All parent member reviews for Gears of War

Parents say

(out of 42 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written by11BK201 April 9, 2011

An incredible co-op for mature gamers!

I play this game with the extreme content filter on because of the language and violence. Even with the filter the language still surprised me with plenty of words like sh*t, b*tch, and some more milder profanities. Some of these words are in the script during story development and some are during the actual gameplay. You hear the phrase "Eat sh*t and die!" multiple times throughout the games as NPC's kill enemies. Without the filter it is much worse. The filter does however take out much of the harsher violence. Without the filter you can literaly blow enemies apart with the shotgun or saw them in half with the cainsaw bayonet. All of the violence is extremely bloody often spraying up onto the screen. WITH the filter there is no blood and enemies do not fall apart. The screen still tints red when you are shot but it is not gruesome. Some of the environments can be a little disturbing with or without the filter. Some areas depict the after math of human encounters with aliens. Bodies are strewn about often in very bad shape (dismembered, bloodied, slightly decayed, etc...) However, none of it is very bad if you don't look closely at it. The strong point of this game is playing through the story mode with another player. The level of cooperation needed is incredible. My brother and I spend a lot of time playing this game together. It's a fun way to spend time with a good friend or family member. In the end, this is a great game; great controls, graphics, gameplay and co-op. It is dark and violent but this can mostly be avoided with the filter. It is however, still a game about war so it is best for more mature gamers
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bysuperparent99 October 4, 2011

Overrated

People say that this game is super inappropriate. First off, let me say that the violence is all from the aliens, spewing alien blood. Also, the game is extremely fast paced so you don;t even really pay attention to the violence. The language is bad, but nothing any kid over 12 doesn't hear on a daily basis. And to top all this off, there is a filter to turn both these things off. When that happens, the game easily becomes T instead of M
Parent of a 12 year old Written byBioshocker March 3, 2011

Depends on the Family.

I think this is a great game, but it depends on the family. The bad words can be turned down (just turn off your volume on your TV!!) And the gore can be filtered out. This takes this game's rating down to a perverbilal "T." No sexual content, no crude humor. And, it's a fun game.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byPtotheMtotheJ November 21, 2009

A no go for kids and tweens.

This game is definitely NOT for kids under 17. It's brutally violent and constant swearing really makes the whole package an adults only game. Children and tweens shouldn't play this, it wasn't intended for kids. This game is BRUTAL.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydarthsitkur August 20, 2012

i love this game and i love the graphic novel as well

I have both the game and the graphic novel and they're both really badass, the game and the graphic novel have tons of bloody and gory action
Adult Written byBalt.RavensFan2001 January 27, 2012

One of my favorite games

I am a die hard gears fan i own all 3 games, all the books and am a proud owner of a pair of COG Tags but this is NOT a game for kids under 17, although I have played online with kids as young as 12, However ALL three games have a mature content option that turns the blood and language OFF turning a M rated game to a T rated game. So all in all this is not a game for kids but parents can turn off all the mature content in the options menu.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 and 14 year old Written bythepeoplewhomad... November 11, 2010

You people are idiots.

"This game is bad! A madeup alien dies!!!!! BURN THE MAKERS!!!" this is what im hearing... ive played these kinds of games when i was 10 and 11 and i was to scared to play it. You dont have to freaken worry! 99% of kids are like this so stop flaming it.
Parent Written byPlague January 7, 2010

Gears of War

Really fun game! Worth the purchase, and funner then Halo.
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 9 year old Written byGaming_Parent April 2, 2015

its fine

I think that this game is age appropriate for nine year olds because I know there Is a lot of blood in the game but there is this feuture just like in the call of duty games were you can turn off the blood even with the second game so it really does not matter it would be rated teen if that was a permanent thing
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written bygoaliemon00mrtc April 13, 2013

Violent but fun

one of the best shooters out there with no loading screens. There are settings you can turn off the mature gore and language.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byyesssssssss October 2, 2011

Violent

Gears of war is a very gory and violent game, but there is a filter to turn off the blood and gore, and most of the language. My son has this game, and I make him turn on the filter. Make sure you trust your child before letting them play this game.
Adult Written bylocust556 March 30, 2011

ok for kids

little violent but not much i let kids play it there 5 and 6
Parent of a 12 year old Written byisaac4christ December 3, 2010
i like it there is one level that is hard but once u get pased that is is easy.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byNeo8513 September 14, 2010

Good for adults

Albeit, It is clearly a M rated game, there is a lot of vulgarity among the Cog's (Humans). Online game play is also very vulgar. I'm 25 and would not recommend this game to any one whom cannot go to the counter and buy it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written by9tailnaruto September 3, 2010

great for kids between 10 to old.

the best game ever. everyone should play this. i seen 6year old play this so what.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written bysidd May 3, 2010

awesome game!!

This is the awesomest game ever!!!!! yeah it has gore and language but it 2010 every movie swears and gore is bad but im sure you can ttake care of it!!:)
Adult Written bygamenerd323 November 9, 2009

Why not buy, if your mature.

Strong language and brutal violence, it's a solid game thats fun for blood and gore lovers and smart people. So why not buy it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bythe censored parent November 9, 2009

Good for teens and adults ( teens should at least turn of Language and Gore)

This game can easly become a T for teen game if you want this game offers parents to turn of gore, and language. But still be very cautious because if your kid plays this game it may corrupt him at least know that this is not any way to deal with problems.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydanielck117@yah... October 21, 2009

This game is rated T jeez get your facts right

Good game I hate it when Carmine dies but this is rated T Halo has swords and hammers and this has a chainsaw all the same but you can turn off the gore and blood.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byGamePlayer12 October 17, 2009
Gears of War is a brutal, trash talking game but a good game. Gears Of War is a great game that has a attaching story line and amazing gameplay. Now if you wanna know the bad things in this game... then here goes. The Violence, Brutal non-stop violence... you rip enemies in half with chainsaws, pop enemies heads with snipers and blow enemies to bits with a high powered shotgun. If you are 16 and up you should be able to handle it. The Language, F bombs are used throughout the game, such as A**,B**** and other words on TV. overall 5/5 not for YOUNGER kids though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages