Kid reviews for The Giving Tree

Common Sense says

Classic, sensitive parable about selflessness.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 8+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 7+
Based on 13 reviews
Kid, 12 years old April 3, 2014

Terrifying book

The picture on the back will traumatize children for life, Jeff Kinney was right.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byTripFoot November 18, 2013

Don't be fooled

A toxic relationship disguised as a sentimental children's book. I just... no. No.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 12 years old December 11, 2011

The Giving Tree

You can have different views on this book. Personally i think its beautiful and simple but every word has its own meaning, and the meanings are deep, and can make you think. If you read this book in the wrong way, for example if you think the tree is too selfless and kind, and easily gets satisfied for someone elses needs and not for her, guarantee you'll end up not liking it. If you read it in the other way, the way where the tree is so innocent and happy and is loving, you might just love it the way i do. Dont let other opinion put you down because at the end of the day, they are not going to benefit from loving or hating, so just go with the flow : ) Hope i helped from a 12 year old girl, Selwa xxx

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 2 years old June 15, 2011

Great way to introduce your kids about unconditional love and giving!

The giving tree is a very sweet yet sad story. But it has an important message! It teaches all to remeber to love and give unconditionally and not to take others love and giving for granted. It shows the repercutions of doing so. Great opritunity to explain these morals to your children and a good reminder for the parents once in a while.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byZia Blood-Irken March 5, 2014

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byShellq August 31, 2011

Positive

i read this book a million times and your able to read it to all age groups.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 10 years old October 13, 2010

the giving tree

the book is gret the kids will love it
Teen, 14 years old Written byTurtlefriend March 25, 2010

Perfect for all ages

i absoutely love this book it is one of my favorite childern's books and i think it is apporite for all ages IN FACT i am doing a storytelling of this book so if you are reading this review I SAY it is apporite for all ages not only 4 and up read it to your 1,2 and 3yr olds they will love it!!!! OH and i know i put 2+ but 1+

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old January 23, 2010

Beautiful

This book is so sad! I love this book but it is very sad.Love the author very creative and beautiful writer.
Kid, 8 years old July 8, 2017

A good book

Sweet story with great pictures, creative characters and love .A sad little life.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Kid, 12 years old March 12, 2018

Great Values

This is a book about a tree giving everything they have for a boy. Older kids will notice his different needs as he gets older. Very nice story for all ages.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byBrigidArmbrust July 14, 2018
Teen, 14 years old Written byJojo_010 January 14, 2019
I think this book is for ages 4+. For me I think this is one of the worst books I’ve ever read.I think this because for me I look in kids picture books as fun and colorful. This book was only black and white. This book was black and white so you wouldn't focus on the pictures and you would focus on the words and the meaning behind it. The meaning is for when you take you need to give something in return (not to be greedy). I would not recommend the book for anyone because for little kids they wouldn’t get the meaning behind it and for older kids it's just to simple.