All parent member reviews for New Moon: The Twilight Saga, Book 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 33 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 15 year old Written bySummertime803 March 8, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

My least favorite so far.........

Loved the first novel. This one wasn't very good at all. Bella used every word in the dictionary to describe how terrible she felt. I don't think this sends the right message to us girls. Our world shouldn't stop because we lose a boyfriend. It may be hard at first but this type of pain and anquish shouldn't be glorified for a teenager.
Adult Written byproud-ravenclaw October 22, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Suckish story with lame morals

Bella gets depressed when her (sparkly) boyfriend leaves her. She's like a black hole. Bella does dangerous things because she can hear Edward's voice inside her head. When there's a possibility that Edward can come back, Bella completely dumps Jacob.
Adult Written bysparky481 October 20, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

HATE

hate it thats it final
Educator and Parent of a 9, 12, 14, and 22 year old Written bySunniemom March 21, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Fluff and nonsense

More drama, more whining, more lies from Bella to everyone she knows. She also engages in self destructive behavior because Edward left. Bella begins a somewhat romantic relationship with Jacob, leading him on then dumping cold water on his head. Edward is also a drama king, with his "I'm going to stand in the sun at noon and sparkle so the Volturi will kill me." Why not just walk right up to Aro and start a fight? But then Alice wouldn't get to steal a car. :/ Then the Cullens and Bella leave the Volturi to eat the tourists. I have a moral objection to that. Plot holes galore, with vampires who sparkle in the daytime traveling by air from WA to Italy and back. Alice's powers are simply a plot device. Victoria's obsession with Bella makes no sense, and her ability to elude the werewolves and vampires is ludicrous. And did Bella quit going to school? Again- read it with your kids if you must so that you can help them become critical thinkers and intelligent readers. You don't want them to think that because these novels are popular money makers that they are quality literature.
Adult Written byAmorette March 18, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
This is educational in the way that it teaches young women not to be so emotionally dependent on their boyfriends because of the way it can feel like "your world is ending" when you break up. But that's only if they look past the fact that it's Edward. And it's also kind of a difficult concept for a younger child to wrap their head around. It would be a good topic for a mother to talk to her daughter, after they both read it, about how those kind of relationships can be so self-destructive.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 7 and 12 year old Written byCV_Airwin November 13, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byAstoria-Malfoy August 24, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
again this series is way too anti-feminist, Romance shouldn't be about killing yourself. Bella tries to kill herself becuase she feels bad, we all feel bad at some point, but the brave ones stand up to life, the cowards, try to jump off a clif. Also Bella needs protection from Men, either Edward or Jacob she is a Mary sue. Meyer is a horrible writter
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 17 year old Written bybalqis August 12, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I really love this book...
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 9 and 10 year old Written byBonna May 22, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Twilight Saga: New Moon

The second book in the popular Twilight Series has some mild violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 1, 3, and 4 year old Written bysocietynnhearts September 19, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

es horrible.

I've read it, but it was so full of ugh. worst book ever. for real.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byAslynima September 6, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Read it before you allow your child to.

In this installment of the saga, Bella becomes even more morbid than before. Her whole life is centered around Edward, and she decides to be very daring to see him again. Bella's mental health is a great way to talk to your kids about how a relationship should be. I think this series is a great way to open up to your kids about things such as sex, love, drugs, consumerism, and violence. Would definitely let my child 11+ read.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written bylmg95 December 7, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good for older kids

this is ok for older children
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bytwimom1967 November 19, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Love it--but not for elementary kids.

Love the whole serious, however I know many kids in elementary school who have seen the movie and I do not think its appropriate for them AT ALL. Parents need to pay attention!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 year old Written bymickeylova123 November 10, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Ny daughter read this book and told me there were a couple bad words. Either than that it is educational because it is a book and all books are educational.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Adult Written bynerdstotallyrock October 24, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for teens, but iffy for tweens

I just love the whole Twilight series! I read them when I was 12, and I don't think that kids should really be any younger than that because they would appreciate it more when they are older. Great book, it almost made me crey at one point
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byfaiiryy. October 8, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
best book out of the saga! This deals with the loss of romance and how sometimes its hard to cope with the situation.. and way more intense and action packed compared to the first/.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byAyame September 24, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Loved it, the film better be good, nothings wrong with it, guess theres too many ciritics out there spamming concerns 14+ age should give it a read
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byembraceharmonyy September 23, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

New moon

I love it , but some of the scences are too grown for children under 17+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Adult Written byabitligit September 2, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Just read it.. matter of fact.. read all four books!

I loved this book. It is very on point with the way teenagers over react to break ups and regular high school drama with a touch of the supernatural to make it interesting. A great bit of fun!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 2 and 6 year old Written bySnoozhe September 1, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Entertaining action--but not great role models for teens

I'm an adult and I enjoyed this--but keep in mind I'm a Harry Potter fan. I like the fantasy and mythical creatures. The love triangle is a bad example of what you should do at any age. At least there is some remorse on the part of Bella. And her attitude is a bit annoying--but then maybe that's the Mom in me coming out!
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages