Parent reviews for A Court of Thorns and Roses, Book 1

Common Sense says

Dark magic, gore, hot faerie romance mark mature fantasy.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 28 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 91 reviews

Wondering if A Court of Thorns and Roses, Book 1 is OK for your kids?

Parents: Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations with Common Sense Media Plus. Join now

Adult Written bylolas1 November 18, 2015

Lovely

A great book. My 12 year old has read this and loves it. Does have violence, swearing a and sex - but it's the 21st century. 99% of 12 year olds are well educated about sex and are very familiar with all swear words. As for violence; the world is filled with it.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bydanib83 May 13, 2019

This series is adult fantasy erotica – not YA

I’m continuing to read this series not because I’m enjoying it – truly; the writing is mediocre at best, downright dull at worst – but because I had no idea of the harm it was perpetuating in the readership, and how rapidly it has distorted youth lit categories.

Maas is writing this series for adults, but I know that kids as young as 10 are reading it – and gatekeepers doing their due-diligence would see Bloomsbury metadata and think that was okay. It’s for those “teenagers 11+” after all.

This a series of flabby writing and lumpy plotting, poor representation and damaging sexual boundaries, particularly for female characters and readers – I cannot wrap my head around anyone younger than 15 reading it, and if you’re an adult on the fence as to whether or not you should be concerned that a young person in your life has delved into this murky world … I’d suggest you be very wary indeed.

When I started sharing on that I was reading ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ on my Insta-stories, I had more than one person come into my DM’s to see if I was aware of a little game the Internet likes to play with Sarah J Maas books … the game is to pick a passage from any given book and have someone guess if said passage is a sex-scene, or a bear attack.

And reader, having now read this book and started the second – I can assure you … it’s not always clear. And maybe I can justify some of it as titillating on one level, because I’m a 32-year-old woman.

But I know of kids as young as 10 who are reading this. And mostly, tween girls. And they’re having it presented to them as one of the complex romantic entanglements Feyre finds herself in in this series.

That’s a problem for me that I can’t forgive. Because as others have pointed out – the consent in this series is murky as all get out.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byZisha7 April 22, 2020

Disgusting

Let's see.
1. Protagonist who is not a good role model AT ALL. Lets everyone push her around, doesn't listen to warnings and go off to dangerous places and dangerous people for no reason other than stubbornness.
2. Sexual abuse is seen as HOT.
3. No, I repeat, NO literary value. Poor inconsistent characterizations. Incoherent writing.
4. Sorry, but not sorry. The people who love this book are either 12 year olds who don't know any better about abuse or people who love this sort of thing. And people who have little reading experience.

This whole series is a plague. And young people are catching it because of greedy marketing. This is in NO way suitable for young kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMarie Gray April 7, 2020

Fifty shades of Wings

If you let your kid read this you're a bad parent. First book is kind of ok, the rest is as bad as fifty shades! I'd set a limit of 15 year for this book. If you wouldn't let your 12 year old read porn novels, then don't let them read this. It is so unnecessary. There's plenty of entertainment to chose from, it doesn't have to be this. Let them keep their innocence for a little while longer.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byAmanda H. January 31, 2019

Too much sex, unfortunately...

While I loved the plotline, character development, and snappy dialogue there were a couple detailed sex scenes I absolutely don't think is appropriate for a YA novel. Most of her other books have explicit sex scenes too.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byEricaLB January 23, 2019

Not for Kids!!

The book is well written and I enjoyed it for the most part. Some plot holes and run-of-the-mill devices used but overall fun and creative. If you are a parent looking to see if this book (and the rest of the series) is suitable for your child, be aware that there are multiple scenes in the book that are nothing short of soft core pornography. Oral sex, descriptions of private parts to include “the proud thick length of him,” (Court of Mist and Fury book 2), are just a few of the adult topics you will find. My opinion is that these books do not belong in the young adult section but the adult fantasy section!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byStudiousStudent August 24, 2018

Not a Young Adult Novel

I am 19 and have been hesitant to read this book because I've heard of how sexual this book was. Don't get me wrong, there are two instances of the characters actually being together in this book. But this novel is so well-written, so enjoyable, and such a good story, that it is impossible to not recommend it. The only problem is, it's quite descriptive in those scenes, so, in my opinion, this novel is best for 18+.(as in adults.) This book is actually considered New Adult, which means the characters are still young (like Feyre, the main character of this series, is 19), but the content is geared more towards an older audience. I could never recommend this to a young 13 or 14-year old teenager. The sexual scenes are more of telling than showing, but it's still pretty sensual. There are numerous uses of strong language (s-word) used, and this book is also quite heavy on the violence. But I highly, highly recommend this if you're an adult.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byColineisconne567 July 29, 2019

Awesome book

This book was amazing, my 13 year really enjoyed the book. He told me that the scenes that a lot of parents have reported aren’t that bad. So than I personally read the book and it really does depend on the maturity of your child and when you think he or she should be introduced to all of that. I very much enjoyed the book the plot was amazing and the story was great
Parent of a 12 and 13-year-old Written byAnne S. September 4, 2016

Well...

It's got a lot of sexual scenes but most 12 year olds learn about sex at 12 years old. I believe that kids shouldn't be sheltered but I wouldn't give this to a 8 year old. You have to consider your child's maturity, a 14 year old could be as mature as a 8 year old or a 19 year old. Also it's a good book to practise 'straight-face-reading'!
Gosh! You can tell I'm exhausted can't you?
Adult Written byApril R. October 20, 2015

recommend older age level

I really loved the book, but as a parent and a library specialist, I would not recommend this book for the 15 year old. At the very youngest a 16 yr old, but more likely 17. The overall book is fine, but there are very descriptive sexual content scenes. There are a few swear words, but what i would consider minor in the great sheme of things.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDiana White November 7, 2020

Questionable for younger audiences, great for older ones.

This book is a marvelous work of fantasy, however there are multiple points in which this book is not suitable for children. From the worst to least:
1. Sexual content. This book has detailed scenes of vivid imagery. Sentences include ‘taking in the thick, proud length of him’ and ‘his hips rolled forward, jutting it in farther.’
2. Violence. This book contains notable violence, in some instances under the influence, which brings us to my next point.
3. Drinking, smoking, and drugs. This book contains questionable choices when it comes to being responsible. However, for most people this is not disturbing.
3. Cussing, and other profanity. This book contains many, many cuss words, ranging to the f word to the simple h word.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byradi0frog October 14, 2020

havent read it

seems weird

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byUnknown 1234566 June 25, 2020

GREAT FOR CHILDREN 13 AND UP

it is a great book and surely recommend it to everyone....for children 13 and up

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byMtlynnx May 21, 2020

Great Female Lead!

This story has an amazingly strong female lead. It shows young women that they too can be the hero! The other reviews say this is inappropriate because of a sex scene (that is 1.5 pages... honestly very PG13). It is a great role reversal of beauty and the beast. It is also not difficult to read which makes it ideal for young adults getting into reading. In short, great female character, wonderful story, other reviews are needlessly over protective parents.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent Written byJilldotchom April 20, 2020

Decide for yourself. Read the 1st chapter of the 2nd Book in the series.

Parents - Read the first chapter of Court of Mist and Fury (2nd book in series.) You should decide for yourself.

Sarah J. Maas writes well above average fantasy with especially powerful female protagonists. Her books are wildly popular. I recommend them - but not to young girls and cautiously to young women. They contain escalating levels of descriptive passion both between and within series.

At the end of Book 1 of "Court of Thorns and Roses" the heroine and hero consummate the love interest/tension that is central to the plot. Book 2 reintroduces the heroine and hero with a descriptive sex scene beyond steamy romance into the adult erotica category. With this description of the heroine on the receiving end of the pleasure; the reader (who may not have read the first book) is led to understand the heroine as a strong, empowered woman, equal and worthy as the hero.

Be aware. Most readers will first discover Maas through her YA series: "Throne of Glass". Enjoying one fantastic fantasy series naturally leads to reading another by the same author. I consider Maas' two series in different categories. Throne is YA (mature at that) while the other crosses into the "New Adult" category. You might want to consider the Throne series as a gateway book to the more explicit Court series when deciding when to start with The Throne series.

(Actually, the varying levels of maturity in content is something to consider with all YA authors.)

FYI - I didn't find any reviews on her Throne of Glass series. I only read the first two or three. It's possible that later books also pass from romantic to erotic.
Adult Written byamrengirl992 November 17, 2019

Amazing

I love this book as it is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast but it does contain some gore, sex scenes and swearing but children at the age of ten are mostly well educated on these topics. I've read this book as well as my ten year old daughter and she enjoyed it without finding it disturbing but it depends on the child.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bySara R. November 12, 2018

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byCRMpip28 July 29, 2018

A GREAT series....for adults; Parents: read it first and then make a decision based on your child's maturity.

Ive read the whole series and, as a 22 year old, it is GREAT! However, this should not be read by anyone under the age of 18. There are quite a few sex scenes and they can get graphic...especially in the second book (A Court of Mist and Fury). This book requires a mature audience/reader. Many of the other reviews say 12 year olds are mature enough and know about all of the sexual details discussed in this book, and I would disagree. This content can be considered mildly pornographic and erotic. This is not for young minds/readers. Parents, Do your part and read this series first before handing it to your kids.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byssalih July 27, 2018

Relatively eloquent but...

I do note that many people have repeatedly mentioned the sex scenes, and there are sex scenes, which is something to be left to the discretion to every individual looking to wield this book and that is actually not too uncommon in the genre of contemporary romance; I was actually surprised to find it.
But story-wise, I suppose it's well-written, but it's not a story or personalities we haven't seen before, with the ever-dashing (literally no one has one physical flaw in this thing besides like wicked hags) 'witty' and fierce cast undergoing some real horror and trauma and the whole good versus evil thing. Still, I rather enjoyed as anyone would this genre. I'm not sure that it lends a fantasy culture for us to fangirl over or a make base a park from, but overall pretty fine.
Adult Written byElwyia July 1, 2018

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language

Pages