All member reviews for Rome

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

History at its most raw, vulgar -- and exciting.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byExalya October 18, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

I LOVED Rome, and wanted to watch it when I was 16. My mother did not allow me to, however, 16-year-olds can be more... advanced-thinking than one might believe. I was writing about this kind of violence/sexuality when I was 13, and I was NEVER allowed to watch stuff like this.

As an adult I have thoroughly enjoyed Rome. It's an amazing series, great acting. Lots of blood and tawdry humor... but if you like that kind of stuff, then you'll loooove this.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byskenney13 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great show

But kids shouldn't be watching, and the history is inaccurate

Teen, 16 years old Written bydark rose April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

buy the edited version

the edited version takes out bad sex scenes and language. if you've read all the episode guides like me than it's really easy to understand. 2nd season is better. atia rocks. this show is genius

Teen, 14 years old Written byaleppoman April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Best show ever.

This is the best show ever hands down.

Teen, 15 years old Written byjesuslovesthischick April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

..

it's ok, but i heard it's historically inaccurate.

Adult Written byfiona April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I would have enjoyed this more - and think it would have been a better piece - had the sex not been so explicit. The sex could still have been there, but dealt with in a less overt manner. The impression I get from watching this is that the writers knew they could get a lot of sex in here and went the whole way with that. (I'm sure a lot of people will like it for that reason!) If you've ever seen "I Caudius", well "Rome" is not nearly as clever or as entertaining.

Adult Written byjjjj@aim.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

this is a very good show but isen't for kids

Adult Written bytrojan51 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byalexander1997 January 18, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

blood guts and Romans

OK its ultra gory but teens 15years and older its great!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byKormek April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Must See Show

This series is the best I have ever seen on TV based in Ancient Rome, nothing has ever come this close to how it was then. Awesome battles. Passionate drama. This is a must see if those who are fans of this kind of drama.

Teen, 14 years old Written byslasher23 September 5, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

extreme violent.explicitly sexual content and nudity.strong drug use.very strong language

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old Written bygymnast April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A great show

I happen to be mature for my age and love it it is refreshing change of pace from sex and the city
not for most my age

Teen, 14 years old Written byVolchitsa December 27, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hands down AMAZING!

For once, this site is accurate- this show is NOT for kids (-15). Why have I watched it? It is an AMAZING historical drama with truly entrancing characters (one of my favorite TV shows). All actors are simply believable and provoke emotion; from pure disgust for the bad characters, to grief when a loved character dies, etc. Very pornographic and violent (violence doesn't bother me though). The director could drastically cut back on sex scenes, full frontal nudity (in my opinion) is fine, it is only the showing of the human body. Sex and rape are toned down after a few episodes (luckily). Special effects are believable and well done. There is some drug use, much alcohol use, gore, bad language etc. If you have a mature kid then I think they can handle this show. (I know that most 14 year olds see worse on the internet and TV than this). Not as historically accurate as I had hoped, but it is still very good. Very refreshing from the drama and trash-TV you see. You can probably get an edited version without the sex and language.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byMovieBufff January 18, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Awesome

Epic but definitely for mature it is very graphical in its violence and sex some of the language is quite vulgar also. But it is a brilliant TV Series

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking