All parent member reviews for Twilight: The Twilight Saga, Book 1

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 152 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bysakuuya October 17, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
I cannot fathom the reason Bella is held up as a positive role model for teen girls. For all her pretensions to intelligence and independence, she is shockingly anti-feminist, and Edward is far from the ideal boyfriend. Throughout the Twilight series, Bella defines herself solely through relationships with boys. Because her one "flaw" is incredibly exaggerated clumsiness, she is unable even to walk across a patch of ice without Edward to protect her. Her interests? Edward. Her goals? Edward. Her dreams? Edward. In a later book, when Edward leaves, she engages in suicidal behavior in an attempt to win him back. For his part, Edward shows several signs of abusiveness. He breaks into her house to watch her sleep, refuses to let her spend time with her other friends, and even breaks her truck so she'll have to depend on him for transportation. Additionally, he's emotionally unstable. He continually tells her how dangerous he is, but spends time with her anyway; Bella also describes his "sudden mood changes [which] left me always a step behind, dazed." None of this would be too bad for older kids if it wasn't presented so appealingly. Bella is too vacuous and ignorant to realize the danger of her situation. She even idealizes Edward, and since the book is written from her point of view, the reader is treated to endless descriptions of how perfect he is. But he is, as discussed above, far from a positive influence, and the way the book idealizes his relationship with Bella is frankly dangerous. Twilight goes farther than simply telling girls that it doesn't matter if their boyfriend is controlling and unstable; it holds such an unhealthy relationship up as the ideal.
Educator and Parent of a 9, 12, 14, and 22 year old Written bySunniemom March 21, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Emotional porn

Amazingly misogynistic for a story embraced by so many girls and women. The typical pattern of an abused woman is to 1) prefer the pain of the relationship rather than being without the person 2) make excuses and take the blame for the abuse. Bella fits the bill, being drawn to a man (who is what-114 years old? Like, ew!) who is dangerous to her, feeling 'unworthy' of his love (exactly what is so special about Edward besides his looks?), enduring his controlling behavior and blaming herself for it. She lies to all of her friends and to her parents. Not a good role model. Meyer indulges in an overabundance of adjectives and flowery language, and it leaves one a bit wrung out. Hearing about Edward's eyes for the umpteenth time left me wanting to poke them out. Give me a break already. It wasn't awful, but it certainly wasn't great. This may be, on the surface, a light fantasy story, but the message is not a healthy one for young girls. It's emotional porn for the tween set. Read it WITH your girls and explain the problems with Bella's behavior.
Parent Written byamomof2girls October 25, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Maybe ok for high school age kids, but not elementary!!

I am glad to see there are others who saw what I saw when I read this book, as a parent previewing it for my young daughters. My 5th grade daughter was begging me to read it because all of her friends had and a couple of moms whom I would usually trust said, "Oh, Twilight is harmless!" But for me, as a single mom who has just left an abusive relationship, the negative messages of this book stood out as ones my young daughters don't need to be exposed to, especially when they are being glorified. There is way too much desire in this novel for young girls to be reading about, let alone the fact that Bella desires someone who is dangerous, and she is more than willing to ignore the danger in the name of love. This is not a sweet, innocent love story, and I am amazed at how many VERY young girls are not only reading this series and watching the movie, but are obsessed with it, and their parents don't see it as a problem. We need to open our eyes with our daughters at this age and think about what we are teaching them about the world and how they, as women in it, should expect to be treated.
Adult Written byVampireGirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A must read for anyone above the age of 12 and who loves Vampires

Honestly while reading this I totally fell in love will all books vampire. The idea of Edward Cullen the seeming less flawless teenager makes any teenager girl love him. The idea of being a vampire at first is exploited as something great but as we go more into the story we learn about Edward's struggle with the want to be good and not kill mortals. This also shows his attraction to Bella. The "Common Sense" review sounds as if whoever reported on this didn't read the actual book. The book engrosses you from beginning to end. Some parts may be slightly "sappy" but its a romance/fantasy what do you expect? Stephanie Meyer did an amazing job writing this vampire story. No, this is not a classic vampire love story. Trust me I've read so many of those. Usually it involves a vampire slayer who hates the vampire its-self and tries to kill it, they fall madly in love and run away to have an amazing romance somewhere else. Also if you feel the need to complain that this isn't sending the right message actually read the book. Edward refuses to turn Bella into a vampire, insisting that it would be unbearably painful and unenjoyable. He is also worried about her soul. Then when Alice describes how to become a vampire she describes it as very painful. I see no reason why "common sense" would rate this as a bad book. It seems to me as if "common sense" should review only books and movies for small children as they seem to shoot down everything MEANT for teenagers to read saying that it is inappropriate. Well its better to read a book like this then to get into trouble, smoking or doing drugs, don't you think? This book is amazing and very well written, the message isn't "bad" at all and the "use of drugs" is not a problem. Now if your child is so easily influenced to say "oh Bella drank cold medicine to go to sleep I'm going to drink a whole bottle" I suggest you teach them the principal of not doing everything they see on TV or read in a book. Reading the review "common sense" wrote made me almost throw up. In all of the descriptions I have seen of this book it has said for ages 12 and up. I believe that this book deserves a 5 star rating for its amazing imagery, plot line, and character detail. Read this book!!!
Parent of a 7 and 12 year old Written byelinor dashwood March 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

critic to fan

A former critic, I am astonishingly now a fan. This book/series is sort of Jane Eyre meets X-men saga; it tells the story of a humble, kind, introverted girl who feels incomplete and longs for home, love, connection, intimacy, family, and agency. Within a simple 'boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl again' tale there are many layers. To explain the book's appeal and artistry I strongly recommend the Granger lectures on Ancient Faith Radio. Bella, with her shy, self-effacing manner and intense first love, is not a model of career woman efficiency. This is a fairy tale parable of opening our hearts to love, and allowing that love to transform us. This tale is also a coming of age story. We see a smart, capable girl grow up, mature, make her decisions, and blossom. That she chooses being a wife and mother as her adult priority is probably the single most controversial aspect of this book. Now read my earlier negative review from years ago - written in a knee jerk reaction after having read the book only once. My previous review: "Bella is a poor role model for chastity, honesty, and self-care: The book was suspenseful and erotic, but morally 'junk food'. WHY are parents letting young girls read this? Bella pursues only her infatuation w/ the vampire. She makes no female friends; she has no career plans; no extracurricular interests, no religious practice; no sports; no job. She has no interest outside of wanting to give her body to the older powerful attractive male - even if he kills her. She lies to and deceives her father. She hides her boyfriend in her bed at night as he passionately and dangerously kisses her neck. Bella is not an upstanding role model for a young girl." Obviously my feminist hackles were raised the first read through, but strangely enough I delight in the book now and have read the series through several times. In fact I really like everything S. Meyer wrote: The Twilight series, The Host, and especially, Midnight Sun (book 1 from Edward's voice) downloadable from her website. And I no longer think Bella's physical desire for Edward is inappropriate for teens to read. Humans feel desire. What matters is how we handle it. Bella and Edward's restraint and choice of chastity is more of an accomplishment b/c it did take effort. Bella and Edward are fine role models - their maturation takes 4 books, so don't judge them too soon. If interested in the inner life, popular culture, or the power of story to transform, I strongly recommend you read or listen to John Granger on both Twilight, Hunger Games, and Harry Potter at hogwarts professor site.
Adult Written byKimberlie_Rock September 25, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
I'm not even going to go into Twilight's structural issues (the plot is badly organized) and grammatical errors (there are plenty). The main problem I have with this book is the main character, Bella. She is a one-dimensional, weak female character. She is completely obsessed with, and submissive to, her controlling and jealous boyfriend, Edward. The "love" Edward has for Bella, doesn't seem to be love at all. What they have between them is emotionally abusive and more closely resembles a power struggle than a respectful relationship. I can't imagine allowing young girls to read this book, or any other in the series, without a serious discussion about what being in love with another person really entails.
Parent Written byBluewaffle McFapFap July 6, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Inspirational love

Twilight is an emotional journey about a decision a girl has to make. The difficult decision between necrophilia or beastiality.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byEissen February 24, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It's about necrophilia... how is that a 'highlight' for anyone?

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byBlueside09 February 22, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Edward and Bella's relationship is a textbook for emotional abuse.
Adult Written byCrystallia November 12, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Don't read it until you're older

The relationship between the two protagonists at a glance seems romantic, but the messages the book sends out is a definitely abusive relationship between two young adults who aren't ready for a relationship yet. The main protagonist dedicates her life to him. He tells her he loves her, but then to go away. Not very healthy. I don't think this book is good at all; it was a long, drawn-out read. The characters had very little depth; paper thin, one might say. Younger children, whom are easily influenced, should avoid this series due to the messages it sends out. As a vampire fan myself, I found Meyer's 'creations' to be a FAR cry from folklore and myth; PLEASE do not think of this as a good vampire romance, as it is not even close to it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 13 year old Written bygrandjjsmom January 31, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Entertaining story for 17+ written by grownups for grownups

Mrs. Meyer is a young, prolific 34 year old author with NO teenage children. I'd like to know for whom she writes these books.
Parent of an infant, 3, and 9 year old Written by00lylie06 November 10, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great for teens and up...

As an adult I absolutely LOVE this book. It has very mild content, but it's a romance novel and I just don't see why children younger than their teens would be (or should be) into it. I personally don't think romance is an appropriate subject for younger children.
Adult Written byLauraHopalong April 21, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I wouldn't present it to a daughter of mine.

I work in a bookstore. So, of course, I have read the Twilight series. The story itself is captivating at first read when it is not thoroughly examined. Now that I have looked back on what I've read; I have to say that I really cannot stand the book! The series features the main character, Bella, as being controlled by her vampire boyfriend, Edward. He controls nearly every aspect of her life and ignores what she has to say about their relationship if it goes against his own desires. It teaches young girls that romance is when you give your entire being over to a boy to the point where you go catatonic when he leaves you. That is not what a healthy love relationship is. We should be teaching girls that they need to be complete in themselves, not that they need a boyfriend to complete their souls. Upon learning that the author is Mormon, I wasn't all that surprised. In the end, I have to say that I wouldn't give this to my daughter. I wouldn't forbid her from reading it, though I strongly dislike how it displays what romance "should" be. Girls, having a guy you don't know watch you sleep without knowing it is NOT ok. It's not romantic. It's creepy. (P.S. This is pretty badly written. It reads like she was pulling words from romance novels and had a thesaurus permanently at her side.)
Adult Written byAssaulta January 13, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A terrible, terrible message for any age group

This book idealizes abusive relationships, as well as being incredibly misogynist. Bella's vampire boyfriend is controlling, manipulative and BREAKS INTO HER HOUSE TO WATCH HER SLEEP WITHOUT HER KNOWLEDGE OR PERMISSION. This is never portrayed as anything except romantic. Bella herself is selfish and rude to everyone around her, except her boyfriend whom she obeys without a second though. These are not role models for children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6, 11, and 12 year old Written bysadsmile October 8, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Conservative-thumbs down!!!

Total dangerous and suspenseful romance. There are a lot of occasions of close contact and sexual tension. Passionate kissing or wanting to there bodies pressed against each other.. Bella even somewhat bounces back and forth for two guys. Lying to parents happens a few times. This connected to too much to passion and sexual longing and being attracted to danger. I am conservative and my kids are not reading this!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written bykirstenluise September 28, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Unhealthy messages about obsession

Ok this is a good book. I read the whole thing because another parent showed my daughter the movie when she was a guest at a ninth birthday party. I was NOT happy about this. She has been arguing with me about it ever since. The book is a page turner for sure. But it also reminded WAY too much of being a teenage girl and the status associated with having a boyfriend, and how easy it is to get wrapped up in the relationship and push away friends and families concerns. Teenage girls are too vulnerable about this stuff. This book gives the wrong message.
Adult Written byhershylvr April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent Written bykimcsw April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byjennifer521 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

good entertainment

Twilight is not the kind of book I usually read, but I couldn't put it down, and then ran right out and bought New Moon, which was even better and more entertaining. I'll be first in line to pick up the next one, and I am looking forward to finding out how this sort of "moral dilema" turns out. There is no reason other than pure entertainment to read this book. It's and easy read, and I recommend it to everyone, from my 11 yr old son, to my grandma. My 13 yr old daughter has read it 3 times in 9 days and I finally grounded her from it so she'd get her chores done! It's fun.
Adult Written byPelloneus December 19, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I read Twilight when I was about fifteen years old (I'm 18 now) and I rather enjoyed it at the time. Within the course of a month or two, though, I started to realize just how ridiculous of a book it was. Edward, the heartthrob of nearly every little pre-teen Twilight fan out there, is quite possibly one of the poorest examples of a boyfriend that I have ever seen. He is excessively possessive and jealous. He's controlling. He slashed Bella's tires so that she couldn't go see a male friend of hers (because he is a werewolf and male.) He also dumped Bella by taking her out into some woods (which he previously mentioned were dangerous) and LEAVING HER THERE. Now, on to Bella herself. She's the main protagonist in the story, and I have yet to notice an ounce of intelligence or inner strength within this girl. She's whiny. She's helpless. She basically disregards everyone who's nice to her as long as she can be with super-hot Edward. She's okay with the fact that Edward watches her in her sleep, and is totally fine with the fact that he's a vampire. She's basically one of the poorest role models that I have ever seen. The Twilight series offers a lot of negative values to pre-teens in particular, who are at an awkward and impressionable age. The series shows that you can get what you want by moping around and whining, that romance is more important than family/friends, that appearance is more important than personality, and that it is okay for significant others to be jealous and possessive (as long as they're hot.) Overall, I found the series to be alarmingly full of poor morals, unlikeable characters, and a thin storyline with over-used adjectives and poor grammar. I will not say, "Don't read this series!" but I will say, "Read at your own risk."
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages