All member reviews for Home Improvement

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Laughs and lessons abound in whole-family sitcom.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 33 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old Written bysports4u February 18, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

perfect for tweens above 9

i was confused when i saw kissing in a season 4 episode of home improvement .thats why i dont want anyone under 9 watching this show ranked 7 out of my 25 favorite shows

What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old Written byGummiBearGirl February 28, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny Tween Show

Great Show, but there is a lot more stuff about sex and drugs in later episodes.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old Written byNovalita December 24, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byThreeDaysGracesGirl October 31, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very good show.

Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist December 21, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

hillarious; but cheesey acting

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byDuckyCow1 August 31, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The Perfect Family Show

I love this show really much. There is the occasional swear word, the h' word thrown around once or twice, but it maintains a family title. There are plenty of role models and good messages in the show.

What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byht3696 January 15, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

~(:*

good show!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJordynd94 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It is a great show for older kids and up. Kids can easly watch it with there parents.

Kid, 11 years old Written bysuitegirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old Written byScorpiNi January 18, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for tweens

Hilarious TV show from the 90's. I own the entire series. Several mentionings of sex and a vasectomy. Still very good, though. It's not as bad as you think.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byCastellanos July 17, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Full of slapstick, but still witty enough for older viewers

Home Improvement is a very funny T.V. show that will entertain both younger and older audience members. There is plenty of slapstick humor with Tim constantly causing accidents, but there are still plenty of witty remarks that will keep older audience members engaged. Parents should know that there is a lot of slapstick humor, but unless it directly relates to the plot, no one is seriously hurt. There are some occasional sensual remark made by the adults, but they will easily pass over kids heads. In closing, Home Improvement is a great show for all of the family.

What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bymoviemadness December 28, 2008
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome Show

Home Improvement is filled with slapstick humor, tender family moments, and LOTS of laughs. Appropriateness varies from show to show. Some have sexual themes, others discuss issues that just aren't okay for younger kids.

Kid, 7 years old April 16, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

home inprovement

awsome because i love it its on nick@nite tbs nick@nite[passific]

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byJon Lovitz May 20, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Eh.

I never cared for it, but it's pretty tame.

Teen, 14 years old Written byReyesfan7 March 29, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Great Show!

Apropriate for any age. No swearing! If there is any swearing, there's like 7 out of all 8 seasons. Great and very funny. Watch it if your over 3! Only 3! Your not going to understand it, but you'll still laugh when Tim gets hurt. My 3 year old brother does. It's on every night on Nickelodeon. 9:00-9:30 & 9:30-10:00. Or 10:00-10:30 & 10:30-11:00. But not both!

Teen, 15 years old Written bysiry August 25, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Home Improvement is a funny T.V. show that will entertain both younger and older audience members!
Makes me and my family laugh! Home Improvement is a great show for all of the family! Arrr! Arrr! Arrr! (Tim Taylor Grunt)

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old Written byCrazy_Kat September 12, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great family show

Home Improvement is a great show for the family, but some parents might not approve all episodes. There is the occasional mild profanity or reference to sex inside of marriage. In one episode it is discovered that the oldest son has been smoking pot, but it is shown as wrong.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written bythescreenname April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

SEXUAL CONTENT: pause.
VIOLENCE: not an issue
LANGUAGE: pause.
SOCIAL BEHAVIOR: not an issue
COMMERCIALISM: not an issue
DRUGS/ACHOLHOL: pause.

Kid, 11 years old Written byshmulik98 July 15, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great for tweens and up!

Great lessons! There are some s*x things, but i think under 9 won't "get" it.

In on episode, Brad gets caught doing drugs, but he learns a lesson.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages