Webby Awards Honor Common Sense Media

Common Sense Media recognized for its website

Common Sense Media
Sunday, April 22, 2007

SAN FRANCISCO, CA– Common Sense Media, the nation's leading source of independent information about media from a kids and family perspective, has been recognized for its Web site, www.commonsensemedia.org.

The organization has been named an Official Honoree in the 2007 Webby Awards. More than 8,000 organizations were considered for the awards, and fewer than 15 percent of entrants received the Official Honoree designation.

"We are proud to accept this honor," said Common Sense Media CEO Jim Steyer. "We've worked hard to create a simple, easy-to-use Web site that can give parents the information they need to make smart media choices for their families. From our library of more than 6,000 media reviews, to our media recommendation lists, to our tips on how to make sure kids have a healthy media diet, www.commonsensemedia.orgis a one-stop shop for parents when it comes to information on kids and the media."

Since 1996, the Webbys have singled out Web sites that break new ground and provide Web surfers with great information. The awards are presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 550-member body of leading Web experts, business figures, luminaries, visionaries and creative celebrities.

"The Webby Awards honors the outstanding work that is setting the standards for the Internet," said David-Michel Davies, executive director of The Webby Awards. "Common Sense Media's Official Honoree selection is a testament to the skill, ingenuity, and vision of its creators."

"We thank our Web development partners at ISL here in San Francisco for all of their hard work in the design and implementation of our site," Steyer said.

About The Webby Awards:
Hailed as the "Oscars of the Internet" by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, Interactive Advertising, Online Film & Video, and Mobile Websites. Established in 1996, the 11th Annual Webby Awards received a record 8,000 entries from all 50 states and over 60 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Adobe; The Creative Group; Verizon; AOL Video; dotMobi; Level3; Adweek; Fortune; Reuters; Variety; Wired; IDG: Brightcove; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail and Museum of the Moving Image.