All parent member reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator Written byMychemicalstinkpants April 25, 2011
Parent of a 17 year old Written byMr. Awesome April 13, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
I am so Awesome!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 and 9 year old Written bycmcfreund April 13, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great book series for the kids who have not yet discovered their love of reading.

While the main character isn't always the great role model I'd like for my son (lazy, sometimes negative), this is a book my son seems to relate to. He selects it to read over and over again. This series was what got him to discover his love of reading.
Parent of a 8 year old Written bygirly princess March 12, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

the girly book

love it
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byNiagara December 18, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
I loved this book! I am 12, and I got the "talk" last year. My 7 year old brother and 10 year old sister wanted to read it, but I think it is to inappropriate for them.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Parent of a 13 year old Written bysweetestgirl17 February 17, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 year old Written bySuperTwinMom February 27, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not the BEST read for GIRLS

Wow... my daughter learned ALOT of what is going on with boys during pubertey....... thanks!
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written bytony bony January 19, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I have not read this book yet

I have not read this book
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 11 year old Written bytolomolo December 25, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Parent of a 9 year old Written byhotfudge1928 March 27, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Wimpy

I love it, because it teaches kids to express themselves and how to deal with the changes they encounter in their lives. Everyone knows that it is not easy been a kid or a teenager.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written byMrs. Edwards December 1, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written byCool dude 360 December 8, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Good Humour Level

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a good mix of humor and cartoons. It is pretty funny. Greg's rotten life makes me laugh.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byronaldinho1080 March 9, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
okay well I have read the book and it was pretty good 10 and up recommended because my 9 yr old son didn't understand many parts of this story.
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written byNaddyBear123 October 23, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome

i have read all the diary of a wimpy kid books. they are okay but some are stupid:)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytreat02 December 27, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A good book for the fifth installment of "Diary Of A Wimpy Kid" series

Well, a lot of things mentioned about Greg growing up. Zygotes are mentioned, of course, but even GREG doesn't know what those are, and neither should kids (they aren't supposed to). Yes, the book centers around puberty, and it is mentioned (if your kid doesn't know what that is, I don't recommend). Greg also wishes to play spin the bottle, but of course he DOESN'T. He was invited to a party, but he didn't go and based on his friends there wasn't any inappropriate stuff. A teacher says posterior (they don't know what it is until they look up it's meaning is "butt"). A bare butt is drawn for a boy at the urinal. (Trust me, it's not as bad as it seems). A butt is slapped, (it's a picture Greg drew in a book), but it's really not as bad as it may seem. Potty humor, of course, is mentioned all throughout the book. At one point the book mentions Greg's grandfather smokes, but Greg says he won't smoke. (That's a GOOD message). Laughs are all throughout and I think it's very, very good!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byhelper + April 7, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good

love the book
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byKnowler March 7, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This is a self-help book on teenagers going through their own ugly truth.

Well, of course tthe teens in this world will eventually find out about the ugly truth of being a teenager. There are pictures showing half-naked and rather hairy boys (since this is based on Greg's gender) and Greg is getting more flirty as there is a assistant dentist girl in his wimpy dental care centre. However, his dad changed his apointment with a grpwn-up dental care centre. Greg dosn't want to go outside and he would wrather stay in and play video games and watch tv, but his parents always are strict in many ways such as making him go outside. This is all about the ugly truth, such as getting older and having puperty, it really is an ugly truth! Consider this book as a self-help book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Adult Written bySamM 2 February 28, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Give themselves a good headstarrt

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking