All member reviews for Stormbreaker: Alex Rider Adventures, Book 1

Common Sense Media says

British teen spy saves England in thriller!

Users say

(out of 66 reviews)
age 10+
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bybrendarose8 September 13, 2013

An entertaining premise is ruined by violence and sexual content.

This book was acceptable, but the rest of the series grows dark and edgy fast. Alex struggles with anger and depression. Images and experiences become increasingly violent. Eagle Strike, the 4th book, is violent. Additionally, it references pornography and prostitution in the red-light district of Amsterdam. A prostitute winks at Alex as he rushes past. I guess your child could read the first 2, maybe 3... but why start when you can't finish?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written byhbhurst October 2, 2010
Very disappointed that there is a lot of bad language in this book and that common sense didn't catch the bad language in it. Money wasted.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2, 5, 9, and 11 year old Written bykookykids January 30, 2011

I think you should read it ages 10 - 14

I think it's a great book, but the violence is pretty extreme! I would love it even more if less people we shot and the violence was put to a limit. After all i'm only 11 but LOVE to read! I think the book is great, but parents might need to read it first for less advanced readers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old September 6, 2015

Great book

A 14 year old version of James Bond finds out his uncle has died in a car crash, or has he? This is what Alex must find out. This is one of the many cliffhangers that kept me reading . My favourite part was when the angry Portuguese Man-o-War jellyfish tried to strike Alex like a lightning bolt. This is the first book out of ten and I'm going to read them all!
Teen, 14 years old Written byTechnicallyPicky November 23, 2015

Operation Review

Okay, this is for 12+ in my opinion. Yes, the first book was for younger children, maybe 10+, but later on in the series the books are more iffy in certain parts. Yes, it is similar to James Bond, but it is more toned down. The first book is fairly non-violent, but in later books the violence is amped, there are some bad words ( last book uses f*ck, it IS cencored, not all the way, however).Younger kids could read it, but to understand the technological parts, because there is science young kids couldn't understand, I say 12+. I don't want to give spoilers so this a a vague review, but the books: Scorpia, and Scorpia Rising deal with Alex being an assassin, trying to assassinate, and include very violent and somewhat disturbing deaths( for smaller kids).
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bycasey davis August 31, 2011

STORMBREAKER

i think alex is going to find out what happen to his uncle im only on chapter 11 right know
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old May 16, 2011

good, but the series is a bit repetitive.

The series is a bit repetitive for my liking, and it's a cliche when it comes to this kind of writing, but good. i wish that this series was told from first person tho. Just to make it so that readers find a connection in the writing. Also at the beginning, i didnt really like it because his uncle dies. but on the other hand that's better than those other books where you get attached to the character and then, boom, just like that, they're dead. The plot in general and the kid-spy mood is good, too. the gory description is good too, altho i'd say that it limits the writer's possible audience. but really, if you want a series where the plot is different in each book, try something like percy jackson and the olympians. also some of the details might not appeal to little kids, and they might not understand what anthony horowitz is saying.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byBioshock halo C... March 10, 2011

perfect for all ages

This book is jam packed full of action and exitement, is compltely age apropriate for nearly any age, and has just the right amount of anything
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 12, 2011

Lots of action, not that much thinking involved

I loved the first book - it was so EXCITING! However, as I progressed through the series, I found that the plot line is continuously repeated: bad guy plotting to cause international crisis, Alex gets forced into it (usually being told that his mission is harmless and nothing will go wrong), Alex gets captured, bad guy tells him the plan, Alex stops it. Great for entertainment, but if you want something lasting, find another book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 17, 2010
its just a book,come on
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byjohnnydogmatic April 9, 2008

Cool stuff for teens

My daughter and I are Brits now living in - and loving! - the US. These books are written by Anthony Horowitz, a prolific and very talented serious drama writer for British TV. However he makes time to write the Alex Rider series I don't know, but they are all good, if...as the review says...a little farfetched. There is violence but in a definite good versus evil way - hugely enjoyable and imaginative.
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

Great to Read together with your kids

I loved this book and also the series. We had it on CD and listen to it on a long road trip. It is an interesting and exciting yarn for both parent and kids. While there is some violence, it is tame compared to anything that is seen on cartoon network. Both my boys have read the entire series from cover to cover. The page turning narrative is wonderful in so far as it promotes the idea of reading for pleasure. That's hard to do if you have to compete with an xbox.
Adult Written byjbjb April 9, 2008

fantastic!

I read this book and i lowved it with a passion. i recomend it to anyone and everyone!
Kid, 11 years old June 28, 2015

Cool

I love this book and read it when I was 8. I hate it when people write a review and haven't read the book. The first book was fine no blood nothin really but the others kinda do. And people who say you need to be 14 and older are wrong. You need some experience with reading!
Adult Written byMaggie1018 November 12, 2014

A Great Thriller

This book is full of twists and turns and will have you hooked in the first few pages. The plot is filled with action, adventure, and deceit. It is about Alex Rider, a young fourteen year old boy, is dragged into the dark world of spies and espionage when his uncle, who happened to be a MI6 agent, is murdered. The plot is very mysterious, leaving cryptic clues everywhere. You will try to guess what happens next, but usually you will be wrong because the plot is very intelligent and unpredictable. It is filled with lots of suspense. The book does contain some violent scenes like Alex shooting a few people, a woman who is shocked to death by a giant jellyfish, and Alex crashing a plane. The scenes do not contain very graphic descriptions, though. Alex is very similar to James Bond, like the teenage version of him. He is always has witty comebacks, ninja fighting skills, lots of endurance, and a good heart. Although it is such a great thriller book, it contains some bad points too. For example, it drops a lot of labels throughout the book. Since this book is for children and teens, I don't like how it says that Alex wears Nike and Gap clothing, ect. It is a bit annoying. Also, the characters are not very developed. They only really have one trait and everything they do revolves around the trait. Alex is also not very human. He knows many different languages, has a black belt in Karate, completed MI6 training (which usually takes six months according to the book) in seven days, has superhuman strength and speed, and is incredibly intelligent. This makes him pretty much flawless, and I think that makes some parts of the book confusing and it is slightly annoying. Overall, this would be a fun and exciting book for younger readers, but it would not appeal as much to more mature readers.
Teen, 13 years old Written bygreensparkling13 July 29, 2014

14 year old James Bond

This is a very good book for boys who like action and crazy adventures! Despite action including explosions, etc... The descriptive language was very limited.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byjavierewe June 4, 2014

Nice book

really exciting.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byArpy November 23, 2012

Alex Rider series

Stormbreaker is a thrilling adventure that takes the reader for a roller-coaster ride. The plot, however unbelievable, is cohesive and clear. It is not a book of exceptional literary merit or any actual philosophical message, but it is well written for what it is. I have read three of the series, so far, and Stormbreaker is the best. Point Blank (Blanc) was very intense, and Skeleton Key, although the plot and characters were better, had some really annoying CIA agents who simply advertised Horowitz's ignorance. (Americans will be insulted at his opinion of Yankee humour, and I believe everyone should shower letters into his mailbox complaining in no meek terms that American kids say jam.)
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byarieth February 7, 2012

Amazing.

Excellent book, I love that there is never a chapter that is just plain. There is always action, in every chapter Alex is either fighting or running away from a mad man. I read all of the books at least twice and they are amazing!
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byRavenP March 16, 2010

Great Book for Older Teens

Great plot and extremely interesting to read. But it is somewhat violent (not really excessive, considering the genre and plot). Not for preteens and probably not young teens, either.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages