Kid reviews for Manhunt

Common Sense says

Incredibly gruesome -- not for kids of any age.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 26 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 55 reviews
Teen, 15 years old Written byshawn flory January 13, 2009

read the rating

this is a horrible game.it is essentially about killing in the most sadistic ways possible. there is no excuse for the violence,mainly because even after you are free, your guy continues to kill people.also, all you parents,why not sit down with your child, talk about whats in the game, and make a decision about it, instead of blaming the game itself. well, thats all the time i have s goodbye
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn July 27, 2013

NOT FOR ANYONE OF ANY AGE!

Okay lets get this straight. This is NOT A GAME FOR KID'S (AND ADULTS TOO) OF ANY AGE! If you're kids play M rated games, NEVER EVER let them play this. It's even more violent than the Grand Theft Auto or Call of Duty series. Bad choice for violent kids, they'll find out ways to kill people.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byjcdizz April 9, 2008

Life Changing and Traumatizing

I once tried playing this as an experiment but I never even made it past the first guy your supposed to kill. Ideally whoever made this designed it to be all about Kill, Murder, Kill, Assasinate, Kill, Get Rid Of, and....oh, did i mention Kill.

To make my point even more proven the first time you start the game the game advises you to "Close the curtains, shut off the lights, lock the door, and get ready to Kill!" It even goes as far as checking your screen and telling you to adjust the darkness to make the game as gory and suspensful as can be.

Not only do you kill, but people dont realize that WHO you kill. I've heard from other friends of mine who have played it, as well as did a little reasearch, that not only do you kill gang-members and thugs, but also going as far as killing mental patients at an asylum. Imagine the fear that could be struck into the minds of any kid playing this! The screams of your crazed victims is enough to want to make you check into your own asylum. Not to mention the character does not hesitate to be 'creative' in his killing.


This game is only for those with steel hearts...literally. Show a 40-year old man and he can easily get a heart attack from the gore of this game
Teen, 14 years old Written bytruth of games March 23, 2015

should NOT exist

blood gore gore blood gore gore oh and did i say gore this game shouldnt exist if it must exist it should be AO rating it is one of the most...just dont buy this for kids EVER no matter how mature they are this is worse than dead space and lets slit throats combind BUY IT THEN BURN IT

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bykiller425 December 2, 2012

This game is MESSED UP

OH MY GOD. This game is messed up. Not as much as manhunt 2 though, which has actually made me nauseous (and I don't normally get queasy at blood and gore). Firstly, you happen to be a serial killer who was put to death but revived by some sick f*** to star in some kind of TV show where all you do is continuously kill people. Eventually you find the guy who brought you back and you slice a huge chunk out of him though, so I guess that's one less moron to deal with. But there is also NONSTOP USES OF F***. This is astonishing, even for Rockstar Games. Apparently, the development of this game almost caused a Rockstar Games mutiny. The SECOND one had to be CENSORED TO BE RELEASED. THAT HAS ONLY HAPPENED TO ONE OTHER GAME! (because of violence that is) The point is, don't play this if you are a child or if you are squeamish in any way.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byFilmfanatic64 April 9, 2008

easily the goriest game i have ever played

I am a fan of GTA and Hitman and Max Payne, and Manhunt Pushed it for me. I got an evil sastisfaction in getting revenge on that director in the end (he "cuts" you from the picture 2/3s of the way through). The way you kill him, however, is by cutting out his stomach and destroying his head. obviously this game is not to be for anybody under the age of 18.
Kid, 12 years old April 3, 2021

Seriously Parents

Im a 12 year old kid but to hell i god damm now how to read an esrb or ac bcz im not brain dead is it say ao then there is a reason. Seriously go to esrb ratings look up you childs game and rake it from the rockstar doesnt need to hear from anyoned bullshit when the game is rated apropritly and the parents are pissed TAKE ONE SECOND TO LOOK ON ESRB AND SEE IS THIS APRIPITE? No tell them they cant have it again and dont make stupid conplaints to rockstar for making a good game but ur chilef being too muc of a whoose

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byGelatin April 22, 2020
Rockstar's psychological horror endeavour Manhunt has garnered a LOT of controversy over the past decade and a half. I see it as a truly special psychological horror game that does NOT glorify violence, but rather treats it as a disturbing and twisted element of horror in a dark and intense game. Despite its simple design, it manages to be a pretty scary experience. And one that needs to exist in order to make a statement.
Teen, 14 years old Written byTheVenomousSnake March 15, 2020

I played this when I was 6 or 7 and didn’t understand anything in this and didn’t know how to beat the first stage. But it does have a lot of Gore and blood, swearing and violence but I think it would be alright for a 14 or 16 year old to play because it’s easy for kids at that age. This is one of my favorite games of all time and it’s one of the scariest game from the early 2000’s!

It’s really violent but it’s fine for 14-16 year olds.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byFrostySmoothy January 12, 2020

Manhunt - A Reflection on Violence

Yes, Manhunt is quite possibly one of the most disturbing video games ever made (only contested by its sequel), but I do think it has value outside of the obvious shock value and stigma the game contains with its name. I think, at its core, Manhunt is a reflection on our obsession with violence in media. Could it have delivered its message in a different way? Perhaps, but it would not be nearly as effective if it had. Gameplay wise, you are not often forced to kill enemies - in fact, you can just run past a large majority of them! But if you do, your score will not be the best. And, generally, people want the highest score they can get, right? And people are curious too - so often, it's the player's choice to brutalize the enemies, known in-game as Hunters, who are all mainly gangsters, mercenaries, corrupt or bad people at their core. Does this justify killing them? No, but even story-wise, you are being forced into it. Manhunt is much more a horror game than a stealth-action game, purely due to the circumstances and darkness revolving around its surprisingly good story.

Overall, I would actually reccommend this game, but only if your kid is mature enough to handle the story, the amazingly terrifying atmosphere, and can seperate fiction from reality.

The main voice you hear over the game, Lionel Starkweather, who is also responsible for forcing you to kill, is implied to recieve sexual pleasure from the protagonist killing his enemies - as well, many Hunters are watching rather adult things on TVs, but this is mainly audio only. If you are half way decent at stealth and third person shooters, this game will be mostly easy. However, the protagonist, James Earl Cash, is very vulnerable in direct fights. He will often take large amounts of damage, which is healed by bottles of painkillers found within the maps.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byAlexrrander October 1, 2019

This game is disturbing!!!!!!

Unless if you played mortal Kombat and gta or hatred than never play this game it is disturbing as disturbing games can get.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byunknown24 September 17, 2019

Calm Down

I know this game is pretty gruesome but at least it had context for its fucked up nature. Unlike a game called Hatred which should the tasteless piece of shit you should be looking at.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 17 years old Written byJohn A. June 12, 2019

Rated 18 (very strong bloody violence).

SEX/NUDITY - There are some strong sex references, including sexual dialogue and implied masturbation, suggesting that the violence you are committing is sexually pleasurable for the person you are killing for. There is also brief animated nudity. VIOLENCE/GORE - There is pervasive, very strong bloody violence and gore in the form of brutal and gruesome executions, of which the player is rewarded points for. These executions include stabbings, beatings, decapitations, and other acts of dismemberment, using various tools and everyday objects that you find scattered around the environment, and are presented in a realistic manner despite the outdated graphics. The scenes of graphic violence are very disturbing, and could have a psychological impact on younger players. There are also other frequent scenes of strong violence throughout. PROFANITY - There is use of strong language ("f*ck", "c*cksucker") throughout, as well as some milder terms ("p*ssy", "b*tch", "ass"). DRINKING/DRUGS/SMOKING - Some drug references in dialogue. THREAT/HORROR - Intense, sustained, sadistic horror throughout, with extremely bleak undertones and very graphic, disturbing imagery.

18 - Suitable only for persons aged 18 years and over. Contains very strong content, and is recommended for playing by adults only.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written byminigamekingsYT October 3, 2018

best game of its time

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byq455frodomar January 25, 2017

Horrible.

It has no redeeming qualities. Don't listen to dumbass parents who say it's OK for children. Any child playing this are exposed to torture. And unlike GTA it's not even fun. A sick, twisted game indeed.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written bybig_smoke December 26, 2016

GORE GALORE

well if your the kinda kid like me that can handle gory games and play it for fun, i would recommend it from its strategic game play from sneaking around taking out your opponents its a really great game

if you also like games like the metal gear series or mortal kombat, I also recommend buying or playing this game

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Kid, 12 years old May 31, 2016

Incredibly gory, but stomachable

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written by6y2 April 23, 2016

Manhunt Honest Review

Well executed stealth game that features a high level of violence but it's just game if you can stomach it you can enjoy it

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bydiamondlordnc2 October 23, 2014

Extreme Blood,Violence and Gore, Not for kids

Manhunt is extremely violence so it is NOT for kids anyways. The kills in this game is bloody and super violence.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byDarksouls444 September 7, 2014

The Goreist most frightful disturbing game in the makeing

Who ever made this had a lot of mental problems its like watching a snuff film and the main guys problem is he LOVES! snuff films the bosses are disturbing like pigsy! please whoever has the guts to play this good luck ive seen people play on youtube its really well made I think someone will enjoy it.

Pages