Kid reviews for Where the Wild Things Are

Common Sense says

Classic all-ages masterpiece has a wild imagination.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 3+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 4+
Based on 18 reviews
Written byAnonymous September 7, 2021

If not a bit scary, still is a good book -- promotes imgination

This book is a bit more frightening than most kid's friendly classic book. I did enjoy how this book promoted imagination -- that is a strong theme/part of the book. I feel like this book may be too scary for young ones? But overall, this book is a fun-thrilling book to read which promotes using your imgination.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Kid, 10 years old August 28, 2018

First ever Common Sense review

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byRivkaBobble July 18, 2016

Amazing!

This adorable tale is about Max, a boy who gets sent to bed without supper after threatening to eat his mom. He then goes on a journey through his imagination, visiting the wild things and befriending them. The story is very good, and is a story kids would want to read over and over again.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byhannah.vincent.2002 May 31, 2015
Kid, 12 years old December 6, 2013

Imagination has a limited time.

This book shows kids that they can have their own imagination and know when to quit.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Kid, 12 years old November 14, 2013

Great book for all ages.

Where the wild things is a fascinating book, if you take the time to look through it. For example on page 2 there is a picture on the wall of a monster that Max meets later on in his dream. The monsters will not give your children nightmares as they are round, soft and fluffy. This book is great for children and adults of all ages as adults can relate to their children acting like Max and the children can relate to wanting power.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byChelceh June 9, 2013

COOL BOOK :D

I liked this book, first time I read it, I didnt quite get the message but now that I looked in this website. I GET IT! xD

This title contains:

Educational Value
Kid, 10 years old August 10, 2012

Good book.

Our teacher read this to us in kindergarten. It was pretty good. Nothing bad.
-Samantha (chocolatecake123)

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byRosebud95 May 13, 2012

Nice

It's a good book. :)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written bygeekchic1396 December 2, 2011

calm down.please

people need to calm down. where the wild things are is definitely educational and quite honestly a classic children's book.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byIGotTheMagic May 3, 2011
My fav show! They absolutely must bring it back for a second season. Mild violence is as far as it goes and is recommended for anyone who craves a good thriller.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byemkat97 April 11, 2011

Good!

I was never a huge fan of this book and as a young child, the monsters kind of scared me even though they were supposed to be kind monsters. It is classic, however, and no child should miss out on it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 9 years old July 1, 2010

Classic.

I remember reading this in grade 1,i loved it and i still do.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 8 years old April 8, 2010

fun???????????????????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

not that good for older kids
Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist December 28, 2009

One of the best children't books.

I always loved this book when i was younger. It's not that scary; but the 'wild things' might be too scary for younger kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 10 years old December 18, 2009

great for everyone!

i love this book. could be the best book ever.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old October 20, 2009

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bycode2264 May 15, 2009

VERY GOOD! MUY BUENO!

a very good book
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008

Masterpiece...

The only bad things in this book are Max doing tons of horrible things. That is all I have to say about this wonderful book.