All member reviews for SecretBuilders

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Vast virtual world appeals to wide age range.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 39 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bynorcaldad July 7, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

safe, educational and fun! what more could a parent want?

this site is constantly playing with their filters and improving it. The previous reviewer mentioned the dating talk was passing the filters. not so anymore. I trust my kids on this site more so than club penguin. I have an 11 year old and a 8 year old.

Adult Written bykarpawalsh@msn.com January 16, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Inappropriate chatting

At first I was very pleased with this site. After using it for several days and really enjoying it, another playing sent a message to my daughter saying" hey you and I would be great together !" then another one said " wanna go out with me ? that phrase seems to be very common. Then worse of all someone called her a loser and a jerk. My daughter is no longer allowed to use the site.
Karpawalsh

Kid, 12 years old Written byMsMakaykay May 6, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

NO!

This site is REALLY fun! But...When people are walking up to you and saying things such as, "Hey baby" or, "Wanna make love?" or, "Will you marry me?" It's terrible!!! I think that if you want to join this site by all means go ahead but I highly suggest that you first make sure that you can handle it when somebody calls you the 'b' word! This is no joke! This girl said that she was Obama's daughter so this other girl walked over to her and said, "We hate you." "You're a BEEP" She called her the B word!!! She separated it so I reported her. But It's terrible and I wouldn't recommend it for kids under the age of 14.

Parent of a 6 year old Written byabuela May 25, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

The game is interesting. However it has a chat and I found very inappropiate an email my child received. I copy it textually: "Dear xxxx,Please come home and tuck me into bed! I'm really tired and sleepy" What kind of language a kid use it?
I am afraid Some pedofilos can be behind this Web page. Furthermore they have some clubs, a secret club for example where the child is invited to share his or her secrets....uhmmmm
very suspicius!!!!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 year old Written bymaria89 September 7, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

awsome perfect for any age enjoy

i love it.my daughter is very in to secretbuilders and she stays on it all day because she thinks its fun.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Adult Written byIceRider99 January 14, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Fantasic! 2nd best online game I have ever played!!!

This game is worth checking out. It has plenty of games, contests, and quests! This game is actually mostly about writing. With several refrences to classic books.The average kid might not like it. If you have a writer, though, they probably will! Totally age appropriate. Chat is safe. Nothing to worry about here. In case you're curious, VMK was the best online game I have played.

Kid, 7 years old May 17, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

hmmm...im new so i dont nkow wat this website is.

Kid, 11 years old Written byWhysThatHamsterGreen February 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Safety isn't much of an issue as of how saying a swear you will be banned; however, some users may use words which are obviously substituting the words such as: sax or b!tch. It also includes educational games using skills which can help children learn in the future.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Parent of a 7 and 11 year old Written byQuiltMama80 July 15, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Way too much inappropriate talk going on!

My 11 year old daughter learned about this site from a teacher recommendation. They said it's a great learning site that bases games around history and literature. That may be a portion of the site but I believe the part that is most used by the children is the chat and social aspect of the site. Here they can type messages to each other that are supposed to be safe chat but the players have found ways around that. There is lots of negative chat, name calling, sexualized messages, rudeness and pawning of items. There is also a game I just learned of today that they play in another member's house. It's spin the bottle! They all gather in another player's house and a boy or girl picks a player, who then sits next to them and they type in 'KIZZ' or' make love to me'! I was shocked to see this and embarrassed that I have let me 11 year old play on this site for so long. Shortly after I saw that, I noticed another player type, spin the bottle at my party, all boys. Which made me realize that anyone can sign up for an account, even adults. These adults could be playing these "games" with your children. Well, I'm done with this site. My daughter may not understand my way of thinking but this is not what this site was intended for in my eyes. I do not like that there is little monitoring. Sure, a player can get kicked off their account for ludicrous language but they can immediately open another account. Very bad website for children.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old Written bylime green September 17, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

i love carly she is a good roll modle, so is frad and fraedy. i love sam but she is not a good roll modle

Kid, 9 years old May 11, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Kinda inappropriate and weird

I tried this site after SecretBuilders closed, but this guy said "d!ck".
Also, some guy I don't even know went next to me. I know that can happen.. but it looked awkward, considering the fact that a lot of guys stood next to girls.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bysjanzen5 August 22, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great website

Many people say that the age range is for kids age 5-14, but I would have to say I disagree. I think tjhat there is something for all ages on it, and I would even recommend it for 18+.

Kid, 12 years old Written bypooja5038 August 7, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

good or bad

it is not good

Kid, 11 years old Written byRey0399 September 3, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I LIKE IT

This is my fav website

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written bycool_bunny122 June 24, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

but not for teens

its a great way for kids!
carry on your busy works
love it!
(parent)

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old Written bylilkayla959 October 28, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old Written by2marmar August 1, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Secretbuilders Not to cool

It not really a good website.You need to know about a million people just to have any fun!Plus some people use the swearing codes on here and are rude to others,and there block button dosen't work!And they are treating the dizzies (from dizzywood) horribly by not letting us write stories or create clubs or anything really.

Kid, 11 years old Written bybuckets July 4, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good game except the romance

my friend showed me this game it was fun and all but they will ask you on a date and worse of all spin the bottle its a romance game bean bags are placed in a shape and tow squished in the middle male picks the female or female picks the male goes up and says kizz there really saying kiss i am afraid that teens are going in younger age groups to ask a 9 year old out online and people on there try to say bad words so i am saying 3 stars because its fun the romance and stuff takes the two out.

What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byjasa11 September 3, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Awesome game for kids

Scret builders is really flashing and very educational people should starts playing it its very different.

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 8 years old June 14, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

builders wanted for every one

i think its a good game for everyone and i think we will have fun

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages

Pages