All member reviews for Supernatural

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Terrifying guilty pleasure is iffy for sensitive teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 151 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byOGORMAN January 17, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Paranormal thriller is not for the squeamish.

I love this show for its creepiness factor! I have a few seasons on my IPod that I watch all of the time... Even at night when I'm alone in my basement and it's pitch black. I know that's not good for my sanity as far as thinking something's gonna get me while I'm sleeping but that's just how I watch shows like this and Ghost Hunters. It makes it more fun... Swearing is quite common between the Winchester brothers but that should be the least of your worries when watching; images of ghosts and other supernatural beings still give me nightmares at times, especially the episodes about the ladies in white (don't know what I'm talking about? Google it.) Just make sure your not too sensitive or squeamish before watching this. Comments? Questions? Concerns? Email me: ogormanscommonsense at yahoo. :)

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byxoxodessitoo June 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My favorite show

I love it! I love it! Dean and Sam are the best!
I don't think it's scary. If you like handsome guys (like Dean and Sam), want something a little bit scary and amazing story - this is your show!

Teen, 15 years old Written byDamon Lover July 1, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

rofl-iffy for 16-17?????

rofl! Iffy for 16-17??? OMD. sex-oh my gosh the ony sexual thing about this show is the words that come out of deans mouth. It implies that because of his "bad boy" nature that he might have shared a one night stand with a girl. But thats not the point of the show! look past it people! Violence-okay, who wants to watch a show that doesn't look real? No one is forcing you to watch it, it's meant for only the viewers that can handle, so dont give it a bad review becuase you're 8 year old can't see it because its not meant for them!! As far as deeinking goes, dean does get drunk sometimes, but he's of age, and it just adds to the humor in the show, its not promoting you to go out and drink! LOVE THIS SHOW IF YOU CAN HANDLE IT YOU SHOULD WATCH IT!!!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byIgnis Graecus January 21, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Absolutely love this show, and have been watching it for seven years now.

Only thing you need to watch out for is Deans mouth, otherwise, its just a corny Saturday night curl up. The violence isn't a problem, though people with weak stomachs and minds might be affected.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bybethroxy January 13, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Love this show.
"Guilty pleasure"? No, it's just a good show.
My parents used to let me watch this when I was 11. It scared me pretty badly back then, but now it doesn't scare me at all, and it's my favourite show. Don't let kids under 13 watch this TV show. It can get pretty brutal, and it is a question of age aswell as maturity as to whether you should let your child watch this show.

What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 12, 13, 13, 13, 13, and 13 year old Written bymisskristin August 20, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I think its ok for teens

I love this show and my kids also loved watching it until we were told it was not appropriate for them. The violence is not realistic and deals with monsters and ghosts primarily, so with proper parental supervision and discussion teens can understand it is make believe.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 12, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

love the show

love this show.me,my mom,my dad and my two 15 year old friends watch it all the time. but it can be scary for younger viewers and as the series goes on it can get a bit gorey to the point where i have 2 look away from the screen.but i think that sam and dean are good role models because they both have their issues and their own problems but they get through it in the end usually with the help of each other and sometimes their friends.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byAriadne January 1, 2011
Teen, 15 years old Written byxXxMovieChic1313xXx July 14, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

AWESOME show!!! Love it :)

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old Written byxBVBxARMYx December 22, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Guilty pleasure

This is one of my MANY guilty pleasures. This is the most recent though. Yes I know that I am a little late. I was watching Vampire Diaries and there was a commercial for this show and I thought why not? I tried it and I thought it was one of those begginers horror shows. As it turned out, it was pretty good. I love it! I am most likely to young to be watching it but, as I said, guilty pleasures.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old Written byDeanWinchester4Eva December 13, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Some episodes OK for pre-teens. (12-13)

@misskristin... I'm sorry to hear that... it's also your choice if you want your kids to watch it. Anyways it is just a review.

Anyways, I suggest that it would be ok for kids 13 and above, or 12. The show is not realistic at all and we kids know it's not real. Although there are some sudden violence as one second a person is alive, and the next the person got killed in a violent way. Ex: Getting hit by car, getting squished by piano, (Dean..) getting shot, (not that bad...) etc. Anyways, it's ok... at least some episodes.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old Written byScorpiNi January 12, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not for young kids.

If you can handle it, you can watch it. Very gory in some scenes, violent scariness. I watch a few episodes sometimes but my parents watch it first.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 and 15 year old Written byAerynS December 31, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for teens and a great disscusion starter

Supernatural is a show that can often be found on our TV at home. My 15 year old daughter loves this show and watches it when ever she can. My 12 year old also enjoys this show. I do not allow him to watch episodes however until either my husband or myself have watched it. Most of the time we will allow him to watch the entire episode but there have been a couple of times that we have decided to skip a scene or two. Though many parents have issues with Supernatural I personally find it to be a very good discussion starter with my kids, especially with my 12 year old. It allows us to discuss what is not appropriate and why. I believe that what is appropriate for a child to watch is completely up to the parents but I personally believe that this is a great show for teenagers who love the supernatural.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byigotcrzyfriends February 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

great show, not for scardey-cats though

GREAT SHOW! good show with good storylines and 2 hot main charcters...not too sexual and curse words, while used often, arent really noticeable

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byjhae September 4, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good for the mature teen.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byRoseywater August 7, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Adult Only

Do not let your children watch this! Promotes sex,violence, using and blatantly shows extremely graphic content. Women are merely objects.....need I say more?

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byawesome_life_my_way October 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ghosts Demons and Witches

I find the show very good, And almost comical at times.
Most 10 year olds today know the differnce between fact and fiction if your a good parent you will tell your kids. Even a 8 year old knows the differnce between ghosts vampires, etc. eic. As for the violence and other what better way to learn the right from the worng.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byINMH March 24, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Five Stars :D

I absolutely love this show, but I am sometimes shocked at the stuff they manage to get away with at primetime on the CW. I do think that the show spins a lot of positive messages about family, love, loyalty and selflessness, it also has the kind of humor and situations where your kid should have a certain maturity level before watching it (if you don't want them repeating certain words that are thrown around on the show)

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bykimi15gr July 25, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Best show ever - read on...

I started watching this show just after my 13th b-day. It's the best show ever, a suspense, edge-of-your-seat kind of show. It is a little creepy sometimes, and it does keep me awake at night listening to every creak of the stairs (I've always been a bit of a wimp) but it's the best show ever. The violence isn't really an issue, but since I've never really enjoyed horrors too much I just don't look at the bloodiest parts like head-chopping, bloody deaths, etc. Overall, if you don't like it, just don't watch it.
I think that this show could easily make the top three of my fave movies/shows and Dean and Sam are amazing characters. I usually watch the show with my dad and we both really like it.
I also agree with Koi-Pie that Dean and Sammy (espiecially Dean) are hotties ;)
I personally love it but I don't recommend it for younger siblings especially if you share a room (they will keep you up at night - 'I had a nightmare' kind of thing).

Thinking about watching it? Do :)

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byalexisemerald94 June 26, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Supernatural changed my life

I've been watching this show since season two, which was airing when I was 11-12. Honestly, Supernatural changed me for the better.

The mythology of the show inspired me to learn more about other cultures and religions. Each episode brings something new to the table - a new creature, lore from all over the world, so much information about different cultures. This show, I think, is what really got me into history and culture from a young age.

That's not all that's good about Supernatural. While the show looks like two guys shooting monsters to an outsider, any fan can tell you that that's not really what it's about. Supernatural, at its very core, is a tale of two brothers who would die for each other (and do, several times over). This show is all about loyalty to friends and family, and the importance of loving one another. Sam (Jared Padalecki) and Dean (Jensen Ackles) would die for each other. Dean practically raised Sam. One brother would sacrifice everything for the other, and that's what family's about: sacrifice. It's so intense watching the dynamic between the brothers. Yes, they fight. No, they don't always agree, but ultimately, they do what's right for their family, and that's what makes Supernatural one of the best shows I've ever seen.

I've been watching since I was 11, and this show never gave me nightmares. I don't curse just because Sam and Dean do. Yeah, they drink, but so what? At 11, it didn't bother me, and it still doesn't. While this show is not for the sensitive child (or teen; I have friends who can't watch it because it terrifies them), it's an excellent piece of television. Because I started watching it early, I'd say this show is okay for preteens who aren't easily scared.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages