Parent reviews for Stormbreaker: Alex Rider Adventures, Book 1

Common Sense says

British teen spy saves England in exciting thriller.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 21 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 71 reviews
Adult Written byFireball G. April 18, 2018

Some iffy parts

I have read this entire series and there are some things i think people should know. As said in another review the book Eagle Strike Uses the word p**n and talks about similar mature topics.
The series also includes drug and human trafficking in Snakehead. The book uses minor swear words like damn and hell quite a few times. If your kid is at an appropriate age this book is for them.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byjohnny11 September 24, 2020

Amazing but for mature audiences

I'm shocked to hear that there's 8 year olds out there reading this. Exciting and gripping, a thrill ride from start to finish, but not kid-friendly. I've read up to the seventh book, and there's not a single book without druggies, drunks and violence. Truly captivating, but definitely a middle-grade read.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byCarrie S. April 23, 2021

Suicide by gun?!

My child has been reading this in the school library and brought one home. He read it in an hour: book candy: lame! I looked through it and in the Skeleton Key (number 3?) someone shoots himself in the head with a gun on the fourth to the last page and before that, you think he shoots Alex point blank. These are violent, gory, inappropriate and poorly written. No thanks!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byMC4723 November 21, 2020

Teen age

It’s like 11+

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byJay45 December 5, 2019

School library

Just a bit shocked to find this book coming home from the primary school library. It is jam packed full of guns and 'wasting children'. And as one reader said that's not great in light of recent (and not so recent) shootings. Also not that appropriate for this age having the main bad guy saying to a woman in the book that he would like to give her one! I think theres a lot of topics that need to be discussed with your child, so they dont think that any of this is an okay way to act in the real world. Other viewers also say the first book is the least violent too. Yes, lots of action in the first and I can see that appeals, as I admit wanting to watch older exciting stuff when I was young (and now), but glad I took it steady. Wow, what will happen in the next ones, as violence seemed to be ever present in the first. I'm not sure what happened to childhood innocence and magic. Yes, great for older kids and James Bond-esque, but definitely a tad older than 11.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byNickyC November 6, 2019

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byNerdybookworm45889 November 24, 2018

It's a really good book

I think it's a good book for children. It's like a very toned down version of James Bond. I think it should be kids ten and up because of, obviously, some mature themes, such as guns, violence, etc. but it honestly isn't so bad. If your child is sensitive to these kinds of things, obviously they shouldn't read it but if they won't become overly upset over it, then its fine. You should reinforce the idea that the books are fiction, just in case.
Overall, really good! Loved the books, although the movie was horrible. Anthony Horowitz is a really good author and I would definitely recommend checking out more of his books.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Adult Written byKaris M. August 29, 2018

Action-packed Spy Adventure

Stormbreaker is an enjoyable action-packed spy adventure. The violence did not seem like too much until the climax scene where a gun-shooting saves the day. This story was written over 10 years ago so the author couldn't have known, but in light of recent school-shootings, I regret this part of the plot. Also, Alex is very much a lone hero (as opposed to a lot of middle-grade books with a pair of heroes). While at times he doubts his ability to pull off the mission, at other times he thinks he knows better than his superiors. He also expresses feeling unappreciated for his work. That said, I would recommend this book to kids who like a fast-paced action story.
Adult Written byBookie2005 August 11, 2018

LOVE IT

I'm 13 and I think the Alex Rider series is amazing I've just started reading book 3 (Skeleton Key) and I'm loving it, I have noticed that in other reviews several people have said that it is extremely violent, and to those people I say "if you don't want violence in the book you are giving to your child then I suggest that you get them a book that is not about BIDDLY SPIES" (you will that last joke if you've read the first book) The series is amazing so far but I have heard that there is mention of pornography in the 4th book eagle strike, also there is mention of drugs in the beginning of Book 2 point Blank,in the same book there are also multiple people who smoke, there is mild swearing such as the words damn and hell, I suggest these books should only be read by people aged 13/14 and over, the only reason I haven't given 5 Stars is because I find the twists predictable but as far as I can tell that's only a problem for me personally, as I have multiple friends who have also had the series and found all the twists completely unpredictable, overall the series is amazing and I completely suggest getting it for your teenager for a birthday Christmas or any other occasion, as I have said multiple times I believe it is an amazing series and I can't put the books down! ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Adult Written byTheoDoyp March 5, 2016

