All member reviews for Bearville

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Safe virtual world promotes positivity -- and products.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 134 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written byCJJDSMOM May 22, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Cute Website for Kids

I started off playing this with my son when he got his first stuffed animal. I didn't have an animal then and could still play games with him and shop with him in the stores that only require coins that you earn. As he got more comfortable with it, he could do it on his own and has a lot of fun. It helps to be able to read, or else the parent will need to be there with the child all the time.
The characters can talk to each other, and now it's VERY safe because they have a menu to choose from. There are characters who have a blue hat who are "Jr. Cybear Guides" and they can help a newbie navigate the site.
They keep adding new features to it, such as beach front homes .... It definately is tied in to merchandise - the more you buy at the real store the more you can convert them to speacial bear bills there to buy exclusive items. However, it still is a lot of fun without ANY purchase. That makes this site unique to others like webkins ... A companion site is bearvilleinsider.com this will give you tips and secrets.

Teen, 16 years old Written byfantasy_faerie January 24, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great game-- but if you love it, you might want to buy a furry friend

CONCERNS

Violence: There is no violent content in BABV, and violent talk is not possible as BABV only allows certain words.
Sex: There is no sexual content in BABV, and sexual talk is not possible as BABV only allows certain words.
Language: Swearing is not possible at BABV since BABV only allows certain words.
Consumerism: Players must purchase a "furry friend" in real life to get full access to BABV's content.
Drinking/Drugs/Smoking: Not an issue.

HIGHLIGHTS

Educational: Not much educational value.
Positive Messages: BABV encourages players to love bears.
Safety: BABV is pretty secure.
User Content: Players can submit their own content to the Bearville Times.

Parent of a 17 year old Written bySweettwins November 27, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 8 years old January 23, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byWebCriticGirl76 January 5, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A Wonderful Influence and Addicting Activity for Children 10 & under

When I was little, I LOVED this website. It is fun, and educates you about teamwork, kindness, honesty, love. Exploring the world used to be a blast, it was my favorite website when I was 7 and 8. This website is PERFECT for children up to 10. But I you don't have a real stuffed pet registered it's no fun at all, be sure to buy one for your kids!

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 17 year old Written byminiling May 8, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I love it maybe for not kids under 8

What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Parent of a 9 year old Written bycrazy doggys October 14, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

playing games

im looking forword to playing games!!!!!!!!!!!

Kid, 10 years old Written bySweet-Pea December 21, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Buy The Bear!

Everything is perfect except if you dont have stuffed bear and a code you dont get to do as much as people with a teddy.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old February 19, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

meme

not fair not fair i cant get on my old one because i forgot lol cant belive myself lol nothing sieris lol ha ha ha hha ha ha gtg but dont want to go ttyl

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 7 year old Written bymaddyrockstar March 20, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byWriterGirl1233 May 22, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

It gets a little boring after you play it for about month but younger kids like it.

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old February 16, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

MY BUILDABEAR

I LOVE BUILDING BUILD A BEARS THEY ARE SOO MUCH IM SITTING WITH MINE RIGHT NOW IT IS ROYAL BLUE EYES ARE BLUE AND IT HAS PEACE SIGHNS ON IT THEY ARE ALL DIFFRENT COLARS HER NAME IS ROSIE AND IF YOUPRESS HER HEART IT BEATS 5 TIMES

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old Written byKatieBee20 August 14, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great for all ages.

I've been playing it for about three years. It has much more things to do after these few years. I would recommend BABV's safe open chat for children 9+. Just because there's some bigger words children younger then that won't be able to read.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old March 23, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old Written byRootbeerGirl February 20, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Good 4 Little Kids

It's cute. The perfect little kids website. The buildabear plush toys are a little pricy, but, free acounts are possible. I like it.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written byundergurl March 15, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good site i used to play on it for about 3 months or so. You have to buy a build-a-bear to get full acess to the site but to get even more acess you have to buy a V.I.B. (ver important bear) membership with money that doesn't come with a bear.

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written bygir8 March 6, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

It's ok, but it got dull

Build-A-Bearville is an ok website. It's pretty safe and i used to like it, but it got a little dull to me.

What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old November 29, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Its good for anyone that knows how to read and work a virtural world.

I love it! I go on there any time I can get! my mom thinks its fun and safe appropiate for me! I think thats my favorite virtural world!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old Written bynoakes February 24, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

love

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 6, 7, 9, and 10 year old Written byJOHNVEGA May 30, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Pages