All teen and kid member reviews for Infamous: Second Son

Kids say

(out of 23 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bywfbewmm April 18, 2014

Great game, disappointed in the amount of language...

ESRB is a generally good rating system, but they kinda slipped up when rating Infamous Second Son. I have beaten the game once and I am currently trying to finish it a second time, and there is a LOT of language in it. The language is really bad in the beginning of the game, yet it is limited to the S word, the D word, the B word, and some other one’s I might not have have caught. On the other hand, please, do not be afraid to get this for a teenager. If you are strict about language there is an option to turn dialogue off completely. Not only does the game have language, but some it also contains violence. Throughout the game, you will fight two different types of enemies: the D.U.P. and some drug dealers. While fighting them, you can either choose to execute the enemy, or subdue them. THERE IS NO BLOOD OR GORE WHATSOEVER. There are two scenes where you kill someone though, but the first scene is the worst because you suffocate someone’s father. The second scene, however is not nearly as violent. Now back to the dialogue, in order to turn off all talking (there is no “foul language off” command, only a absolute no talking option.) pause the Infamous Second son game. Next, press the triangle button (this is also how to manually save the game). Then, look through the options menu until you reach dialogue, and turn it all the way down. You can press triangle during gameplay to toggle subtitles if you want to read what they’re saying. The reason you have options to either kill or subdue enemies is because the game works off a karma system. When evil, you try to cause as much pain and destruction as possible. When good, you have a harder challenge - you must protect the citizens (ACTIVIST) from danger while trying to only subdue the enemies (which I find to be more difficult.) I would recommend playing the good side with younger audiences, such as a 12 or 13 year-old. I hope this review will help you understand that Infamous Second Son is a fun open world third person game, that has both upsides and downsides. It has amazing graphics, but foul language. I would recommend this fun and exciting game to any teenager because the language is the only problem, and without the language it is a good game with morals (if you play the hero.) This review was mainly for parents to understand that ERSB might have slipped up while rating the game, so that you don’t make the same mistakes my dad and I made when we purchased this form of entertainment.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 3, 2014

Iffy for kids under 10.

This is an amazing superhero game, where the player runs around in an open world setting, trying to take back the city of Seattle using their super powers, which you unlock. There is an option to kill civilians and regular people, and the game encourages it if you chose to be bad. Otherwise, the game teaches that drugs, and bullying is bad. I think that this is a great game, and kids over the age of 10 could play it with no real harm.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byDarksouls444 September 12, 2014

Really good Hero game

the infamous is a really good series of games but second son is the best of the series 10/10 there is bad words but not much blood at all just a really good free roam game
Kid, 11 years old April 4, 2014

Awesome game awash in disturbing violence

Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan November 16, 2014

good game

Good game but receive a 15 rating by me as i rated it previous parts.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheAcidboot July 28, 2015

Infamous Second Son is a great spin off game from the Infamous franchise!

Infamous Second Son is a spin off from the Infamous franchise. So instead of playing as "Cole" this time you play as a new character "Delsin". The violence in this game is mostly depended on which side you choose (Good or Evil). If you choose good then you only go around shooting the DUP officers and subduing them. However if you choose to be bad then you go around murdering DUP officers (as well as Police officers and Civilians). There is no blood in this game. There is constant swearing in this game (Nothing more than what would be in a PG-13 movie). There is one minor sex scene in this game (You just see two characters make out and the scene ends before anything happens) however it only occurs when you choose to be evil. Overall this game is very enjoyable and should be played by anyone 13 and over.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrainiacGamer November 29, 2015

Great superhero game

Infamous Second Son is an Epic game where in every major part you have a choice. You start the game and you have a choice to be a hero or infamous, depending on your choice it will change certain parts in the game such as cut scenes, powers and the final boss. If you choose to be a hero you avoid killing citizens and save people being held captive, and when you're evil you can do stuff like, sabotaging anti drug rallies and killing random citizens on the street. There are some drug references in it but nothing to suggest taking them, it's a very anti drug game. As for the violence there isn't any blood it's very tame, but you are getting shot at by auto turrets and machine guns as well as sniper rifles. For some people the combat may be overwhelming because it can be very difficult because you get surrounded so if you don't like dying easily you should stick with a lower difficulty, but once you get used to it the game play is very easy to get through the game. One thing that might disturb some parents is that your character flips the bird at his brother, characters sometimes say swear such as "asshole" "dick" and "s**t" and some sexual references like "get laid" and "hook up". But Infamous second son is a fun super hero game for players who like to pretend to be superheroes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written byZerosense July 8, 2015

your kids probably hear worse at school

The violence can get very violent but there is only a few very violent scenes With good karma most 10 year olds could play. With bad karma, mature 12 year olds and most 13 year olds could play.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byrobotchipmunk June 14, 2015

Decent game that is good for teens.

Infamous: Second Son is an ok game that casts you as a wronged Native American. You can respond through the killing of everyone in sight, or the nonlethal take downs of the DUP. The game is appropriate for teens with only a couple references to sex and minor swearing. There is a reference to drug use, but it is not depicting it in a good light. Although there is violence, it is quite fantastical and not bloody. Overall it is a good alternative to more violent open world games such as GTA, but the plot is weak.
Teen, 14 years old Written byliamg193 May 15, 2014

Very Good Game

Hi! I'm 14 and I received this game as a birthday present. When I first loaded the game I could tell that this would be a lot of fun. With its stunning graphics and great plot, its a great buy. When in combat with another human in this game, there is no blood and it is mostly fantasy. I personally do not know why it is rated teen. Maybe its because you can choose to be either bad or good. Also there is a little bit of language which MIGHT be a little concerning but otherwise, I had a lot of fun with it.
Teen, 17 years old Written byqwerq33 September 11, 2014

Solid Entry

It's a good PS4 game. Nothing overly special, but decent. It does deal with moral issues, but they're fairly simple and straightforward.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byitsallaboutthestory August 12, 2014

Awesome accept the story and after you've beaten all the main missions.

The game is gorgeous, the character's were lovable and combat was awesome and fun. I only played as the good guy, but it never challenged me when making moral decisions, they were obviously black and white. I also noticed the mini karma situation's appearing in the same place over and over again. The sad moment failed to get me sad at all. The story's overarching plot is uninteresting but it's a joy to play until you hit end-game, there is practically nothing to do, blow up camera's and do graffiti sounds "GREAT!" Over all I'd recommend buying it once the price drops, its not quite worth $60, I'd pay 40 for it max. The positive role models and messages all depend on what Delsin you chose to be
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old July 21, 2014

Best game ever!

i think that the game is awesome i have played all 3 fully from good and bad (and bad is my favorite) AWESOME GAME
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old June 1, 2014

pretty god

grey game i can't say its easy but very good it not too violent only bad part is when you close to a new power with a murderer but it send out not terrible message cause they dealers and overall the cause in the game is good character aim to save people at his home and evil or not infamous 1 you didn't care about choices but in this one you see their faces and feel bad so you're already pure evil if you choose bad one
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTriforceLord October 16, 2015
This game is a dark, mysterious game with many many chalenges
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written byShaymin Squirrel August 19, 2014

Infamous

Good gameplay with lots of decisions - you can choose wether to become a hero or infamous based on the decisions you make in game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written bySpartan090 October 10, 2016

Let's Take the Dark Side

Most of these reviews focus on the "Good Karma" path of the game, which really is a good path with lots of nice messages and all the niceties. This review looks at the "Evil Karma" side of the game. The game lets you execute people by: searing their skulls, punching holes in their chests, or just straight up pushing them over and stabbing them. On the darker path, one turns a bullied teen, who just wants to protect people from the racist gangs, into a remorseless killer. Delsin (the protagonist) can strangle a father in front of his teenage daughter. Delsin encases a woman in cement and throws her off the top of the highest building in Seattle, goes home, and proceeds to murder all the people he set out to save in the first place. Lets not forget all the collateral damage, brutalizing protesters, and beating up sign twirlers simply for being annoying. please be aware that there is no gore in all of those, as enemies evaporate upon death. All that being said, Delsin's brother stands as a slightly racist (he hates people with special powers) moral compass who explains that the cops and DUP are only hunting him because that's their job, and they shouldn't be killed for simply doing their jobs. He constantly argues for Delsin to subdue his enemies and not kill them. All of the evil options are just that, options. Your child just has the opportunity to do them, and doesn't have to. The game is good for teens that are mature enough to handle the decision making and understand that they can't do these evil options shouldn't be done in real life.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byEvilton June 30, 2016

Amazing game. Ridiculously dark evil path.

Good path - Fight against corruption and discrimination and drugs. Great messages. Still mild swearing Bad path - Murdering civilians, embracing discrimination, brutal executions, and graphically choking a father while their daughter watches.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byVaultBoy111 April 21, 2016

Great fun but a bit dark at times

this game is very fun you can spend hours on this game i think it should be 13+ because their is a little bit of swearing drug references the violence is fine no gore or anything other than that its a pretty good game
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovie lover 2402 March 5, 2016

Great game NOT FOR KIDS

Infamous has a lot of swearing and hardcore violence where you can brutally murder civilians. Although a blast for teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages