Kid reviews for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Common Sense says

A must-play RPG for mature fantasy fanatics.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 54 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 173 reviews
Teen, 15 years old Written byMibb2 September 5, 2010
When you first look at my review you probably think that I am stupid kid because I ranked it more inappropriate then many other members, as well as my concerns and highlights are clearly conflicting. I did this on purpose because 95% of this game is very teen worth. 13+ easily. But the rare 5% of the places in the game are very disturbing. You cannot control where your children go and it is very addicting so you should assume that your children will explore everywhere and go to these places. For example, In Leyawiin's Castle you can discover a secret room (as a part of a quest or just exploring) that the countess likes to torture a specific race. You see a table with shackles and blood as well as other instruments that are used for torturing purposes. Overall, this is the best game you are likely to play for the next few years and the vast majority of the game is appropriate for teens of all ages, but the rare parts of the game are not appropriate for younger teens.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old November 10, 2011

Best for 10+

Oblivion is quite a good fantasy game, but it contains sexual language. My only instances of this are when a grizzled veteran of the Fighters Guild calls you a "High-Tom-Titty" and when an argonian says "Powdered deer penis" and there IS a book called "The Lusty Argonion Housemaid". Blood is infrequent, although stains of blood on clothes and objects appear, it disappears quickly. Blood shines on your sword, and so on. Drugs, well, players can drink wine, beer. Nothing bad, right? Well, there is a drug similar to crack or LSD called "Skooma". There are various skoomahouses (Like a crackhouse) scattered around the expansive world. When taken, skooma drains everything but intelligence and speed, which it t temporarily increases. You can buy drugs and black magic spells from various shady sellers. The Dark Brotherhood is a touchy guild, as you have to kill someone to get in. Also, you can kill innocents, although it is strongly discouraged. It is the opposite of GTA, whereas in that game police are very weak. The patrolmen are 10 levels higher then you, and have much better gear. One good thing, is if you have a kid interested in lore and books, he will spend days at the library reading full length books everything from fiction to comedy to docs to biographies. One scary quest involves going through traps, perception, and lots of other things.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byp1ng m3 July 9, 2009

very good game

This game is really fun. Its about trying to close the gates of Oblivion (hell) to save the world of Tamriel. Not really bad. There is an assassins guild(the dark brotherhood) which u get paid to kill people. You can see blood on grass and walls plus you get to move bodies but overall i say if the kid is mature enough to play t games then he can play this. btw this game is only rated M cause a perverted guy made a shirtless female mod for the pc version.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySeto007 September 5, 2009

Pretty Much the Greatest game on Next Gen Consoles yet!

Just like Fallout 3, this is a magical type of game that you can play for many hours and never be bored. While it is quite Violent, but not TOO much gore, other than the environment of the Fighting Arena, It isn't bad enough to be an M rated game. It should have been its original Teen rating. The only thing I have to say about sexuality is one particular Book, which is EXTREMELY suggestive. Language can somethimes be innapropriate, but not enogh to complain about, and you have the option to drink. I have tried hard to try to find something bad about this game, but cannot. The combat, the spells, the massive area, and the amazing way to play as YOU and not what the game wants you to be, makes it a must buy. And at the amazing 20$ price, there is no reason to object. 5/5

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 10 years old September 25, 2015

why is this rated m

ALRIGHT FOR KIDS. The blood looks fake. it is not about killing, you can have a lot of fun without vilonce. and this is rated m because of a mod.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byflarez77 July 4, 2009
Kid, 12 years old March 25, 2011

Epic Adventure

Now so I dont waste your time with this reveiw about the age part I'll go ahead and tell you why its rated M because on the PC version there was a mod to play as a topless woman. Now for you who want my opinion. This game is pretty darn good. Its easier to play than Elder Scroll games before and has many hours of content. I still have alot to explore and sidequests to complete and with Skyrim coming this year im pumped. This is definitely a game 11 year olds should be able to play.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2011

Perfect for tweens and up.

I love it, one of the best role-playing game experiences out there today. Occasionally there will be scary looking creatures that you won't be able to sleep at night, but once you get used to the experience of all these scary beasts, you won't think they are scary anymore, more annoying than scary.
Teen, 14 years old Written bySangel123 September 26, 2009

While violent, it's still a good game

While this rpg is very violent the plot is to save the world from these aliens that are trying to kill everybody. You start off trying to save the emperor but you fail and he tells you to find his heir and "shut close the jaws of oblivion". It depends on the choices your child makes in this game. If they kill somebody they can join a guild of assassins but if they become a good fighter they can become a sort of guard of the city and rescue people that are being attacked by ogres or such. If you play with them or watch them play and make sure they make good choices it should be fine

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byGorbiJones June 16, 2009

This review is inaccurate.

First of all, do any of you remember when Oblivion first released? Remember what letter it had on it. That's right, a "T", not an "M". The only reason they changed it to an "M" rating was because of a user-created mod that allowed for topless women. User-created. As in, not enabled by the developers. Since the 360 and PS3 versions of the game do not allow players access to user-created mods, they should technically still be rated Teen. Likewise, the violence isn't that bad! Things bleed a little, but it's not like arms are viscerally sliced off or goblins are brutally decapitated. All they do is bleed. You have a little blood on the ground and on your sword, and the corpse is in perfect condition. No cuts, scrapes, bruises, or breaks. The only time things get a bit grisly is when you encounter zombies, who are mutilated a bit, but not terribly. The sexual content, though it does exist in-game, is only referenced. There is no actual sex in the game. At the most, people just sleep in the same bed. Fully clothed! They're not even under the blanket! Besides, the references are nothing teenagers haven't already been exposed to at this point in their life. Pretty much all of them have already had The Talk. The majority of the drugs is one called "Skooma". It is barely mentioned in the game, and there are maybe two quests that directly have to with it. In closing, Oblivion is a fantastic RPG for teenagers of all kinds. The review found here gives no almost no info regarding these topics, simply saying, "there is sexual content" or something wooden like that. Thank you for your time.
Teen, 15 years old Written byunknown8000 April 27, 2009

Amazing

First off the game is quite stunning and almost unreal. I cant believe there are people out there who have not played this game yet and if you havent you should really look into it even if its only to see the amazing graphics. The scenery is some areas is much prettier in lack of a better word than Fallout 3 which is made by the same people and kind of similar in ways. Now with being "Mature" i dont think it is at all, the blood is very minimal from what i have seen a little splatter here and there, waah, its not like teen games dont have that, and your underwear i mean who cares, 9 years olds can handle this. So just play it already.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBragix September 24, 2017

Best rpg of all time!

Oblivion is the gratest rpg ever it has an incredible story great combat and a big open world. Theri is a bit of blood splatter when you kill an enemy and sone blood gets on the weapon and there is some mild swearing but if this was a movie it would be pg-13.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byrobertoe November 7, 2009

I think it's age appropriate for a fetus.

Really? 16 and up? There is NOTHING wrong with this game, Yes... I say ages 2 and up. Game sorta sucks tho
Teen, 14 years old Written byBobgannagan September 12, 2017

Great game for kids ten and up

Oblivion is a great rpg game for kids. The swearing is only s**t, d**n ,and a*****e. There is no sexual content or nudity. There is a few jokes, but are hard to find. There is little blood and gore, the zombies you can see the ribs and stuff like that but it's not that realistic. Drugs. There's ale and wine but there's no point in drinking it, it only has negative effects. It can teach kids things like to not do bad things like pick pocket and kill Innocents. You'll get arrested. You can go anywhere and is a super great game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bySilas Y October 14, 2015

What other parents might not know.

First of all TES Oblivion was not rated M on account of mods it would be AO(Adult Only) if it was. It was originally rated T but had complaints by parents. I agree with those parents by the way. This game has lots of violence and blood. Blood lies on the ground after kill and in forests or remote areas random people come up to you and jump scare the crap out of you then attempt to kill you while saying "is that all you got" or "I'm not impressed" or something wired like "bushuward". If you want to let your kids play under 13 let them play TES Morrowind, Oblivions predecessor it has less blood and less "scary" themes. If they don't get violent let them play Oblivion. The horror themes are sometimes creepy such as a zombie that looks torn apart. Or a rotted corpse hanging from rope. Oblivion also has mild language such as da*n, basta*d and he*l. If Oblivion was a movie it would be rated 14A for Violence, blood, horror themes and mild sexual themes and mild language.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 10 years old July 8, 2015

mature 11 year olds and up

this is a very good game you will be playing this for ages if you do all quests and little missions it will take maybe 250+ hours also there is not a lot of blood (only a little bit when you hit an enemy) gore is not really an issue the worst I saw was a body hanging up there was a zombie head too but it might of been a glitch also this game as originally rated T but some perverted guy made a mod so there was nudity and gore so it's rated M but you have to download the mods and you can't even do that on the Xbox 360 and PS3 so it's a great game , this game is okay for 11 years+. (: (:
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2015
Teen, 13 years old Written byLOLzor1dmean September 16, 2013

Cool!!!!

im a 11 year old,this game contain some blood but not too much gore .parnets can give the young gamers play this because this is funny. you can hide the blood there no SEXUAL THEMES THATS SAY MY DAD!!! :D play that game if you want

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written byforitxxar April 9, 2008

Fun at first, but gets boring fast.

THIS IS FOR THE 360 VERSION! Pros: Huge world, tons of quests, 150+ hours of gameplay, complete freedom. Cons: Main quest is extremely repetitive, landscape is repetitive, dungeons are repetitive, combat is repetitive, just about everything is repetitive, very glitchy at times(you can get arrested for no reason, you can get stuck and not be able to move, quest NPCs can end up on top of buildings or at the top of a tree, etc.), certain aspects of the game seem half done, level scaling is done HORRIBLY(you can beat the Arena "champion" at level 5 if you wanted.), recharging your weapons gets old FAST, spell casting system is annoying and not done well, AI needs some work, character creation was done horribly, and more. Overall? Fun game for a little while, but not worth more than $30, in my opinion. It entertained me for around a week or two. I don't recommend it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byHalo 117 April 9, 2008

I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the best game ever made no doubt about it :) I recommend it to children from age 10 to adults because of the slight language and some use of alchol and some blood but who hasent seen blood before? but if your looking for a game that will last for years and never get old...... this is it!

Pages