Kid reviews for Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl

Common Sense says

Inspiring wartime journal reveals teen's inner life.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 8 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 64 reviews
Kid, 12 years old December 28, 2018

Absolutely... just... wow.

I finished reading this book today and I was amazed of this young girl’s story. Anne is strong, smart and a person who deserves to live to be older than 16. Well really, who doesn’t? All throughout the novel, the reader gets closer and closer to Anne, understanding her deepest emotions, being her best friend. Until...the end. Your child should know before reading this what happens to Anne. But everybody, I’m telling you, EVERYBODY, should read this. It is not only a great and emotional novel, but it is history. Everybody should know who Anne Frank is and her story for she is the representive of the millions who died unjustly in the terrible war. I know this review is extremely boring and nobody will probably read this far but I want to get my point through. READ THE DIARY OF ANNE FRANK. The rest is up to you but I strongly recommend this book. And BTW, you may need some tissues nearby.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old May 9, 2015

Amazing :)

I've read the definitive edition, and it's an amazing book for those girls (sorry boys, that book isn't for you exactly) who will become teens. Some content is not appropriate for younger kids, as they talk about sex and the private parts, but it's still plenty of fun.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Kid, 12 years old August 21, 2019

AMAZING book

Ok, so first of all, those people who are insulting the “author and publisher” should know that this is an ACTUAL diary found after the war. The girl was an actual person who was killed in a Nazi camp. This book is not at all entirely about sex, though occasionally Anne will talk about it. This book is an amazing way to learn, and its incredibly well written, especially considering the author was 13.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written bySt. Dominic Lit 20B April 9, 2019

(spoilers)

there is no other way of saying this it is a phenomenal book. Those who are going through puberty should beyond the doubt read especially if you are a girl. i feel it discuses puberty though the eyes of teen. i do feel this book can be awkward at sometimes especially when she talks about touching herself. I feel it is a great book would read it again. I love the feeling of intensity in it. I love how it give a feeling of dread every signal time they hear something. i love how everyone claustrophobic and turning on each other. i can relate with this character. i around love this book and totally recommend to anyone

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySaadet Beyza December 23, 2018

Great book.

I think it is a book that you must read. A different experience of reading. I recommend you to read it around the age of Anne's. When I was reading it made me feel like I was Anne's penpal. There are some inappropriate things but it's in 2 pages or so.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMonica.R December 9, 2018

A good and educational book!

I read this book not to long ago, for the most part it was kid-friendly. It was a really good book, but a few pages were on a topics recommended for older kids. Some pages also give bad examples. I would suggest parents look over the book before there kids read it. Overall, it is a good book on the holocaust.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byFelicitous Freedom April 9, 2015

Great Book, Would Recommend

I recently decided to curl up with this book once again, and really enjoyed it. I think it's a great, realistic account of what life would be like for a person in hiding during a world war.

Before I start giving my review in detail, you should know that there are in fact two versions of this book. The first, the critical version, was put together by Otto, Anne's father. This is a great read, but has been censored and shortened a little bit. Things such as conflicts between Anne and her mother were dialled down, and a few letters about Anne's personal development were cut too. The other version, the definitive version, was put together fairly recently in comparison, and contains 30% more content.
I read both of these books, and would thoroughly recommend trying to get your hands on the definitive version. This is the diary of a young girl, and to censor her thoughts seems to me to take away the whole point of reading it. Also, a few of the other reviewers mention that the definitive version isn't suitable for boys or younger children, but really, the content in the book isn't harsh or confronting at all. Anne does talk about getting her period in one or two letters, but this is a fact of life and steering people away from this won't help them grow at all.
That being said, some people would prefer to read the critical version. At the end of the day, it is their choice, and depends on the reader. Just bear in mind that there are differences between the two versions when you are deciding which to read.


"Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl" is set in wartime Holland. Anne is a young Jewish girl in hiding, along with 8 others. The diary's entries start before they have to go to their 'secret annex', as their hiding pace is revered to throughout Anne's entries, and follows Anne's journey from there. The entries reflect on Anne's thoughts and emotions, her development as a young girl into a teenager, and life in hiding. Anne's words are deep and profound, and tell a beautiful story.

Of course, this beautiful story is a rather dark one. Anne is constantly living in fear of being found by the Gestapo. She has limited rations, and is cramped up into a tiny space, not allowed to go outside. The sound of gunshots are a common occurrence. The themes in this book are clearly dark. It's not a light read, at all. Anne's diary entries aren't graphic, but still leave you chilled.

The entries Anne addressed were beautifully written. I found myself connecting with Anne, and before long I felt like she was a close friend. Anne's diary is written in such a way that it is impossible to distance yourself from her words.

This book is a truly captivating read, and offers deep insites into a very important, yet dark, part of humanity's past. I would recommend for anyone in their late Tweens or above. This book would be enjoyed by a wide variety of ages.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 17 years old Written byLucyHurst March 21, 2017

Okay book :|

I was honestly expecting much better from this book, as everyone calls her a hero.

Something I must say though, is that lots of other jews and holocaust survivors have had diaries, and for some reason this one rose the to the top. I had to read it in 7th grade, and something that I was so disappointed about was one of her entries. I think it was January sixth or something. But, she mentioned she went into ecstasies seeing the naked figure of a woman, such as "The Venus" and that she likes her period and calls it her "Sweet secret", that she likes to touch her breasts and listen to her heartbeat, and that one time at a sleepover when she was fourteen that she wanted to see her friend's nude body and that they should touch each other as a sign of friendship. I was absolutely mortified reading that. I still am.

I don't see why she was a hero exactly though. She obviously didn't write about what it was like in the concentration camps, or anything. I have read better holocaust books than this. For example, Elie Wiesel's Night.
I don't hate Anne Frank, its just that I did not cry or feel inspired while reading it. I love history, but this was quite dull.

Some may see this as a great book for education, so it honestly depends on your preferences.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Kid, 10 years old March 31, 2018

Boring, One star, and Terrible

You might of just read the title and thought, "why was this book rated so low?" I rated this book one star because she's locked up in an annexe and is bored to death. Her boring writing reflects the boredom that she feels in the secret annexe. You might
look at the sample and think, "What a great book!" Well, the beginning is the only good part because she's not locked up, unlike in the middle and the end. In conclusion, Anne Frank's diary is a waste of time to read because it's so boring that it becomes terrible. I rate this book as a terrible book because I read for entertainment. If you're looking for a historical book about the second world war, without entertainment, then I recommend this book to you and give it three stars.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byAJ toy Vids f. January 28, 2018

Okay but...

I did not find it nice when she said that she would like to have time alone feeling her breasts... That is a little immature... What should I expect? She is only 13 (was)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old November 23, 2015

What is wrong with today's kids?

This book really is not inappropriate. In my school, this book was required reading. At page 130, Anne talks about her sexuality in non-graphic detail. My classmates freaked out about it, calling "Fifty Shades of Anne Frank". This is really offensive, comparing this to porn impossible to call literature (Fifty Shades of Grey). Some quit reading entirely, lying to the teacher, saying that they finished it. Some complained that Anne was "a sassy little girl that deserved to die." They obviously were not ready for this book. This book is not like that at all. It is not a piece of porny crap. It is a true account of the horrors of being a Jew in Nazi occupied Holland. Calling it horrible names is very insulting, especially to Jewish people from the Holocaust. The Annexe is a very uneventful place, so expect lots of repetition. The first two thirds of this book is about the families squabbling. The last third is mainly Anne and Peter longing for each other, with lots of kissing and a little distress. If you don't like romance (like me), you will be annoyed at this part (the romance eventually drops). Among these repetitive entries, you will find more important and interesting entries, about subjects such as WWII politics, England's invasion of Holland, and Anne's evolution as a young woman. In this book, you will find positive role models in Mr. Kraler, Mr. Koophuis, Miep, Henk, and Elli for hiding the Franks, the Van Daans, and Dussel. The Jewish people in hiding are very, very. brave. This book is very educational about the Holocaust. There is no violence depicted, but the Jews hear soldiers fighting outside, and Mrs. Van Daan gets very scared when this happens. There is talk of the British invading Holland, and what life in a concentration camp would be like. Towards the end, there is an attempt to assassinate Adolf Hitler, which fails. Eventually, all of the Jews, except for Anne's father, die in concentration camps. Anne talks about her evolution as a young woman, including her sexuality. She mentions her period three to five times. She recalls when she once kissed a female friend, and then asked if they should feel each other's breasts as proof of their friendship, to which the friend refuses. She sometimes feels a desire to feel her breasts. Anne recalls times when various boys have fallen in love with her, and has sexual dreams involving a former love interest, and eventually Peter. Anne and Peter fall in love, where they frequently kiss and hold each other. Anne experiences tension with her dad when he tells her to cool it with Peter. Peter washes in the kitchen, and tells people not to enter the kitchen when he is watching. Peter once shows Anne the male reproductive organs of a cat. However, the sexual content here is not graphic and should not be as offensive as it seems to be. The only language is one use of h-ll by a man, one use of silly a-- by Anne, and mentions of Peter cursing to himself when he is angry. I was able to handle this, but many other kids were not. For them, all of the WWII content was overshadowed by the sexual content. In my opinion, it is maturity and not age that determines whether someone should be able to read this, but people aged 12 to 16 will probably be able to identify with Anne the most. 5 stars.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byTenillelovesbooks May 17, 2012

I love Anne frank the book

We are reading this book in class as a class novel. Not once have I ever been so interested in a book my whole life. The whole class is begging to read more pages because we only read it once a day :( My knowledge on world war II has grown so much considering I only knew so little. I feel as if I know Anne and when she's writing diary entries to 'kitty' I feel as though there to me. Words can't describe how strongly I recommend this awesome book! YOU HAVE TO READ IT! :) :) :) :)

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCAROLINE<3 November 3, 2011

AWESOME

I read this book when I was about 8 and then again when I was 14. I think that it is good 8 and up.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysourcecoderocks October 9, 2011

Positive Role Models and Messages

I really loved this! I read it in sixth grade and it has really good role models and messages.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byEm9045 September 14, 2020

Amazing

Beautiful piece of work! Perfect for young girls!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCar1625 August 17, 2020

All right I expected more though...

I had to read this book last summer for seventh grade, I was honestly very excited to read it. I was disappointed, my sister had read this book and she was raving about it. It honestly was very boring. I love action and gore stuff like that so I loved the later part of the book. I really didn't like the romance mention, but then again she was 13 and that's what some girls like to do. I personally fell that this book isn't really appropriate for younger kids at all. I definitely expected it to be a lot better than it actually was.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byKatniss Potter July 30, 2020

So moving.

This was an incredibly moving story that I think is a necesity for girls. I loved Anne's honesty and her optimism which really broke my heart. There are a few things for parents to be aware of, Anne is very open about her feelings on sex and so it is talked of. There are a few crude jokes made when Anne goes and visits Peter but their relationship never moves beyond kisses. She also undergoes puberty which she talks a little bit of and one entry discusses the female body parts which I decided to skip over. But other than that I think that everyone can benefit and learn something from Anne's story. I learned that no matter how dark or hopeless a situation may seem you can always find beauty and things to be grateful for.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byS_Crosby87 July 22, 2020

It’s a great book!

This book is DEFINITELY not for any kids under 10. I think it is best to read this if your 12 or older. There is lots violence and might scare younger kids.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written byNothing_at_all... July 12, 2020

Forever engraved in history

A very passionate book. Anne Frank succeeds in bringing us into her hiding place, delving deep into her thoughts and aspirations as well as amidst her day to day life.

Her diary has become a symbol to all of us of the innocence, humanness and well known fate of Holocaust victims.

We witness, through the young teenager’s words, an evolution in ideas as she strives to answer philosophical questions and justify the reasons of worldwide actions.

It is above all to think that everything she discusses really happened, that what is written was someone’s life. It is a part of that past which is enclosed in the pages. I’m not sure how to explain it to you, but it’s that kind of atmosphere which makes the book so interesting, which makes the story come alive.

The fact that she speaks directly to the reader creates some sort of connection between her and the reader, a bridge between two eras, between two lives, two people who have never seen each other.

Besides, when reading Anne’s journal, I was exactly the same age as her when she wrote it. And yet she would be the same age as my grandfather. Which is fascinating to imagine.

She says in her writings that she would not want to die without leaving something behind her in the world. But little did she know that this dream came true even if it is not the way she envisioned it. Anne Frank leaves something behind her, a pinch of passion in each reader’s heart.

(PS: I must warn you, although Anne Frank’s Diary is a wonderful classic to be read by anyone with interest, I don’t think it would be suitable for kids under 13 years of age given that there are a couple descriptions and references to private parts since Anne Frank is genuinely intrigued by love, physical like emotional, and is fascinated by the creation of other living beings.)

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Kid, 12 years old April 23, 2020

Amazingly inspiring

This book is amazing. I read this a couple moths ago and I felt bad that she didn't live past 16. The book is inspiring, educational, and plain fun. It can be a bit inappropiate (She wrote about some weird stuff sometimes) so i don't recommend for boys our little kids. Other than that its great as long as your mature enough to handle it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff

Pages