Kid reviews for Battlefield 1943

Common Sense says

Downloadable shooter just as violent as its boxed brethren.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 10+
Based on 9 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 23 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byHarvster5 September 3, 2014

One of the most kid friendly WWII Shooters.

This game isn't as violent as the new Battlefields. No Blood or Language. Just Plain War.
Kid, 10 years old January 1, 2014

battlefield 1943

I think that it has bad graphics which takes a huge bite out of the violence
which makes it fun for a starter in FPS but not for a pro who plays COD and gta.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 10 years old December 13, 2013

a method to use

Take turns playing with your son/daughter a few times and then explain the difference between real life and fake. Hope this helped!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byLaxboy27 October 6, 2013

10+

Fun game, controls are easy and runs smooth. It is a FPS only with multiplayer and is very fun. No blood when a player is shot they just disappear when they die and there ammo pack falls down. For 10 and up. The worst thing is when you shoot someone and they scream in agony or pain and then its over. Instead of blood it looks like air so hardly bad, could be rated E-10+ hope this was helpful!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 10 years old August 4, 2013

Pretty Nice

Now I'm 10 and I LOVE call of duty! But from the looks of this no-blood game, It's suitable for kids of ages 8+. But hey! It's your kid so you should make the decision.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byTurtlelover70 August 3, 2013

Great for tweens !

Great it is free on PC there is no blood but soldiers sometimes scream when they die
Teen, 15 years old Written byFlaming Pencil April 26, 2013

Intro to Battlefield

This game is perfect for anyone who wants to start playing Battlefield. With its simplified class system, 24-player maps, and improvement to Battlefield: Bad Company's controls, this low cost game makes it easy for new players to get into it. It is a good choice for younger Battlefield fans.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old December 23, 2011

if they can make such a great multiplayer mode why cant they make a campaign???

I had a lot of fun playing BF 1943, and it doesnt have blood or language so it might be a good game for people who aren't allowed to play COD. There is some violence (which you should probably know just by seeing the title) where you kill enemies with rifles, machine guns, grenades, turrets, and bayonetts, and you can also use jeeps, tanks, and planes to kill people. Also some parents might be concerned that online you can play on the japanese side and kill americans.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 12 years old December 20, 2011

Not as bad as it looks, actually.

It's mostly a clean game, with only two concerns. One is the screams of pain. This shouldn't be a problem if you're child is mature and won't be scared by this. The other problem is the ability to run people over. As long as your child knows it's just a game, he/she should be fine.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byMyxboxliveisroc... January 21, 2011

GREAT game!

Nice game here i play it alot! Its very cartoony so its alright for kids to play it i'm pretty sure i have heard some cussing in it but you cant really hear it so no problem for kids. A good alternative to the Battlefield bad company series i would also try battlefield heroes witch is for PC.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Kid, 10 years old January 9, 2011

Beast, and if you want something even less violent, go with Cell Factor.

Battlefield has always been a great series, and this is the best yet. Some things are really glitchy, like the Sniper Rifles being VERY underpowered, or random air raids that have almost no escape. Its probably still the best in the series, but not quite as good as Warhawk or Conduit though. One other thing is that its probably the closest to WAW you can get without all the blood and cussing, so get this or any Battlefield before you get COD.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byPS3Beast January 1, 2011

Battlefeild:1943 isnt as violent as most WWll games.

Battlefield:1943 is a better choice for kids than games like World at War or Brothers in Arms, because its blood and language free, and its alot cheaper, too. The violence isnt super intense but its First Person, and another problem is that you can play as the Imperial Navy and kill american soilders. Its still a great game though, but there are still a few problems they could fix to make it easier.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written bySecretagentbob November 24, 2010

Not as violent as other shooting games, but not as good either.

Its OK, but on most islands you have to swim about 10 miles to get to the action, and theres no escape once someone starts shooting you, since you have VERY low health. But if they just fixed those two things, it would be great.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 11 years old September 25, 2010

Lock, load, and scream like you've never screamed before.

