Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood

Common Sense says

Violent action game with mature themes is for adults only.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 52 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 98 reviews
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byHeyYall November 27, 2010

13+!!!

LOVE IT!!! Great game for 13s or 14s! The only problem is the cursing, the characters curse in Italian, but if translations are turned off, then your child will hear none of this. "Cazzo" was used(Im not going to tell you what that means) as was "fortity" and "merda" just turn off translations... and POOF! you have a "T" rated game! Sex is also maybe an issue, in the game there are several prostitutes, but there is not interaction between you and them. Also, the protagonist sleeps with a lady early on in the game, but there is no nudity, although actions are implied. Short of that, I find this game fine for a mature 13 year old. Besides, they are learning all about the sexual issues in this game in 6th grade!(at least, mine did, and I live in Maryland)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Educational Value
Adult Written byMr. Brooks (teacher) June 2, 2011

From a teachers view

this game is just like assassins creed 2 where language is not a prolem persuades a few words such as ba-trd,h-ll and d-m which are spoken in italian. The only isssue is blood which can be turned of at the in game menu. Although due to the moral of the story this game is not suitble for ages UNDER 13 I am also a parent with two kids 14 and 10 years old and am a full time highschool teacher an i let my 14 year old play when he was 13 and that is the only MA+15 that he is aloud to play because there no guns and because of the educational value. The PC version has also had many graphic scenes removed

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Parent of a 11 year old Written byAwesome10 May 14, 2011

Perfect for kids 10+

I mean it really isnt that bad, you can turn the blood off and skip all the videos which is really way its rated M. But it is really educational, and the vilonce isn't that bad. I mean there are more perverted jokes in a fith grade class, and same with the language. You dont even know what their saying if you turn the subtitles off. I say this is a perfect game for kids 10 and up.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bybobby2 February 4, 2011

Is k but only for like 12 and up

good kids game really good. elmo is the main character and he has assassin ninja blades.;.... no i'm just joking though, really the "sexual themes" aren't as bad as everyone is saying. The only real bad part is the scene in the beginning which you can skip and the courtesans aren't even that bad either. Really it just comes down to violence... and you can turn off the blood so aside from small references of sex you can really just see a game that's violent. Lego Star Wars is violent, it's not bad. Yes, I know it's worse than that but think of the title ASSASSIN. I mean really you should be expecting that. anyway i thought i can help.
Adult Written byavidgamerdad January 28, 2011

Not Apporopriate

If you have played the first two then you have played the third one. The sexual content and foul language increases with every game while the violence is present at the same in all three. Not for your kids and should be strongly discouraged in adults too.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byBMU November 24, 2010

Premeditated assassinations are not 'OK' for younger kids

I'm a little surprised at the "on" rating for age 13+ from 'parents and educators.' Unlike, say, Halo 3, which imo really was fine for younger kids despite its M rating, this one is fully deserving of its M badge. The assassinations are premeditated, up close and personal and accompanied by a detailed short cutscene showing a knife piercing out through the person's chest, followed by a quick spurt of blood, the victim's body realistically slumping with accompanying expression of pain and surprise - again and again. This is not "OK" for kids younger than 16.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byimatreblemaker May 25, 2014

Extremely disappointed

I bought this video game having already read the reviews on here and was still shocked at how much sexually explicit content there is on the game. We turned on the game and within the first 20 minutes or so their were people who were not just dressed suggestivelly or scantilly clad as the reviews lead you to believe, but barely covered at all and the manner in which they are covered is profane and lewd in some cases. For instance, the man throwing the party that the character has to walk through is dressed such that his being totally nude would almost be more modes. That's just one example, there are many others that could be easily identified and some that go even further. Additionally, at this same party, there is an extensive amount oof drinking, etc. going on and alluded to that is highly inappropriate. While I truly appreciate the reviews on this site, I think that this particular review did not go far enough in this case to describe the amount of sexually explicit images of the game. We never got past the first section because it was so inappropriate in the beginning I just couldn't allow it to continue.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written byGamerDad68 November 28, 2010

An excellent adventure story great for teens and adults

I recently played this game before my 14 year old did, and at first, I felt a little iffy, but I saw a great game which was appropriate for teens. Now, violence wise, it isn't anything more than Call of Duty or Halo, and most PG-13 movies are worse. As for language, it might have a few d-words in English, but for the most part, the worst words are in Italian, so unless you have the subtitles on, than it is fine. The sexual content in this game is very PG-13, with only one scene which a man and a women, both fully clothed, start to kiss. Nothing worse than movies such as Transformers or Star Trek. The prostitutes in this game are both fully clothed, and the player cannot do anything with them besides hire them to distract enemy guards. Overall, if Assassins Creed Brotherhood was a movie, it would surely be PG-13, because the content is really suitable for teens and adults.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive role models
Adult Written byTheDad99 January 28, 2013

Kids stay out of it

Way to much sex in it as in a cutseen a man sexually Attacks a woman saying " I'm sick and tired of having To open your legs" an then you attack the guy. Lots of assassinations to some bad and good guys. NOT FOR KIDS!!!!!!
Adult Written byredemption July 20, 2011

Great Games

Assassins creed brotherhood should not be a problem for a teen. Most reviews say the three problems are language, sex, and violence. The entire game includes less than 3 uses of the f word or s*** in English although there are many uses of h*ll, d*mn and other words that are not even bleeped out on tv. The violence consists of sword fighting and killing criminals with a knife. It is not more bloody than any shooting game out there and not something your kid will copy because the entire game is set in renaissance Italy hundreds of years ago. The sexual themes include a scene in which the main character is in bed with a woman but the scene fades out before any nudity is shown. Also you can hire prostitutes working in the streets to distract enemy guards so you do not have to fight them. All in all you could watch one episode of csi or burn notice which is rated tv-pg and see much worse things in all three areas of concern. For me the only thing I wasn't sure about was the theme that your child is controlling somebody who runs around a city performing premeditated assassinations. This kind of bugged me but than I thought it was better than many games that have you shooting people and many of those are rated T. Also all of the people you kill are historically real people who were weapon dealers, corrupt warlords, or other evil people with power. Hope this helped.
Adult Written byBattleVet75 July 3, 2013

An outstanding sequel

The story is excellent but is very short compared to AC 2. It also has an enhanced combat system which allows players to go on the offensive. The violence here is constant, intense, and bloody. Ther is stabbing, slicing, hacking, shooting, poisoning, and an instant in which a beloved character is shot point blank in the head. It may sound very bad, but is not as bad as other games. There is a quite graphics sex scene in slow motion in which you see the sillouette of a woman thrusting. The language is infrequent but graphic. It is an overall good game and is ok for 15 and up.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bygoodmom24 July 17, 2011

okay for 12 and up with sexual content turned off!

im the mom of two boys and they are 12 and14 and when they asked for this game i said no at first when i sexual content and language, big nono. but my husband rented it to try it and learned you can turn off blood,and make all bad language italian and you can SKIP ALL SEXUAL SCENES BY PRESSING THE START BUTTON ON THE XBOX REMOTE! so we then decided it was okay for our boys if you skip on language and sexual themes.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written bytlgeer February 2, 2013

A good game with a basis for historical research

As the title of the games shows - this is about assassin's. That means that violence and killing are definitely part of the game. I would start out playing the game with your child to make sure that they know that this is not reality. The majority of children already know this, but it's good to make sure. A lot of the buildings and people are taken from real life. What they actually are has been changed for the games. But it is a good learning experience to look up to see if the buildings were real and if the people were real and if they really did do the things that the games show. For instance the Auditore family, including Ezio, were not real. The Borgia's were definitely real, as were Machiavelli and Leonardo di Vinci. But their actions in this game did not (for the most part) take place. Ezio does not kill the innocent. He kills only what he is supposed to kill, and if the player misses and acidently kills an innocent, the game states that Ezio did not kill the innocent. If more innocents are killed the memory will restart. In fact, in the games he comes to the aid of women and children that need help. The programmers, also, gave him a great sense of humor. Some other reviewer mentioned the paintings. These were done by the Painter Raphael. They are considered classics. This would be another learning experience for both parents and children. Finding out who Raphael was, where he lived and what the period was like. In Assassin's Creed II, there were a lot of Classics done by various artists. Another learning experience is that the Templar's were not, in real life, the bad guys, and the term hashishiyya or hashishi as used by Muslim sources is used metaphorically in its abusive sense (i.e. "irreligious social outcasts", "low-class rabble", etc.). "The literal interpretation of this term in referring to the Nizaris (as hashish consuming intoxicated assassins) is rooted in the fantasies of medieval Westerners and their imaginative ignorance of Islam and the Ismailis. These supposedly medieval fantasies were still in vogue as late as 1990 until the publication of the ground breaking book on the Ismailis by the Twelver Shia author and researcher in original documents in Arabic and Persian that had been discovered in the late 20th century concerning the Ismailis in general and the Nizari Ismailis in particular. (This citation is from Daftary, Farhad (1990). The Ismailis: Their history and doctrines. Cambridge, England: Cambridge University Press. Page 13) The two sides in this game were not, in reality, rivals or enemies. It's just that you cannot have a game without good guys and bad guys. So creative license has been taken in order to make a very good game.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymikeisawesome123 January 7, 2011

Not for kids!!!

This is a good game. Violent, but you can turn off blood. There isn't much blood anyway. Cursing is a big problem and you can't turn it off. Sex is also a big problem!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 11 and 11 year old Written byFidgit77 January 18, 2011
I love this game, personally. I won't let my boys play it though. Not until they have defeated AC1 & 2. By then, I think they will be old enough. The violence doesn't bother me for my children, although you play as an assassin. You kill LOTS of people in many interesting ways.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byBlackMagick009 December 1, 2010

BEST MULTIPLAYER

The game is set in Roma, Italia. The setting is very educational to see how it was back in the day if you pay no mind to the fiction. All swear words are in italian, the blood can easily be turned off, would you rather watch your kids play shooting games like blow off their heads or cutting them up with no blood.The multiplayer interactions are uncontrollable.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byoneofakind July 11, 2013

Good role model!

i think this game has a positive role model. the hero fights for what he believes in. its not that gory, and the sex-related stuff is barely true.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bygaming is cool October 27, 2011

It Is Fine

I Persuade It Is Fine For Parents To Buy This Game! theres only one sex scene i have played it violence int a problem asked your cildren how they feel about thegame

This title contains:

Educational Value
Adult Written byOo XxX COD XxX oO April 8, 2011
It's a pretty awesome game.... You shouldn't be worrying about video games with your kids because theyre not all that bad. Movies are much worse:(
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byJack F February 3, 2011

Perfect for teenagers

My kids play this game all the time. I did a lot of research before i bout the game for them. The sexual themes isn't a problem, I found this game not bad for my 12 year old child.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness

Pages