning 5 soon.

Kid, 10 years old September 20, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

...

Uhh, this is weird to admit, but this show scared me as a kid. I have no idea why, but I'd run and hide when this show came on. I don't think it'll scare your kid, though.

Teen, 16 years old Written byDrCool June 2, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I love Between The Lions!

This is one of the best shows on PBS Kids! It teaches A LOT about reading,the theme song is really catchy,and the lip syncs are perfectly matched!

Kid, 9 years old May 24, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

awesome show

i used to love this show its really educational and cute!!!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 29, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

I still kind of like it!

but there is this guy that kind of creeps me out. he dances around in these smarty pant things. some of the puppets they have cold give your kids fri ggin nightmares. but it is a great learning show for all ages.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models