Battlefield: 1943 is one of the best games around. It combines fascinating settings, a variety of weapons and vehicles and the good, plain fun of randomly blowing things up with a rocket-propelled grenade. Deaths are not by any means scary; players fall to the ground when shot, and are flung a few yards when killed by an explosion. Blood is absent. Soldiers will sometimes shout mild curses, but they are hard to hear with the whole 'war' thing going on in the background. If your child wants a violent game like Battlefield: Bad Co. 2 or Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, ask them to consider this instead. They'll probably like like it. DISMISSED!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Educational Value
Kid, 12 years old September 6, 2010
you are fighting for america

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old August 28, 2010

good for teens+

Its not too violent, but it is an FPS, and you have chat.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byHsetlik August 20, 2010

Great Game for (almost) everyone

I started playing tis game's prequel at age 10, there is no blood and the gore is not excessive. My only concerns are nasty choking sounds that enemies make when they die, and the immorality of playing as the axis,which can be encouraged, because they have better weapons

This title contains:

Educational Value
Kid, 12 years old July 25, 2010
i love it! i just got it today, but ive played it once and its fun. but still, its a bit iffier than call of duty, bloodwise.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written bycrissreviews July 13, 2010

Epic, but it does have some quirks

First of all I don't think this game should be 'iffy' for 13 year olds. There is no blood, but the battles are epic, so it's mostly the parent's call and based on the kid for that one.
The game is a very high quality game as downloadable games go. It puts you right into an up to 24 person battle complete with tanks, planes, jeeps, transport ships, and air raids you can call in. Like the other battlefield games there are bases to capture across the map, and as you capture bases and kill enemies the opposing team's team life bar thingy decreases. The game has three great island maps: Wake Island, Iwo Jima, and Guadalcanal. There is also an Air Superiority one which is a dogfight and that is a separate option. You may expect with such big maps that you might find yourself far from the main battles and just running across the map trying to get to the battle. That is not the case with Battlefield 1943. When you are choosing where to spawn it shows crossed rifles on the base in question, so you can spawn there and fight. That icon is also sort of like a gps thing you get when you are running around. Another thing that helps you get right into the battle is the squad system. When you join you may join a squad and when you die you can choose a living squad member to respawn next to. To add to the great action, the buildings will blow up or catch fire when it makes sense, just like every other part of the map. No longer will tanks have to carefully weave around trees and fences. In Battlefield 1943 you can barrel them down, or bazooka them down. And say you're driving a tank and someone steps out of a building, shoots a shell at you, and then ducks back into the building. No problem, just blast the wall and it will collapse, revealing the player or killing them. There are three classes, none of which are overpowered. Another thing that makes the battles epic is if you control a base that has a radio dish pillbox you can use it to control a formation of three bombers and do a whole wave of bombs over the battlefield.
Now for the small problems with the game. First of all, I still don't know if it's the game or my wifi but I've been having lag issues on and off. One day it's running fine, then the next morning my guy is running past the same rock three times. The other problem is I hate the controls on the jeeps. On the Playstation 2 X has always been gas, but now somebody decided L1 could be gas and L2 is brakes. This is fine with the tank because if you're using X to speed up you can't use that thumb to aim the turret, but there's no point to it with the jeep. Lastly the tanks are WAAAY overpowered. I know tanks are supposed to dominate a war realistically but I don't think it's fair that these tanks have 360 degree rotating turrets with not only a shell launcher but a machine gun, both of which are controlled by the driver. If another person goes on top, it is virtually unstoppable because I think it takes more than 2 bazooka hits, but I'm not positive because I never get a second one in! The scouts have the ability to plant remotely detonated charges so they should be able to run up and do so while the main gun is reloading but really if they try that the driver-controlled secondary machine gun gets them.
Teen, 13 years old Written byRollacoastalex January 2, 2010

Perfect for 12+, below is debatable.

Less violent than other Battlefield games (ex. Battlefield Bad Company) and no profanity. Unless you talk to other people online, who you can simply mute. Basically a Team Deathmatch (a online mode from the Call of Duty series) but with a capture the flag twist. NO STORYLINE. This game is just online play.

Pages