All parent member reviews for Halo: Combat Evolved

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 38 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bymdog April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
I played through the whole game and i don't understand how this games should be rated M. The language isn't bad and also your fighting aliens not humans. There is quite a bit of blood but it isn't bad because it green and blue. I believe any child over 12 can play this game. Now i'm not the video game type but i grew to enjoy playing this game.
Adult Written byprotectivefather123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This is a great game for kids 11-12

Okay, i am a very protective father. I let my son by the first halo, and i watched him play, and it was not as bad as people say it is. I hear my friends saying "Oh, this is a terrible game never let your children play this." Please don't believe anything you hear.
Parent of a 12 year old Written byA.I. March 26, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
This is a great game. I have a kid who loves it, and even better, i let him get this instead of black ops, hahaha. do yourself a favor parents, this is your answer to black ops, assassins creed, and deadspace.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 9 year old Written bycarter0617 March 23, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

review

this is one of the first halos so the graohics are not that good wich means that the volience is not that bad but there is blood and a little bit of swearing but not a lot if i where to let my kids play any of the halo games this one would be it because all of the other ones have more swearing and more volience
Adult Written byjesusfreak1991 December 9, 2008
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great game overall...

I am 17 (almost 18, so I selected that I am above 17). Believe me, you have to play it in order to give a good review, and I played the campaign twice, then played for about 30 hours in multi-player mode. Ok, there are some negative aspects to this First Person Shooter. If you play this game in campaign mode, you run into aliens all over the place, so it is constant shooting and action (this is an aspect of the game that I liked, however, everyone has a different viewpoint). This part of the game is something that I would allow a 10-year old to play. However, it does not stop there. Later on in the campaign, you run into an alien-like civilization called the Flood. The Flood is a bacteria-like creature that lives by taking over aliens and Marines, and turning them into strange-looking, tan-colored creatures, they multiply inside the aliens and Marines, then burst out, making more of them. This point in the game is slightly strange and some people would view it as scary. This is what makes it in my view a game for 12-year olds and up. In multi-player mode, it is a game in which you are a master-chief (The main character in Halo, a heavily armored person with the ability to self-heal) who faces other Master-Chiefs in mortal combat, using a variety of weapons, including sniper rifles, plasma rifle, frag and plasma grenades, shotguns, and more. In multi-player mode, the person with the fastest reflexes is the person who wins. If you were to play multi-player only, I think that 9 or older is age-appropriate. Here are my ratings on the game for each item. Single player campaign: Violence-3.5 of 5 Language-3 of 5 Blood-4.5 of 5 Gore-4.8 of 5 (almost non-existent) Age-12 and up Multi-player: Violence-4 of 5 Language-5 of 5 (It matters how much your friends swear while playing, but it is non-existent in the game itself) Blood-4.5 of 5 Gore-5 of 5 Age-9 and up Mature-17+ ??? come on, this game in no way deserves a mature rating, it easily gets a teen rating in my book, and if you play multi-player only (like most people do), then it can easily get a E 10+ rating. Highest the rating should be is Teen. Great game!!!!
Adult Written byTAG April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

highly addictive!

Let's be real here. Compare Halo or Halo2 to any number of other games, such as, Grand theft auto san Andreas and it would be rated a T for teens. This game, while highly addictive because of the ability to multi-player, is fun and entertaining. The sci-fi action story makes it just that - fantasy. The modern star trek vs. aliens. Will teens go shoot someone after playing this game- absolutely not. It's like playing with star wars action figures in video game format.
Adult Written byfghjkl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A little violent but I let my kids play this game.

Do not be fooled by the m rating I usualy only let my kids play teen games but it is ok.
Adult Written byHonestReviewSam March 22, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Game

Halo is an excellent game. Great environments, widely-varied weapons, and a great story all come together and it's awesome. I suppose it is a little violent but its really not nearly as bad or graphic as everyone and their uncle makes it out to be (remember that it is a GAME, a metaphor for problem solving and real time reaction skills, not real life). Really the biggest issue for me is the language. You hear d**n, h*ll, b**ch, and a*s sprinkle in the background dialog and in cutscenes. While not anywhere close to being gratuitous in this area, I still think that it should be noted. (I suppose my real issue here is with the ESRB) One final note on the violence is that it's all for a good cause. An alien alliance known as the Covenant are trying to wipe out humanity down the last man, woman, and child and it's basically up to you to stop them from getting control of Halo or finding Earth.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written bydtsa78cfgs9rovw June 3, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

bloody but not gory

this halo is the most violent of all the halo games; when you hit an alien blood sprays out. despite this, halo is a grreat game for preteens who can handle fantasy violence
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 11 year old Written byParentAdvisor May 17, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Iffy Iffy

My kid is 11 and really wants to play it. I say it's iffy to the point where he can be mature enough. Right now, he is, but I can't promise your 11 year old is. He plays it at home on his Xbox. Even though I do NOT let him play the other and newer Halo games such as Halo Reach or Halo 3, I let him play this "older one". Anyways, it is very iffy but parents make the decision. Also, you can go online (Multiplayer) and there can be some bad screen names. Such as, I was walking by in the kitchen and saw an opponent screen name's "Yellow-F**ker" And such sexual content people can use. But you dont see it much.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byfghjkln April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
it should of been t
Adult Written bythe_styx_kid April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

BEST GAME EVER

HALO is a game that allows for great game play and even better Multiplayer action, a proud owner of HALO: Combat evolved I can say that this game is complete and utter science fiction... sure it's cliche in the fact that Humanity's "first contact" with alien life is hostile but its solid gameplay and visually appealing graphics allow this to be one of the best games of all time.
Adult Written bysenox13 July 18, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

perfect game for all!

i have
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 9 year old Written byfuzzy999999 February 21, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

10 and up iffy

buy it for any 8 year old kid!!! they saay da-- he-- and su-- but its a great game!!! only thing is the flood there like zombies so they are gross and coould giv your kid nightmars
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byXXXELITEXXX December 5, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Its really not that violent. I love halo and out of all of them there may be a level or two between them that is a little iffy. These games are fun and anyone over twelve should be able to play them. The aliens dont really spurt out gore or anything, they just die and a bit of blue or orange hits the ground
Adult Written byHaloFreak123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Must-Play for mature adiences

This is the best game I have ever played, but it is very violent. There are explosions,and lots of shooting and blood. Thsi game is clearly for ages 17+.
Adult Written bymasterofthemovies January 24, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

fine by todays standards.

tame by todays comparison...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Parent of a 16 year old Written byyoooooooooooo June 18, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

yha

love it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 12 year old Written byjohn rowly February 6, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
the violence is not that bad when compared to other games and I wouldnt consider it gorey when the only blood you see its green goop. I wouldnt consider it for a 8 year old but these days kids are maturing at a much faster rate and wont be tramitized by some games such as this one
Parent of a 14 year old Written byjacob0929 May 18, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

fun

violent but fun

Pages