All member reviews for Robin Hood

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Remake of the legend almost hits the bullseye.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 16 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byCorinneColbert April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A modern Robin Hood

This version of Robin Hood has echoes of today's political climate. War veteran Robin returns home from the Middle East to find that civil liberties have been suspended in the name of peace.

I Tivo episodes to watch with my 7- and 9-year-old sons -- not only because it's on past their bedtime, but also so I can skip through commercials for racy shows and natural male enhancement products. This also lets me talk with them about what they're seeing. The situations can be a bit much for elementary-age kids to watch on their own.

The Sheriff is the most intriguing character -- all jolly cruelty. Gisborne sometimes seems conflicted; he wants to be a good man for Marian, but he also wants power and thus goes along with the Sheriff. Marian feels constricted by social expectations. And the relationship between Much and Robin offers opportunities to talk about the nature of friendship and leadership.

All in all, this is a good series for kids who like adventure and derring-do. I'd just recommend watching it with them and zapping the commercials.

Teen, 16 years old Written byJL April 30, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

One of the Best!

Robin Hood is currently one of the best shows.
It is clean-no *iffy* content between men and women, no foul language, and not overly violent.
A fun storyline, and interesting characters.

It is horribly corny, but so much fun.
Mind, I have only seen the second season, I can't vouch for the first one :) But what i've seen is wonderful.
I'm impressed with how clean it is-and it's a British show!
That is the only problem, I won't watch the show live, have to record it because the British TV commercials are horribly offensive.
But Robin Hood is one of the best shows on TV.

Adult Written bylrhouse April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Fun

This is a terrific show. It doesn't take it self too seriously. The fight scenes are cartoonish(I mean that in a good way) The characters are likeable except for the two bad guys who are wonderfully bad. Right beats might everytime.

The actors are all good and play the roles with energy and charm.

Teen, 17 years old Written byMerlinFan17 December 28, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good show, but NOT for younger children, or possibly even tweens...

I've not seen all of this, so this might not be as accurate as some other reviews, however I shall try my best.
First of all, I don't think it preachy at all, and the action is so much that I laughed when I read this.
But on with the review.
The show is definitely NOT a kid's show. It is entertaining, it could even be kind of... lifting(?) to watch at times, because of the families that Robin helps. Robin could even be considered a decent role model. However, the violence is rather disturbing. Despite Robin Hood's refusal to harm people, the Sheriff's blatant disregard for life is, as I said a minute ago, highly disturbing. The always in danger feeling that this show produces kind of get's a little old at times, leaving you wanting SOMETHING to go right.
This show has some pretty funny moments, and the cunning that the characters have adds a ton to the show. I could do without the more... Romantic aspects of the show. I don't think it's that bad... A lot of flirting, a ton of kissing from Robin Hood... But I suppose nothing that I can't just fast forward through xD.
All in all it's a pretty good show, something better to watch than a lot of other junk on TV today.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bycoolmandudeyeah June 7, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

goooood

really good, but not perfect show. if a movie it would be: Rated PG-13 for epic battle sequences, brief sensuality, and some disturbing images.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byJaneEyre<3 August 9, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

favorite robin h. ever!!!!!!!!

Oh my gosh!!!
I LOVE IT!!!!!! there are a few cheesy parts, but the acting definitely makes up for that. but i really hated the ending to season 2. there is some violence(but *completely* bloodless.and nothing beyond kissing. in the 3rd season there's a tiny bit of swearing(h*ll, and d**m) nothing that bad.and i ABSOLUTELY hated the ending of season 3 as well. but i love jonas and lucy together as robin and marian.they are PERFECT!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bySeanyboykeating July 16, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

GREAT for mature kids.

Great for kids who are mature enough that Robin Hood doesnt kill, but does when innocents are in danger. U have to be mature enough to get the dialect.

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 year old Written byjunket October 17, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great for kids with a healthy repsect for others

One of the hardest lessons to live out is speaking up for and defending those who are being bullied. As a parent of a bullied child, one of the best lessons our daughter has learned is to defend those who cannot defend themselves. She saw Robin Hood as a role model. She put this lesson into action and has defended the younger kids on the bus from the bully who tormented her. She found her power and became the Robin Hood of her bus. Also, finding solutions to problems outside the box is always a good thing. The violence doesn't worry us, Robin does try to avoid it just as she does with a black belt in Tae Kwon Do. She understands what it feels like to get a whollup and has a healthy respect for what damage can be done by either party. My only dislike of the show is pleasure with which the Sherriff inflicts pain on others. I address my concerns occassionally, pressing the point that this is something her father and I consider evil. We talk with her about why this is such an inhuman thing.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byGareth April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old Written byjenjen6000 April 22, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I LOVED it!! But I HATE the end of season 2, episode 13.

What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bycoolguyiscoolbro June 8, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

very good. if a movie: Rated PG-13 for intense combat, frightening moments, and some mild sensuality

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old Written byHamtdog February 4, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great TV show, violent, but with swords and arrows, not guns

I am 12, and a homeschooler, and with our homeschool co-op, which took place at my house, after all our classes we would go upstairs and watch this. It IS violent, but, hey! It's robin hood, not blues clues. A lot of the violence is implied, and by the way I have seen each episode of all three seasons at least twice. In our co-op, the youngest was 6 or 7, and the oldest was 14. We all loved it, except for one kid who thought it was silly.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bymollyoctupus September 3, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Fun - Family friendly - Viewing

i first watched Robin Hood when I was 8 years old and my brother was merely 4- my parents have never let us watch anything too inappropriate, Robin Hood contains just enough of the bad 'stuff' to make it action packed- yet is suitable to watch as a family on a Saturday night...-Everyone can enjoy it!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byLordoftheRings1997 July 23, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

AMAZING SHOW! Great for preteens and teens! "We are Robin Hood"

Robin Hood is the only Modern TV show I like besides Doctor Who. This show is amazing! Despite the fact that it can be a bit historically innacurate, it is still awesome! Robin Hood is an excellent role model for discussion (not saying everything he does is great). I definitely recommend talking to your kids after they watch this show and discussing whether or not Robin's actions are justified and right. Another great thing about this show is how clean it is. No bloody violence, though it can be very intense. No sex, AT ALL! Amazing for a TV show! The worst you get is some kissing and some revealing necklines on dresses. And the language never gets past the "D" word or misuse of hell. I think it is a great show for pretty much the whole family, but take caution with young children. And even girls can get into the strong female characters like Marian, D'jaq, and Kate! I give this show 5 out of 5! This is especially great for those preteen/young teen boys who cannot find anything to watch!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written byGuy of Gisborne March 16, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I LOVE IT

It is a great tv show acauly my favrit. It is ok for young kids but they wont like it

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byiantojonescoffeeclub January 4, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

its fine

There are fights but all in all it was ment for girls boys 7 years to 20. For very young veiwers there is a well good amount of death but its fine.

What other families should know
Too much violence