Kid reviews for The Thief Lord

Common Sense says

A modern version of the shipwrecked story.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 6 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 33 reviews
Teen, 16 years old Written byTressino April 21, 2011
Teen, 15 years old Written byShinjo April 9, 2008

This is a superb book that took great, suprising turns!

This is a great book that everyone ages 9 and up will love. There is so much going on and it makes you want to stay up all night to finish! I loved how things turned out much differently then most books, like the hero suddenly became a shameful stealer, and the others learn to forgive. A great lesson and book for all!
Teen, 13 years old Written by666wolfgirl September 25, 2009

I love it!

This book is really awesome! It's creatively-written and indeed a page-turner. It grabs your attention and won't let it go, even to the very last page. The movie is also interesting, too. I didn't realize The Thief Lord was a book until I watched the movie. When I noticed it was written by Cornelia Funke, it was something I just HAD to read. She's a brilliant author and one of my favorites.
Teen, 14 years old Written byChaos7 January 29, 2011
This is my favorite book in the world, maybe due to the fact that I myself am Italian and the book is set in the most magical city in the world (it teaches alot about Venice, its history and myths, and the customs and traditions of the people that live there). The characters are wonderful and well structured, and Prosper takes care of his little brother Bo like any father would. Scipio (my favorite character in ANY book), even though he is really the son of a very wealthy Dottore (doctor), does whatever he can to help the orphaned street kids. Victor (another one of my favorites), the kindhearted detective who is hired to find Prosper and Bo, agrees to help the kids after learning about their Aunt Esther's cruel intentions to split the brothers up. There are plenty of negative characters, and the kids do steal, but this is understandable considering that they have no other options (they also later kidnap Victor under circumstances that I can't explain here without giving away the whole book; however they are not unkind to him). There is a lot of fighting, and Ida Spavento, the kind lady who later takes the orphans in after a series of complicated events, smokes a lot and there is a passing mention or two of alcahol. The book also has a slightly eerie feel to it, and there are quite a few very creepy scenes in it. However it is a wonderful book about friendship, family, and helping others even under dangerous circumstances. MY FAVORITE BOOK EVER!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMiranda B. January 16, 2011

An adventurous tale told in one of the world's most beautiful cities.

Although the main children steal, they only steal enough to survive among the winding pathways and canals of beautiful Italy. Prosper and Bo are to be admired at how they managed to get to Italy all the way from America only having a general idea of what the country looks like from the mother's stories. United under one ruler, what will they do when the Thief Lord's real identity is revealed? I loved reading this book because it reminds me of how I use to imagine what it would be like to survive on my own in a big city and whether I'd have the strength to do it or not. That's my wild imagination for you! :)
Kid, 9 years old April 20, 2013

the truth

i am only on chapter 47 but it's the best book i've ever read.it gives educational value because when Scipio sneaks sneaks out and lies to his dad his friend gets taken to an orphanage and then ida and victor lies to get Caterina [hornet] out of the orphanage so to me that to me teaches kids like me to not lie because one lie can lead to another lie and also lies can lead to trouble and out of trouble so people shouldn't lie even if you can get out of it. best book ever.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byShooter913 December 13, 2012

THE OK BOOK FOR KIDS

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOKKKKKKKKKKKKK Book This is a ok book for kids all over the world

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 9, 2011

Fine.

This book was very well-written. The story was... interesting, I will give it that. There was a nice cast of characters and it taught me some Italian. BUT... it was very boring, in my opinion. Over one-hundred pages were used for describing the life of the kids, their habits, who they are, and eventually a bit of excitement gets poured into it. It is very realistic except for the end, which I found to be quite weird. Overall, the book is a nice read. But nothing extremely exciting happens. I gave it three stars because I was able to get through it, and because I could still enjoy it at times.

This title contains:

Language
Educational Value
Teen, 14 years old Written byrocketgirl April 9, 2008

This book was somewhat slow moving so you had to be pulled in to like it.

The Thief Lord was a book where it seemed that they where telling two stories at once. You really had to experience something like it to have it be your #1 book. It is a book that is a strange mix of reality and fantasy combined. The main plot is about two brothers who run away to Venice and meet four orphan street kids who take tham in as family. As the story goes on secrets are told, promises are made and many other exciting, maybe even sad events take place. Have fun reading!
Teen, 13 years old Written byMr.Whale April 11, 2013

The Thief Lord. good or bad for students? what i have to say.

when I had to choose between 30 different books for a school assignment, I immediately went for this book. I chose the book because Cornelia Funke is one of my favorite authors. "Dragon Rider" one of her other books I thought was really amazing and lots of fun to read. this book had disappointed me in many ways such as not having allot of cliff hangers, not many interesting things to go with the story or plot, and because it didn't have that magical element that Dragon Rider hooked me with. the characters I thought were very interesting however the plot along with them made me want to go do something else more fun and that will keep my mind active. so overall I am giving this book a 2 of 5 because I thought it would be much better than what I had expected. so, if you do choose this book you may like it if you are a big mystery fan but if you are choosing this because you have read Dragon Rider I tell you that it is not as exciting and you may finding yourself wanting to put it down

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byCelticGirl February 27, 2011

Good Book-Inkworld books are better

This is a good book. The kids steal, though. Prosper and Bo want to stay together, and the rest of the kids are like a family. They welcome Bo and Prosper into their group. When they find out that The Thief Lord is actually rich, they are mad at him, but then they make up. The end is sad though, and I don't want to give it away, but I will say that it almost made me cry. Overall, it is a good book.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old November 9, 2010

Lovely

I love this book to bits. It's perfectly written, and has good role models in it. (like Prosper, the main character, is like a father to his little brother, and he teaches him good things like not to steal) I love it and recommend it to everyone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bykaratedude April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old April 4, 2013

my review

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCliff Hanger January 16, 2011

Fantastic!

Amazing! This book is absolutley mid blowing. t teachs you Italian too! This is definatley one of my all time favorite books. You have to read it!

This title contains:

Language
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Kid, 10 years old June 24, 2010

not for kids!!

I started reading it but I didn't like it.At one part a little boy has a gun!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

Exelent

I read The Theif Lord and I couldn't put it down. Several kids in my class are reading it too and I can see why.The are thrills surprises adventure mystery. I couldn't put it down. I would not suggest this book to anyone under the 6th grade I'm in 6th grade and Sme kids in my class had to re-read it. They throw in some Italian so it can be hard to understand but all in all it's one of the best books I have read. ( If you enjoy this try reading Oliver Twist)
Kid, 9 years old December 4, 2017

A Very Creative and Exciting Book!

Cornelia Funke did a great job creating an engrossing story that readers will just devour. Including not the best positive messages in the world, but pretty good role models, and all the suspense everyone longs for, this is sure to be awesome Book among all the bookworms out there. You'll love this outstanding novel! P.S. Parents you should know that this book is about child and teenage thieves
Teen, 14 years old Written byDravenW August 6, 2017

Absolutely Amazing

I didn't read this book until I was older, but I didn't have to wait. It is sweet, magical, and a wonderful story with wonderful characters. To really get into this book I think 11 would be the best age to start, because there are hidden deep concepts that are difficult to understand when you are younger. As a slightly older reader, I was able to form opinions and connections with the characters and understand there intentions and feelings better. However, it might be to kiddish for readers who are older and seek more thrilling tales. It is an easy going story that would resonate best with the 11-13 age group in my opinion.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 10 years old March 29, 2010

Pages