Kid reviews for The Legend of Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon

Common Sense says

A feisty, fiery dragon adventure that's magical.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 6 reviews

Kids say

age 8+
Based on 15 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byshanno15 April 25, 2010

Spoilers Spyro

Good graphics but the story can be confusing if you dont play the first 2 games. Spyro the dragon, I thought was better though because of the less complicated gameplay, a super long story. Though the ending is unique because Cinder falls in love with Spyro, but it leaves you hanging, did Spyro and Cinder die or not? I dont think they did but you dont know for sure, I like how Ignitus turnes into the chronocaler though

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 11 years old December 31, 2013

Great story but the combat isn't as good as eternal night

This game has an awesome story but the combat isnt as good as the first 2 it's just that u can't see the enemies life except when ur taking on a boss like the golem or malefor I would say 8/10 it's easy to complete I'm 11 and it takes me 6 hours to complete eternal night so kids won't have much trouble completing it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byChristian_girl May 11, 2010

WATCH AFTER THE CREDITS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Don't miss it! Nothing is as it seems. After every Legend of Spyro game, there's something after the credits. This time, it's the ending. Yes, you heard that right. Once you get to the credits, you can hit the start button and skip the cutscene if you want to hurry up and get to the ending clip. I've tested it, it works. You'll see the clip if you don't do that, this is just for impatient people, like me. ***END SPOILER*** At the end of the game, it's implied that Spyro died very heart-wrenchingly. But don't sell the game just yet! After the credits, it's shown that Spyro is alive, uninjured, flying happily in Avalar, in the world he has brought back to peace. There's other stuff after the credits but I won't spoil everything. I fell over onto the couch when I found out he was alive. I didn't faint, I just thought it would be funny. I got up and started crying tears of joy, which wasn't a joke. I cried at a video game. I've been a Spyro fan since the first game and I couldn't stand to see the little guy go. But he didn't! *sob, sob, cry* Please make another Spyro game. They're so stinking cool! Especially compared to the old games. Please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please, please!***SPOILER OVER*** This game is completely devoid of bad language. The same goes for the rest of the trilogy. Well, actually, in this game, Spyro, Cynder, and Sparx go to a dam and... well, they had to make a pun. There is no dirty stuff whatsoever and I like that about this game. The closest this game gets to anything mushy is one use of the phrase "I love you" which is the most romantical thing in the whole trilogy. No kisses or anything else gross. There's no blood but this game still scrapes by with its E10+ rating. The story alone can get so intense, I almost want to say it should have been rated T. The actual beating up of things is okay for an E10+ game but a few of the creatures you fight may look too scary for sensitive 10-year-olds. Of course, me being a teenager, my jaw dropped from how awesome the monsters looked. The gameplay is brilliant compared to the last two games. Are you kidding, EVERYTHING'S brilliant compared to the last two games! It's also much longer compared to the first two games. I like long games. There's a level select with about sixty-seven levels. It takes the average person sixty-seven days to beat one of them. But you can get help from a friend with the new co-op feature. I mean, if Cynder's going to follow Spyro for the whole trip, she should be a playable character, right? Why can't they make more games with a plot as great as this? Why can't they make more games with a plot? I like games with stories, as long as there aren't too many cutscenes but there's plenty of fighting. Anyway, this is one of the best games you'll ever play in your life, or at least it will be if you play it. I'm kinda glad they cancelled the movie, though. If they're going to base it off the exact plot of the game like they said they would, it's going to be... unimaginitive. Maybe they can make one with a different plot in a few years but I'm glad they didn't do what sounded like re-animating all the game's cutscenes and putting them on the bigscreen. It just wouldn't make the game seem as cool. But the game was AMAZING!!! The controls are simple, but the game's a little hard. It's funny, exciting and real cool-looking. It's my dream game.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byKoko-Tea July 17, 2018

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written byZikra June 29, 2017

Hi guys myself Zikra I love this game a a lot but I am not able to afford it please help me I want this game so badly but not available in my country if any one can help please help May God bless you and answer your prayers

Kid, 12 years old March 15, 2015

this Game is a really great!

This game is about 2 young dragons,it's a a lot of adventure,and can be a challenging! there are some frightening monsters like Giant lava Golem,Goblins,trolls,skeletons, but an evil powerful dragon named Malefor is the main boss in the game,he islike the master of all the monsters,he also looks frightening and scary,and very powerful

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 11 years old December 4, 2013

The legend of spyro

It has a great story line but not good combat I've played the first 2 TLoS and they have better combat but the story makes up for the combat the eternal night was my favorite because it was hard and fun This one was a bit too easy
Kid, 12 years old October 16, 2013

Spyro Trilogy

If your kid or yourself is looking for something that has a bit more story and a bit more serious than the Skylanders series, then I highly recommend you play this fantastic game! However I do recommend that you or your child play the first two games as this third game is the finale of the spyro series.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byTripFoot November 2, 2012

Amazing!

I played the DS version, and it was AMAZING!!! The story was beautiful, the graphics stunning, and the game fit together perfectly! I was so exited over it! Even now, about two or three years after finishing it, all the wonderful emotions this game stirred come back to me! Even if you hate fantasy, this game is recommended. It's so magical, and has such a wonderful story and characters, you'll be caught in it's spell of beauty!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byShelbling13 May 17, 2012

THE LEGEND OF SPYRO: DAWN OF THE DRAGON - What parents need to know.

THE LEGEND OF SPYRO: DAWN OF THE DRAGON is one of the best Spyro games that I've played for the Playstation 3. The Legend Of Spyro Trilogy has a great plot and is just plain fun! There is no adult content. Younger players will enjoy the gameplay and experience, and older teens (14 and up) and adults will enjoy the story and voice talents by talented stars. Spyro is voiced by Elijah Wood. Cynder (in this game) is voiced by Christina Ricci. Sparx was voiced by David Spade, Billy West, and (in this game) Wayne Brady. Ignitus is voiced by Gary Oldman. Hunter is voiced by Blair Underwood. Malefor (AKA The Dark Master) is voiced by Mark Hamill. Kevin Michael Richardson as Terrador, Chief Prowlus, Hermit. Corey Burton as Volteer, Mason, Additional Voices. Jeff Bennett as Cyril, Additional Voices. Martin Jarvis as The Chronicler. Fred Tatasciore as Meadow, Additional Voices. Chris Wilson as Additional Voices. Michael Graham as Additional Voices. Spyro and Cynder do have a secret relationship. They both love each other, but never say it until the very end when Cynder whispers "I love you" to Spyro. Overall, I'd rate this game 9.5/10 and would be a good "Family Game".

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Kid, 8 years old July 24, 2011

good game

good game and interasting

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byIceara March 6, 2011

ASWOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i love it i play it all the time its an awsome game my 8 year old sister started playing it when she was 6 years old

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2011
I do not have this game, but i have sooooo many other spyro games. the original spyro was my first step into video games, and i can still remember getting spyro 2 and 3 for my birthday. i have the game that came before this one and the violnce is not graphic at all! i am suprised ths was rated E+10, i think its really more like a E.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 8 years old December 14, 2010

Dont Be So Sad People

IM A BIG SPYRO FAN i knew he wasnt gonna die he just turend dark Its Very romantic at the end i love that game i have that game and i finished it!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bySumiko November 12, 2010