Stormbreaker review

I really enjoyed this book, it had a likable protagonist and great action sequences. I own all the books and have started reading the second and so far so good! Parents need to know it does include lots James - Bond -style violence but isn't described graphically.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byteamdietrich January 10, 2015

Reluctant Readers Rejoice

It is hard to find books for boys. Especially at this age. Being a series makes it even better.
It is a kid's james bond
Adult Written byMaggie1018 November 12, 2014

A Great Thriller

This book is full of twists and turns and will have you hooked in the first few pages. The plot is filled with action, adventure, and deceit. It is about Alex Rider, a young fourteen year old boy, is dragged into the dark world of spies and espionage when his uncle, who happened to be a MI6 agent, is murdered.
The plot is very mysterious, leaving cryptic clues everywhere. You will try to guess what happens next, but usually you will be wrong because the plot is very intelligent and unpredictable. It is filled with lots of suspense. The book does contain some violent scenes like Alex shooting a few people, a woman who is shocked to death by a giant jellyfish, and Alex crashing a plane. The scenes do not contain very graphic descriptions, though. Alex is very similar to James Bond, like the teenage version of him. He is always has witty comebacks, ninja fighting skills, lots of endurance, and a good heart.
Although it is such a great thriller book, it contains some bad points too. For example, it drops a lot of labels throughout the book. Since this book is for children and teens, I don't like how it says that Alex wears Nike and Gap clothing, ect. It is a bit annoying. Also, the characters are not very developed. They only really have one trait and everything they do revolves around the trait. Alex is also not very human. He knows many different languages, has a black belt in Karate, completed MI6 training (which usually takes six months according to the book) in seven days, has superhuman strength and speed, and is incredibly intelligent. This makes him pretty much flawless, and I think that makes some parts of the book confusing and it is slightly annoying.

Overall, this would be a fun and exciting book for younger readers, but it would not appeal as much to more mature readers.
Adult Written bybethanyr October 13, 2014

Amazing

This book is an amazing because his parents die and his uncle dies and he has no where to live and you should definitely read it but I think you should he over 11 or 11 because it has some things younger people don't understand, so, yes you should buy this book and then you will find out about where he lived.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Parent of a 2, 5, 9, and 11-year-old Written bykookykids January 30, 2011

I think you should read it ages 10 - 14

I think it's a great book, but the violence is pretty extreme! I would love it even more if less people we shot and the violence was put to a limit. After all i'm only 11 but LOVE to read! I think the book is great, but parents might need to read it first for less advanced readers.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent of a 13-year-old Written byohya August 17, 2010
its just a book,come on

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byRavenP March 16, 2010

Great Book for Older Teens

Great plot and extremely interesting to read. But it is somewhat violent (not really excessive, considering the genre and plot). Not for preteens and probably not young teens, either.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written bysasuk12124 March 2, 2009

i love the book

I'm right now reading scorpia
Adult Written byGrainne April 9, 2008

Exciting, but violent

These books would be exciting for teens, but be forewarned the violence is pretty extreme. Hardly any of the adults are trustworthy.
Adult Written byjohnnydogmatic April 9, 2008

Cool stuff for teens

My daughter and I are Brits now living in - and loving! - the US. These books are written by Anthony Horowitz, a prolific and very talented serious drama writer for British TV. However he makes time to write the Alex Rider series I don't know, but they are all good, if...as the review says...a little farfetched. There is violence but in a definite good versus evil way - hugely enjoyable and imaginative.
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

Great to Read together with your kids

I loved this book and also the series. We had it on CD and listen to it on a long road trip. It is an interesting and exciting yarn for both parent and kids.
While there is some violence, it is tame compared to anything that is seen on cartoon network.
Both my boys have read the entire series from cover to cover. The page turning narrative is wonderful in so far as it promotes the idea of reading for pleasure. That's hard to do if you have to compete with an xbox.

Pages