All teen and kid member reviews for Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Kids say

(out of 16 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byNeil17 August 26, 2011

Amazing experience that deals with the theme of human enhancement.

First of, this is an amazing game. The player is encouraged to use alternative solutions other than combat to progress. Of course, the game can be play like any other first person shooter, but I doubt that anyone would want to do that when given so many other paths to success. (Pro-tip: look for air vents.) your foes do make a hobby of spewing profanities when thy talk, but anyone in middle school has heard worse. There are some prostitutes in the game, but again, nothing terrible. The game only refers to them as "Working Girls," and if you do talk to them, most of the time you are just given a comment about you looks, or your "augs." As a player character, you can kill police and pedestrians, but said police will gun you down almost immediately if you are caught in the act, so its not a very viable option. The story follows Adam Jensen as he tries to unravel a conspiracy after his girlfriend was killed during an attack on the cybernetic augmentation company head quarters that he works for. It deals with the thee of human enhancement, most specifically, with the class divide between naturals and "augs." This very easily could of felt quite forced, with almost every comment from passerby being about your augmentations, but instead, it feels as if these questions are naturally part of the story. In short, this is an amazing game, with both open-ended gameplay, and and amazing William Gibsonish story.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byDobeymaster October 2, 2011

A fantastic title, but with some considerations.

Fantastic game that anybody should get. However there are some pause moments you should know about: Language is very foul, and I'm don't have the cleanest of tongues. I squirmed at the multiple F-bombs, and the context they used it in. If you child can handle it, then its no problem. Violence- While there is absolutely no incentive to shoot anything, the same can be said when turned around, as you can shoot almost everybody and everything. I've tried to test how open-world the game is, and it is VERY open world, as you can shoot civilians, hostages, and police- even if it is strongly not recommended. Remember, if your child is very impressionable, the openness violence may be of concern to you. Sexuality- almost non-existent. Yeah, some scantily-clad women say some, 'sexy' things to you, but it's not that bad. They are referred to as, 'working girls,' and you cannot engage sexual activity with any of them. This is the least of your worries. Alcohol and drug use- I never really notice it, but you can consume beer and whiskey, and you can see people smoking. No biggie. Role models- Kind of a karma system here- Adam Jensen can either be a hero, who puts the welfare of others ahead of self, never kills, and prefers to get in and out quietly without being noticed. Or he could go on a murderous rampage, be verbally mean and disconnected to everybody, and likes things violent. The good thing here is the grey -zone that many other karma games leave out. For example, Mr. Jensen here can be stealthy and nice, with a high moral value; BUT he prefers lethal weapons. See what I mean? You can choose how Adam behaves in this world. Lastly the Story and theme of the overall game is AMAZING! It's a fantastic journey you NEED to experience! It deals with many moral issues, and has tonnes of exposition and story to dive into. You can feel the world around you, how people react to the things that are happening. In short, this game sucks you in and makes you feel like part of this world. You need to buy this game- after considering the above. You won't regret it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byEclipsed by Glory September 3, 2011

Very Good Game for a Mature Audience

I think Common Sense Media was a little too lenient on their review, at least with the language. There are very frequent uses of f--k and s--t during gameplay (from enemies) and during cutscenes (from the main protagonist and others). Otherwise I think Common Sense Media was accurate. There are bars and clubs in the game and the occupants flirt with each other frequently. And, yes, there are plenty of prostitutes in Human Revolution although in-game they are called 'Working Girls'. They do dress suggestively. This game allows you to make many of Adam Jensen's (the main protagonist's) decisions for him, so it is largely up to you to decide whether his story is a good message and whether or not he is a good role model. Overall I feel that Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a very good game for a mature audience.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bytralfagarlaw July 30, 2015

This Game is Amazing

Game Review First of all this is a cinematic game which explores the themes of what it means to be human but the boss fights are screwed up. Dear Common Sense Media You guys have no clue what the average 11 year old says on voice chat. Theres enough racist slurs you would think the KKK was recruiting throughout the servers and enough homophobic slurs for the Westboro Baptist Church to call them out on it. This game has none of that. You have a cinematic story which you can choose how to advance it. You can talk a terrorist out of commiting the act of terror and let him run away or you can shoot him on the spot so why does it get a 17+ rating. Because you guys have no sense of what makes a good game just let the community review not you guys.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMavrah333 April 9, 2015

Difficult cyber-punk RPG requires brain power and patience.

I must say this before anything else: be prepared for a lot of difficulty. Now that that's out of the way, the visuals are impressive, the style is cool, and the story is very fun. The difficulty is a step above most FPS game, but that's what makes it a great game. NEVER OVERRIDE SAVES!! If you're in a fix and you can't go back to a previous location, you will hate yourself, as did I. You have to be both subtle and stealthy. Be nice to people and they may open doors for you, instead of fighting a horde of cops in an enclosed area. Ammo is limited, and while health regenerates, but you have little to start with. There is also quite a bit of violence, including shooting, knocking people out, stabbing and blood (not excessive, but still noticeable) swearing (lots of f-ck, sh-t and damn) and plenty of smoking. There are many references to drugs, drinking, prostitution and porn, although you cannot be involved in any of these other than drinking. Over all, it's very fun, but also slow. You have be playing in two hour slots to feel immersed, but not obsessed. I have not completed the game yet, but it stands at a 7/10: Good. For the time being at least.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byEnglishPenguin June 4, 2016

Fantastic RPG delivers a hard, moral, and sometimes mature game.

REVIEW: (content info below) The graphics are ok, sometimes tinged too yellow or making the protagonists shoulders appear extremely wide, but who cares when the game in question is so good the only thing you can complain about out the graphics (witch are not even that bad.) Dues Ex Human Revolution is one of the most interesting RPG games players are liable to encounter. It ousts the bobble headed cartoony ones and outshines even the more likable RPGs simply because of its difficulty and stealth forced gameplay. There is no such thing as a tank (class) in this game, this is a stealth RPG, something that is uncommon for the genre. The gameplay is enjoyable, suspenseful (especially on the harder difficulties where several bullets can spell your death. Ammo is rare, almost more so than weaponry, another element that forces a stealthy play style. If you get frustrated easily you may consider over looking this game due to the fact that you most likely will spend hours completing a single objective (a major one not minor.) Dues Ex grabs your interest with its unique gameplay, plot, and open world. CONTENT: While Dues Ex may be an enjoyable experience for a stealth or RPG oriented gamer, it does contain some questionable content. Language is common ranging from the overlooked "danm" to the jarring F bomb (the latter is much less frequent though) Violence isn't much of an issue, there is blood but its minimal. If your morally inclined to be non-lethal (like me, a paradoxical existence for any action gamer) you will be overjoyed that early in the game you are given the option between Lethal or Non-Lethal, though you may be forced to use lethal weaponry because of the lack of ammo, instead of pursuing the more difficult stealthy route. Sexual content is also an issue, while it is not a major problem, you will encounter some iffy dialogue or outfits (never to revealing.) The games bad content can be outweighed by its great gameplay, but the decision is up to the parents, I just advise.
Teen, 13 years old Written by13scarbt October 26, 2015

Great game for Teens

This is a superb game with a fantastic and engaging plot. Violence: 6.5/10 Game has lethal weaponry such as guns or non lethal weaponry such as tranquillizer rifles, and the player has the option to either knock out or kill their opponent. I'm only giving this 6.5 because this game focuses on stealth and skilled players can beat this game without having to knock out or kill anyone. Sex: 3/10 You never see anyone having sex, but there are prostitutes in some areas, but you can't actually do anything dodgy. There is a hotel that has hot girls dancing around a pole in tight clothing, but nothing too revealing. Profanity: 7/10 There are quite a few f*cks in this game as well as sh*t, damn, b*tch. I would say that a teenager would be able to handle this well though. Drugs and drinking: 4/10 There is an option to buy and consume alcohol, and the screen goes fuzzy. Several people smoke in the game, but as this is in the future it is not revealed if they are smoking tobacco. In the game people who are augmented with cybernetics rely on a drug called neurophozeyne. If they do not take this drug for a long period of time their body stars to reject the augments, so I guess there is some dependence on drugs. Difficulty: 4/10 The controls are fairly easy to pick up on. The stealth game play can be tricky at the start but you get better at it as you progress. Overall rating: 4.5/5 I thoroughly enjoyed this game. The game play style is unique and I loved the RPG elements of it, allowing you to have several outcomes to a situation. Overall there are twelve different endings to the game, meaning there is lots of re playability. You can chose the style you play, run and gun or stealth. Great game about 25 hours long.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written bygun gaming June 6, 2015

wow why???

It's a fine not really fun . There are full of violence , for example : kill himself , swearing and more .... I played one stage and stopped the blood from disgust There is swearing and sex have not seen He smokes all the time try to write deux ex earns pictures and see how unbelievable smoking Do not buy!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 31, 2013

Deus Ex

My dad let me play this game, and i was pretty surprised he let me. But, the most mature aspect of the story in my opinion, is the story itself. It's a pretty dark future. People are augmented with machines and a terrorist, or extremist group of people called purists are against it. I haven't gotten too far, but i like how you can chose how you go through a mission. The game actually isn't too violent if you chose the stealth approach(Which is what i recommend, this game isn't just going into the enemy territory and shooting everybody, you lose ammo fast and health) A lot of strong language so this game is for mature players. But it's more than just a simple shooter, so consider letting your child try.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byThatGamingCat June 3, 2013

Great game,but violent

Great but a little violent game. Violence isn't really a issue in this game, there is blood but the kind of blood you would see in a Uncharted or Ghost Recon game. There is language,but not through the whole game, f--k is used a couple times,while bas---d, a**,and sh-t are used are peppered in the game. This game is rated M,but this game shouldn't be played by kids under 14.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bySnakeFart August 3, 2012

One of my faves, just clearing up another stupid error of CSM

I pay very close attention to detail, there are ABSOLUTLY NO SEX TOYS LYING AROUND IN BROTHELS. Epic game besides that, every aspect of it amazes me, i even bought it twice for my console and my P.C
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byEvan Trent April 9, 2012

Deus Ex

Hookers, strong language, minimal blood, bars, clubs, and gambling, but it's ok in my opinion.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 February 26, 2012

Violent,crude and profane.

I got this game last year and still play it now but not frequently like last time.A great game with infinite possibility but just down the violence,down the language and you'll get an even greater game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byLegoGamer December 2, 2011

Awesome RPG best for teens

I have been playing this game like crazy (so i am not done with it yet) The game is amazing but there are a few things i have to tell you about first. This is a game for teenagers and adults the content in this game is not that bad. But the game is hard you have to be a good RPG player to be able to play this right. The story of this game will go over younger kids heads. So if your 9 to 12 year old kid asks you for this because he wants something fun to play say No. Know lets talk about the content in this game. Voilence is not an issue a little blood and gunfights nothing that you won't see in Call of Duty. Drinking and Drugs can be taken by Adam (the guy you play) but they are only things like Asprin,Painkillers,Wine and beer so nothing that big of a deal. Swear words are hear and there but nothing you wouldn't hear in school. Sexual Content is kinda iffy There are prostitutes who say some bad dialogue there are strip clubs and sexual dialogue. But overall Deus Ex is a great game and if you are a serious gamer you should check this out.
Teen, 16 years old Written byJester™ November 21, 2011

Superb RPG with Plenty of Action and Mature Content

Deus Ex Human Revolution is an exciting, action-packed role-playing game. The game contains blood mist and stains from fallen enemies. The player is able to use multiple weapons to kill enemies from pistols and SMG's to plasma rifles and grenade launchers. That being said, the player is always given the choice to kill and can play through the entire game without killing anyone (bosses excluded). In fact, players are rewarded for doing so with double XP and an achievment. There is plenty of swearing in the game, including s*it and f*ck. When it comes to the game's sexual content, rest assured the player cannot engage in sexual activity, however you can talk to prostitutes and they say sleazy things such as "would you like the special, it's worth every penny" etc. There is a level where you enter the city from the rooftop of a brothel and have to make your way down the floors past pole dancer's and women in skimpy clothing. There has been mention of a sex-toy on a bed in the brothel, i didn't see it, but i don't doubt it's there. The main antagonist Adam Jensen is shown smoking in multiple scenes and can consume alcohol causing the player's vision to blur. Drug consumption could be an issue for some as the player can use hypostim needles and painkiller's to increase health. Overall a great game that is good for mature kids over the age of 15. One of the best games of the decade. *NOTE* The Australian classification for Deus Ex: Human Revolution is MA15+ for Strong themes, violence and sexual references. Jester's Rating: 9/10
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bykojitheman October 30, 2011

Don't bother with this game

Lots of violence iin this stupid game. It was horrible. My rating: M for blood, Intense violence, and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence