All member reviews for Dawson's Creek

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Mature, talky teens ponder life's complexities.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byDylan.wilson June 28, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Dawsons Creek

I think the show has very good messages and shows the life of close knit friends as they take the journey of adolecense to adulthood and I agree there are very sexual themes in the show but it shows issues that many teens deal with like finding there sexual identity when one of the characters becomes openly gay and drinking which it shows the bad effects it can have, but there is also alot of death in the show which can make some episodes upsetting. But it truley is a show that defined a generation and this is all coming from a 14 year old.

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 10 year old Written byshertoo May 7, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written bymryellowplaid May 20, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Perfection.

My favourite show ever. Have it all on DVD, even before the box-set came out.
You laugh, you cry, you feel their pain. Best show ever.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byfr0stedshad0w April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bytaylorswift2122 July 17, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

f

this show is ok for mature teens , not to much kissng

What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 11 year old Written byCapeside Fan January 25, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Dawson's Creek is one of a kind

This is an amazing show for kids and adults who never fit in, for those of us whose like and concerns varied and perhaps set us apart from the stereotypes we wonder if we wouldn't have been more comfortable and well-accepted to emulate. The show can laugh at itself, often lampooning the idea of an angst driven, post-modern Bleak House, or Our Town set to top-40 pop. This is an important fact to remember when you consider the choices of the characters, which really represent the choices of the writers, and of creator Kevin Williamson, who really tried to fuse recognizable late-90s Americana with a pre-911/pre-speculative bubble hopefulness and progressive hope. I loved this show, for years. It's sad to say, but for the inner James Taylors in all of us, who find ourselves facing "lonely times, when we (sic) could not find a friend," the Capeside crew provides a slightly sad but satisfying fake friendship presence for those days when we pretend to stay home sick, just to look out of the window and wonder about life. I must recommend one not watch too many episodes in a row, as it can be like watching a magicians trick over and over, the worst could happen and the underlying formula could get revealed.
It is a superior teen show, but I prefer to think of it as a unique look at a family of people we all wish we knew, or perhaps wish we were...so, therefore, literature at its cultural best.

- A fan

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bygilmored6 May 28, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great coming of age show!!!

To be completely honest i started watching this show when i was quite young like ten and i didn't really get all of the sex references however i really wouldn't say 14 and older. i would say 12 and older because it is not that bad and the show itself is really good

Teen, 14 years old Written byIvoryNeptune December 21, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Pretty Good

It is a good show. I'd recommend a parent stay around for kids under 16. Be warned sex is often a topic of conversation amongst the teens.

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking