All parent member reviews for Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Parents say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written byFreet December 21, 2010

Excellent choice

Yet another excellent story by the superb author, John Green. This was the first one I read by this author and, while this isn't my favorite by him, (thought the ending wrapped up a little too neatly too fast) it was still a quite excellent read. I love this guy.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byhamstergurl09 August 18, 2012

Good

This is a good read. The plot of the story (or stories, really) is interesting and kept me engaged as a reader. The two Wills, John Green's Will Grayson and David Levithan's will grayson, were both unique and likeable in their own way. A lot of readers didn't like will grayson (the David Levithan one), but I did like that character. I thought he seemed genuine. Will Grayson (the John Green one) was funny and confused about things in a relatable way. Tiny Cooper tends to steal the show in this book, but the other characters are great, too. Some people don't like the swearing and sexual references in this book, but I thought the language and topics discussed seemed pretty typical of average high school students. I just wanted to point out to CSM user coolkid394 that "clavicle" is another word for "collarbone," and is not a sex term (because in coolkid394's review they mentioned "calvicle" as an allegedly inappropriate term in the book). There was a relationship that happened in the book (not gonna spoil it) that I didn't really like because I thought it seemed kind of fake. Overall, I liked this book. I'd recommend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byhungryparent November 30, 2010

iffy

Its a little disturbing
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written byOlivia Leone June 26, 2014

not his best work

I read this book because it was on a reading list in a group my daughter joined at the library. She is 11 and after I read it, she was not allowed to do so. Not appropriate. I didn't love this book, both the way it is written and the story didn't really build to the great changes that were supposed to occur after the two Wills meet. Definitely too profane for tweens and younger teens as well as discussion of masturbation and oral sex. More mature readers only.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bypopp October 25, 2010
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Educator Written byRobinSo February 5, 2011

Know your audience librarians

I listened to the audio and found it confusing at times. It wasn't always clear who was talking. I believe the premise is great for conversations in a book club setting and for reading on one's own. Much seemed like typical teen trials and tribulations. There words that I really didn't want to hear in an audio, but in print I would have jumped over them.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMehak Ejaz October 26, 2014

risqué,hillarious, and totally gay

Will Grayson, Will Grayson a story which melds the ridiculous with the realistic. It will have readers turning there pages and an absolute hilarious and moving novel when it comes to the matter of hearts. This novel has serious buzz essentially because of its two favorite young adult writers John Green and David Levithan. It’s got friendship, love, lust, anger, intrigue and pain. You can call the novel, ‘fabulous’. The story takes a real twist of events when two boys with the same name but totally different lives cross paths with each other. But who knew one showdown at a ‘porn store’ could transform their lives and in the end everything turned about right. Other than these two Will Grayson’s, Tiny Cooper is the secondary main character of this novel. The main thing of the novel is that it shows that a person changes due to extreme circumstances and they make mistakes, and its real life protégé based on regular teen life and that protégé is Tiny Cooper. But this novel has its beautiful colors everywhere and has made us laugh, cry, sad, depressed, ROFL and LOL. This book simply gives a smile and pleasure to our hearts. While the teen reader is rendering the novel, his life can so relate to the book of today’s generation which is mainly joined through social media. This generation knows the perks and curse of the internet unknown and fake social media which in the of the novel, o.w.g is also shown how he ends up heartbroken knowing that his boyfriend, Isaac, internet boyfriend, was actually her friend Maura while in the life of the first Will Grayson his love life gets set up by his friend, Tiny to Jane Turner which he likes himself. This story has some reference to sexual parts so the novel cannot be applicable to young readers under 15. Tiny Cooper ties the lives of the two Will Grayson’s in the end which makes him a hero and mostly everyone has an equal part in the story. No character can be hated in the story such a brilliance it has of the writer.The book shows the real life which cannot go happy-go-lucky because that is not what life is. You rise, you float, you fall and it repeats again like try-error-try…..and after fifteen or twenty times it might end with an it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byEscardo July 20, 2014

Should have content warning

The book is very well written but there should be a sexual content and topic warning.my son picked it up,I checked the back page and flicked through several pages and didn't see anything too untowards.how wrong I was!! Am pretty appalled that this is aimed at such a broad group as teen.my son handed it back to me ashen faced and told me he really didn't think it appropriate .
Adult Written byjhon brandon July 2, 2016

worst book

this is the worst book i have ever read it has no educational value because it is about homosexuality i am personally a homophobe if you want your kids to read about gay people you choose.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking