All parent member reviews for Half-Moon Investigations

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byKac April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

its the coolest

it's the bizom yeah whoah that ws fun o.k. good bye...
Educator and Parent Written byacr3079 April 20, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Read

We spend family time listening to books together. My son does not like to read, so I've introduced the next best thing. Books on Tape. We both enjoyed this book and thought it would make a great kids movie one of these day. The plot, the suspense, the twist, the language, the life like characters just great. I identified with some of these characters . Totally amazing book. My son actually wants to follow along with the actual book in hand. I look forward to reading more books by this author.
Adult Written byidkwatmyusernameis April 30, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Parent Written byPerspicacity May 22, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

My favorite modern children's book!

This book is hilarious! Snarky is the word that comes to mind. I would definitely recommend it for kids, but I would suggest parents read it first for kids below 8 or 9. That shouldn't be too difficult -- this is a book that is as enjoyable for adults as it is for kids. This story's main positive message is that you shouldn't judge people by their appearances. However, it's told from the perspective of Fletcher, a kid, so that message only comes after he *has* judged people by appearances multiple times. It's sort of a subtle message-- I didn't realize how pervasive it was throughout the book until about the 3rd or 4th time I listened to it (yes, it's that good!) But sometimes subtle is stronger... This book does have quite a bit of "potty humor" -- boogers and farts and the like -- as well as over-the-top violence.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written bycolfer4ever September 19, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Perfect for all ages and is some of the best reading you can have Colfer did another good job
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bydghsdfgh April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

a must read book

i so captivated by this book that i could not put it down. i ment to read only 3 chapters but instead read the whole thing!
Adult Written byPooh Girl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Bought It 4 my son.

My son loves the other books by this author and I found this book at my childs bookfair thought he'd love it he di then said I had 2 read it 2 and once I started it i couldn't put it down. Now I'm hoping that Shrkey & Fletcher Moon get "The Half Moon Investigations" underway. I just assume that was what Fletcher ment by "You're half right. It was very funny as well. Just wonderful!!!!
Adult Written byTeacher-mom April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great for child and parent

I read this book with my 10 year old and she loved it. My 13 year old started listening in and he also thought it was great. Very clever story, well written, and funny. There is a little bit of violence with fighting but no one is hurt very badly. I definitly recommend it.