Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Common Sense says

Beloved series delivers cleverly crafted adventure.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 38 reviews
Parent Written bySteve S. December 2, 2011

Six Stars!

My 12-year-old son thoroughly enjoys this game! I have to agree that of all of the Zelda games he has (and that's a fair number), it is hands down the best balance of challenge, adventure, humor, and all of the other things that make Zelda games universal favorites. There is enough challenge to keep interest level high and enough story to keep you guessing throughout the game. If there were six stars, I'd give them. It's games like this one that Nintendo needs to issue to keep breathing life into the Wii platform. As another poster said, it's all about the game play! UPDATE: My son is now 13 and he got a lot of good play out of this game. However, he (and some of his friends) have gotten seriously stuck at a certain point in the game and have just given up. To this I say: be persistent! The game can be completed and if your child gets past this sticking point (in the Cistern), it will be very rewarding for them.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byMr. Lovewell December 17, 2011

The Legend continues.

The Legend of Zelda is exactly that. A Legend. The series has been around for 25 years now, and Nintendo has decided to celebrate by creating a new adventure. In this game, Link, a young man living high in the sky, must rescue his best friend Zelda after she falls to the evil land below. This takes his on an incredible journey, and turns him from a boy to a man. Link must use a plethora of items and weapons such as Bombs and a Whip to help him get past enemies and puzzles. He also needs to help the other people that live with him in the clouds, and each mission he completes will fill players with a feeling of accomplishment. Link and the player are helped by a young spirit named Fi, who gives helpful hints and clues on what to do next. Link fights his way through the monster infested world to find his friend and discovers a huge secret along the way. In conclusion, it's an epic adventure that people of most ages will enjoy.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byteenbat January 3, 2012

Puzzlicious

It is a great game, though some parts can be a little scary, and many of the puzzles are very difficult, though very fun. 10 & up should be able to play it, and under 10 can play with parents. Don't worry about outgrowing this game, even my 17 year old (who plays more mature games) plays and enjoys this game.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byVirtuous Gamer November 26, 2011

As usual with Zelda games.

A continuation of a classic. It is fantastic.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent Written byLydia Storm July 21, 2014

Skyward Sword Is Terrific for Kids Who Like Puzzles

Some of the puzzles are pretty hard, but this game is a great one to play with kids. You can help them, and they can help you. I'm not bothered by the combat at all (it's very cartoony), but flying the bird around is difficult and there are some pretty hard puzzles, so I probably wouldn't give it to a little kid to play alone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byNesterPester March 8, 2012

Better than Ever!

Not even finished it yet, and I still think it's one of the best Zelda's out there. Not only are the game controls fluid and interesting, but the graphics are gorgeous, and the storyline is fantastic. Some of the monsters might be a little freaky for younger kids, such as skeleton creatures and zombie-like villains, but it's not graphic or overly bloody (maybe a speck here or there when Link fights a villain). It's excellent, and I already want to get to playing again. :D

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byrazor25 August 29, 2012

Skyward Sword soars over expectations and redefines motion control

The Legend of Zelda series is one of the most beloved franchises in video game history and each entry has consistently been revered for its brilliance in design, music, graphics and story, and Skyward Sword is no exception. Without question, Skyward Sword is the best Zelda title since Ocarina of Time, and has once again created a new standard in controls much like how its predecessor did with the lock-on feature. Swinging your sword with Wii Motion Plus feels more like an extension of yourself than being a gimmick, and you feel more involved in the battles while doing so, creating an even more immersive experience that cannot be found on any other console or game to date. The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword earns my highest recommendation.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byrianne.astle August 9, 2014

Engaging, beautiful, and somewhat difficult

THEMES + Zelda is a positive female role model who stands up for herself and speaks her mind. She is not a helpless damsel in distress because she is an active player in the story. - I was surprised by the subtle anti-spouse/anti-women themes that hid under the surface, like with the man who comes to the bar every night because the woman there is better to listen to than his wife, or the downtrodden husband who stays up with the crying baby every night as his wife snores. - "Ghirahim", the boss that you fight repeatedly through the game, has some strange lines and behaviors (like a very creepy licking of his lips once). DIFFICULT + Wii controls are simple and intuitive. + I was impressed with how fun it was to swing the remote as my sword. + Some battles and puzzles are quite difficult, making the game challenging but not impossible. - Controls can be frustrating if you don't move the controller just right, especially with the giant spiders. Take frequent breaks if you have carpal tunnel. VIOLENCE / SCARINESS - Cartoon violence may be scary for some young kids under age 10. - The shadow realm challenges were very stressful and a bit scary for me as an adult. SEX + None. + All characters are modestly dressed from what I remember. LANGUAGE + None

This title contains:

Positive role models
Parent of a 6, 8, and 11 year old Written bylola_loise April 27, 2015
My child finished this at aged 6 with little help. The only reason i put a rating on it at all is for the reading required. Excellent game, possibly the best of the franchise imo

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byawkwerdmoments February 29, 2012

OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the only video game that my friends don't think is cool, but I do, and it is one million times better than every other game i've ever seen.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byTB Energy September 1, 2018

Full Game Review!

Now, Zelda, all in all, is a pretty good franchise, but has some things in this game that I'll be going over. Violence: Sword being wacked at enemies...I don't think is too bad, but it does serve at least a rating of violence 1/5. There is no blood, and bombs are mainly for puzzles. Game Theory did a video on the Hookshot which explains how in reality it would rip Link's arm out of it's socket, which when ya think about it is violent as heck, but this is never shown. I'd say 1/5 Violence. Sexually Explicit stuff: Just...Ghirahim...he looks a bit undressed. Like put some freakin' clothes on, dude! He's DISTURBING! He licks his lips at Link and EW personal BOUNDARIES MATE! just, it's something you have to get over with... Disturbing Imagery/sexual imagery: 0/5. Except for Ghirahim. No sexual/pornographic imagery I know of, and I've played this game twice. Once 100% and the other a playthrough blinded. Controls: 5/5 Difficulty! The Wii remote is just WACKY with this game! It's not for the faint of heart, to say the least. Drinking/drug/smoking: 0/5. I found nothing... Safety & Privacy: Gah, that freaking hand-out-of-the-toilet! GO AWAY! Swearing: 0/5 NO SWEARING! Don't go saying: It's a ZELDA game! It MUST swear! Because it DOES NOT!
Adult Written byDCB2524 November 19, 2017

Great Game

I loved this one. Things parents should know: This game is a little violent at times, but not excessivly. Sex is not really an issue in this game as far as I could see. One of the more flamboyant characters brags about his beautiful skin (its made of steel). There are some darker themes in the game.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness