Kid reviews for The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Common Sense says

Beloved series delivers cleverly crafted adventure.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 38 reviews
Kid, 11 years old November 24, 2011

THE greatest game ever!

Awesomeness, plain and simple.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySovaso March 7, 2012

Truly a Legend

This game is truly a legend. It has a 10/10 gameplay and uses great varity of the Wii software. The graphics, which combine the realistic graphics of Twilight Princess with the wimsical art style of The Wind Waker (for those who don't know, these are other Zelda games). However, with a few strange lines and plenty of action packed violence, this game is iffy for ages 11 and lower. This game is very educational because of all the puzzles. Examples of a few puzzles are using stones to shift time, manipulating the layout of some areas and navigating through underground mazes. This game also encourages kids to stand up for their friends. Link is a great role model because he perservers to find his friend, Zelda. He also defeats evil everywhere and will help his friends other than Zelda, specifically a young guy named Fledge. Skyward Sword has a ton of action violence that mirror you and the Wii remote. A small amount of blood takes place mostly inside the Thunderhead and in the Faron Woods (after you defeat a "Skulltula"). Another violent aspect is one of the sword manuvers Link learns is called "The Fatal Blow". As suggusted by the name, "The Fatal Blow" consists of Link vaulting into the air and stabbing the enemies heart/neck delivering a fatal blow. The game can also be frustrating because of four realms in the game called "The Silent Realms" which force Link into an area where he can't be seen or hit...while collecting sacred tears. He can't fight back, nor use any items. The dialogue " I'll make you scream so hard, you ears will be bleeding" is also heard once or twice in the game, said mostly by the antagonist, Ghirahim. Speaking of dialogue, one of the characters in the game, Groose, talks about Zelda and himself having "their special moment together". Ghirahim licks his lips once in the game and ensures an awkward moment. Overall, I give this game a 10/10. It is truly a legend and should not EVER be passed up.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written bywillard13 August 25, 2012

best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this is the best game on the wii!!!!!!!!!!!! i don't know why it didn't sell too many copies. anyways to my content review. it a strategic hack and slash game that goes as far as to make the directions of the hacking and slashing strategic(there are 8 directions) which make you think and will sharpen young minds.
Teen, 15 years old Written byknifeandfork April 8, 2015

Contains moderate violence

Skyward Sword is a real step forward in the series, with Wii Motionplus giving you full control of Link's sword. There is some violence, particularly an attack where Link jumps into the air and comes down on an enemy, driving his sword through its body. However, there is never any blood at all and enemies disappear in puffs of smoke. As a character, Link is clearly a role model, putting himself first to save the kingdom, but the main villain for most of the game, Ghirahim, is more evil and sadistic than villains of previous Zelda games, frequently talking about torturing Link. This and a few other things make the game possibly unsuitable for children below 10. One enemy which is a skeleton gladiator may be frightening to young children, but it's nothing too bad. The game can be constructive as well as although there are lots of battles with enemies and bosses, like any other Zelda game Skyward Sword is full of logic puzzles.
Teen, 14 years old Written byemboba January 15, 2012

The most amazing game of all time

This is my favorite video game ever. It kicks everything else on the market's butt. This game teaches kids creative thinking, puzzle solving, and hand eye cordination. It is the best ever!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byHylianHobbit February 8, 2013

Well... Where to begin?

I am a big fan of the Legend of Zelda series, and this game is probably my favourite! (Well... This game and Majora's Mask!) It is quite different from the previous LoZ games. The graphics look like a mixture of the realistic style of Twilight Princess and the Cel-Shaded style of The Wind Waker. The controls are a lot more presice that the other games, with full controll of how you move the sword. These controls may be a little dificult for younger players to use. The storyline is quite basic compared to games such as Twiligh Princess, but it is equally as captivating and plays an important part in the overall story of Hyrule. I have rated it suitable for 10+, with positive messages, positive role models, violence and consumerism for the following reasons; The story follows the main character, Link, trying to save his childhood best friend. He has the fate of the world on his sholders but he still continues, against all odds. If this doesn't show possitive messages, I don't know what does. He does, however, use violence to progress, in the form of fighting various creatures with weapons such as a bow and arrow, slingshot and, of corse, the Master Sword. There is no gore to worry about though, as there is no blood in these battles, and the fallen enemys just dissapear after defete. Consumerism comes into this quite strongly, seeing as it is part of a well known video game franchise with lots of merchendise and spin-offs, as well as being created by a very well known company (Nintendo). This aside, this game really feels like it was made for the fans, rather than for profit. It was a great celebration for the 25th anniversary of Zelda!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Kid, 11 years old December 2, 2011

KEWL

omg im getting these game for X-mas and played a game like it its wonderful for 11 years or more!!!!! ok maybe its a little violation in it......

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written bybioniclecomeback56 December 8, 2012

It's so cool!

Very fun. There is some mild blood from creatures (they show up in different colors, we don't see it ver y much and it is always mild. Other than that their isn't much that is objectionable.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bysuperman13 June 28, 2015

Incredible, deeply moving adventure.

The Legend of Zelda franchise has captivated, enchanted, and amazed us for most than 25 years. And Skyward Sword delivers on this reputation. Its an epic, deeply moving adventure with an incredible storyline, memorable characters, fun gameplay, and an amazing soundtrack. From dungeons to music, Skyward Sword is an incredible experience. Parents shouldn't write this game off, as it contains some very tricky and devious puzzles which will have you thinking in creative and ingenious ways. I shouldn't really say much here, just go play the game if you haven't. There is no mature content whatsoever, besides some mildly romantic references and talk of violence (threats by a villain, a story told of a brutal war, etc.). The combat is fun, engaging (although occasionally frustrating due to the motion controls, but they're mostly well done), and entirely bloodless. Nintendo has delivered another fantastic game. From its characters, cut scenes, and music, this is a cinematic and sweeping spectacle of a game which had me hooked for more than 30 hours of playtime. It is very long, so kids will have to be patient. Skyward Sword is the best title on the Wii, and one of the best games of all time.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old December 16, 2011

Great

Nice + 2 The Serise

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byPersonthatisawesome May 29, 2015

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old March 14, 2013

2 Swords Up!

To celebrate the 25th anniversery of their beloved franchise, Nintendo realesed a new installment in the Legend of Zelda franchise. This recent outing, entitled 'Skyward Sword', is in no way a let down, and is also quite good at its storytelling. Link, the game's main character is a courageous young man who is willing to risk his life for the safety of others. He is also a forgiving person, and only shows hostility towards those that ruthlessly harm innocents. The game's heroine, Zelda, might come off as a damsel-in-distress, but she is also as courageous as her best friend Link, standing up to the school's bullies when her friends were in trouble. Most of the games caracters are also very nice and appealing people, albeit the more whimsical antics of Groose, Link's rival, and the downright vile acts of the game's main villans.The game deals with issues such as friendship, rising up to the occasion, and the importance of trusting others. However, there are some negative aspects. Link does have to do battle with many creatures, some vaguely humaniod. Enemies usually die by way of an explosion, followed by a dark purple smoke cloud, and then a faint skull shape can be seen. One of the game's main antagonist, Ghiraham, makes, sometimes disturbing, verbal threats towards Link. There is some flirting going on within the dialouge, but it is mostly played up for fun. Slight crude humor, most of it revolving around bathrooms (player can use the toilet-though nothing is seen, a ghost's hand haunts the bathroom, etc.). And, as metioned before, this is the most recent game in a 25 year strong franchise, so be prepared if you decide to want another title in the series. A fantastic game, swords down!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byAC718 March 6, 2015

Extremely Good

This game is very good though it is appropriate for 5 and up I wouldn't recommend it for anyone under 7. This game requires some good puzzle solving, while I, 13 years old, solved the puzzled only using a walkthrough twice, I was stumped a lot. Though the satisfaction of solving a puzzle is great. The Boss fights also are pretty hard sometimes and require good reflexes and ability to learn enemies fighting styles to then exploit their weaknesses. The Story is more serious than most E 10+ games with a very intricate and complicate done about time travel, god, war, and magic your child may not keep up with it and only play for gameplay. Link is great role model as he is brave and faces dangers to save the world and rescue his friend. He also learns consequences of his actions as in one fun side quest you must work to repay the debt for breaking a chandelier (It had money on top)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old September 12, 2013

i love this game, its my first zelda game and i love it so much.

This game is awesome

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 10 years old October 30, 2013

best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Legend of Zelda is the best game ever it! really easy to move link around. the violence is hitting monster with a sword. HA!HA!HA! there is a bit of animated blood which means blood is an explosion after you kill a monster.whoohoo! there is only a bit of violance not like assassin creed or grand theft auto III which don't play i will rate this 8 and up.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old May 5, 2015

Great Game

This game is great! It has a decent amount of educational value (all the reading), Link (the hero) is a positive role model because he's trying to save his dear friend Zelda. The violence I would give this game is a three out of five, because you hit monsters with your sword throughout the game, causing the enemy to fly back a few feet, then they turn black and poof into a purple skull cloud and dissipate. You can also shoot enemies with a slingshot, and a bow. You have six different swords in this game, slowly traveling and having your original sword purified in three sacred flames (Ferore's, Nayru's, and Din's). You can buy shields and other equipment in the Bazaar, a shop in Link's home of Skyloft, a floating island. Their are mini quests which lead up to finishing a big quest, and there are also mini games you can play throughout the game.
Kid, 11 years old October 15, 2013

Frustrating game may lead to fits of absolute rage for younger children.

In this prequel to Ocarina of Time, Link is tasked to save Zelda; this time, from falling into a mysterious tornado that came out of NOWHERE! Do you know how hard it is to defeat a Skulltula? I stayed up till SIX IN THE MORNING trying to get past Skyview Temple. I only got four hours of sleep and it almost brought me to tears! And to this day, I STILL can't get past the first boss: Lord Ghirahim. This is for Zelda fans with SUPREME CONFIDENCE in their abilities.
Teen, 15 years old Written byZeldaLover77 June 27, 2016

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Kid, 9 years old December 7, 2013

AWESOME

Get it for a 6 year old kid who UNDERSTANDS video games

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byEric56379 January 31, 2014

This is a great game.

I am a huge Legend of Zelda fan. In my opinion, this is my favorite Zelda game that there is. The game has no sex in it. The violence is minor. And there is no swearing. There is a little bit of potty mouth in the middle of the game. But it's not that bad. In my opinion. I think I would recommend this game for 11-16.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play

Pages