All parent member reviews for Stormbreaker: Alex Rider Adventures, Book 1

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 2, 5, 9, and 11 year old Written bykookykids January 30, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I think you should read it ages 10 - 14

I think it's a great book, but the violence is pretty extreme! I would love it even more if less people we shot and the violence was put to a limit. After all i'm only 11 but LOVE to read! I think the book is great, but parents might need to read it first for less advanced readers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written byhbhurst October 2, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Very disappointed that there is a lot of bad language in this book and that common sense didn't catch the bad language in it. Money wasted.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 17, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
its just a book,come on
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great to Read together with your kids

I loved this book and also the series. We had it on CD and listen to it on a long road trip. It is an interesting and exciting yarn for both parent and kids. While there is some violence, it is tame compared to anything that is seen on cartoon network. Both my boys have read the entire series from cover to cover. The page turning narrative is wonderful in so far as it promotes the idea of reading for pleasure. That's hard to do if you have to compete with an xbox.
Adult Written byjohnnydogmatic April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Cool stuff for teens

My daughter and I are Brits now living in - and loving! - the US. These books are written by Anthony Horowitz, a prolific and very talented serious drama writer for British TV. However he makes time to write the Alex Rider series I don't know, but they are all good, if...as the review says...a little farfetched. There is violence but in a definite good versus evil way - hugely enjoyable and imaginative.
Adult Written byGrainne April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Exciting, but violent

These books would be exciting for teens, but be forewarned the violence is pretty extreme. Hardly any of the adults are trustworthy.
Adult Written byRavenP March 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Book for Older Teens

Great plot and extremely interesting to read. But it is somewhat violent (not really excessive, considering the genre and plot). Not for preteens and probably not young teens, either.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bysasuk12124 March 2, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

i love the book

I'm right now reading scorpia
Adult Written byHBTbird April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A books for boys!

I am a junior high librarian and am always trying to find books that will appeal to reluctant reader boys. I am happy to find a series that they will not only read but will recommend to their friends. Alex is a likable, wholesome character, who doesn't really want to be a spy and take over where his uncle left off. Yet he meets the challenge with determination and integrity. Violence, yes. But I'd put in a category with comic book action. And since the movie came out, girls will read it, too!
Adult Written byjbjb April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

fantastic!

I read this book and i lowved it with a passion. i recomend it to anyone and everyone!
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bybrendarose8 September 13, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

An entertaining premise is ruined by violence and sexual content.

This book was acceptable, but the rest of the series grows dark and edgy fast. Alex struggles with anger and depression. Images and experiences become increasingly violent. Eagle Strike, the 4th book, is violent. Additionally, it references pornography and prostitution in the red-light district of Amsterdam. A prostitute winks at Alex as he rushes past. I guess your child could read the first 2, maybe 3... but why start when you can't finish?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex