Kid reviews for Until Dawn

Common Sense says

Horror game starring teens is bloody, gory, and intense.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 5 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 21 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byyoulouzer26 June 8, 2016

2/3 of it was excellent 1/3 was awful

Until dawn is an excellent game until towards the end. towards the end its just a gore fest. Some strong sexual references, and innuendo. Some characters are very positive leaders and role models even though the situation is crummy. Extremely strong language through out.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byGhostPyro September 7, 2015

Please, I beg you, go buy this game...RIGHT NOW!!

This game is freaking tremendous! It's so freaking good and so gripping, it's amazing. So the game's story is that one year ago, 10 friends went to winter lodge that was owned by the one friend (Josh), his two siblings (Hannah and Beth who are twins), and their parents. Then, 6 of the friends pull a prank on one of the sisters (Hannah) and lure her into a secluded room where her love interest (Mike) is and where everyone is hiding. She goes into the room and starts to take of her clothes (you don't see anything), because she was going to have sex with Mike. Then one of the friends lets out a silent snicker, and Hannah hears her. Embarassed, she goes outside into the snowstorm. Her sister, Beth, goes out to help find her. When she finds her, they start runnign, because they see something, but it isn't revealed at this point what the thing is. They run, but get stuck between the thing and a cliff. They hold each others hands, because they're scared, but then one of the sisters slips and drags the other down with her, but the one catches herself on a tree root. Then a masked figure offers them a hand to get up. Here a key mechanic is introduced, though I'll talk about that later. You get to decide whether or not you drop Hannah and take his hand or just let go, but either way, they both die, because it's a key part of the story. Then, one year later, they all return on the anniversary of the twins disappearing. They all return and think everythings normal, but they realize that there's a maniac on the loose, and when things start to look up, things get even worse as they discover that a mythical being is hunting them. The gameplay is also really good. This game is a third-person horror game that is really story-based. One of the key gameplay mechanics is the decision system. In this game, you get to make different dialouge decisions that don't change the game too much, only a bit of the dialouge, but then there's the Butterfly Effect. A gameplay mechanic that takes some of the decisions you make and gives you consequences and changes the story. Some may choose whether a person dies or lives even. And the Butterfly Effect also can end up changing the ending depending on whether or not you kill everyone, everyone lives, or some people live some people die. There's also a totem mechanic that ties in with the story that shows possible future events. Some the death of the finder, some the death of a friend, some show a possible future event of fortune and such. Also, there's these clues that you can find that open up some more dialouge, that help lead you to the killer is before he's revealed, ect. The game looks beautiful, it's such a great looking game, the only gripe that I have with the graphics is that the hair graphics look a bit weird at times, but the game is still jaw-droppingly beautiful. Now, onto the parent's concerns. Yes, this game is M, and yes, this game earns that rating, but it's not too bad. The violence and gore isn't too bad. If you've played games like Mortal Kombat, you should kind of expect that level of blood and gore in this game. The blood and gore only really happens when someone dies. People getting cut in half, people getting hung from spikes through their necks, people getting their heads crushed, ect. Though this may sound bad, it's not too bad. When someone dies there is a fair amount of blood, and sometimes you may see a persons guts, veins and such. The swearing is a bit above average when it comes to M games. There's a fair amount of uses of F***, s***, d***, and a** though it's kind of tame when it comes to M games. The sex is non-exisistent. There's some references but that's it. The game also shows great role-models. By the very end of the game, all of the characters become really brave and learn to percerviere. It also has a great message, because it teaches kids to not give up during tough times and about making hard decisions and thinking about the long-term, even if it may be an on-the-fly decision. Also, the game can get a bit scary, which may be a bit of a concern for your child. One of the main antagonists of this game is a mythical creature that looks pretty scary. The atmosphere is also pretty creepy. And the themes are a bit on the darker side. This game has to do with loss, revenge, cannibalism, and more that does make this game pretty dark. This game is great. Because of the gore and swearing, I would reccomend it for 13-14+, but that depends on your child and whether or not you're comfortable with your child being exposed to this stuff. This game is terrific. It teaches kids about percervierence and it makes yhou really care about the characters and makes you really want to keep them alive. This game is awesome and is a true hidden-gem and is one of the best games of this year so far.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Teen, 16 years old Written byIlovehorrormovies March 13, 2016

AMAZING GAME!!!

This is my favorite video game!!! Even though it has lots of swearing and violence, 16 year olds can handle it. Also, About the sex, Other than sexual innuendos, kissing and almost-sex, nothing much. So, This is definitely an R rated teen-slasher movie, which is gory and has a lot of swearing. But, Older teens (16 and above) can handle it. But, definitely not below 16 though.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byNikhilb_123 February 19, 2016

Until dawn is terrifying

Until dawn is the scariest than any horror movie I have seen. Honestly I wasn't very optimistic about the game but when I played it I couldn't have been more impressed. There was one scene when I jumped further from my seat than I every have before. Your choices effect your play for example if you frequently choose a clown for what your find most unsettling the killer will wear a clown mask. The violence is pretty extreme with every act of violence shown. There is also quite a lot of language and sexual discussion but if you want to play something really scary and are a fan of horror this is the game for you.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byPanipuri October 31, 2015

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This Game is Awesome!!! The Graphics are 10/10! OK,OK, I know this game is very violent which includes- Gouging out of eyes, Breaking of Jaws, stabbing in the stomach and dirty, scary monsters. This game eve has a fair amount of sex which includes- Kissing, A bad prank, and in one of the chapters, One of the female protagonists roam in a towel (as she can't find her clothes). And lots and lots of language. All the protagonists are between the ages of 18-20. Even the anatongist is 20 years old. This game can also be disturbing - Because of Death totems . And this game can be Very Scary for kids under the age of 16. So, i would not reccomend this game for them.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAlphaRaptor_ September 7, 2015

Until "Death" Dawn

Until Dawn is one of those games that looks like it's based right off an R-rated movie. That's because it is. If your looking for a good "cabin" horror story, here it is for you. Kids may get into this title because of the choices you can make. This leaves the player to discover all kinds of paths. Some may even lead to graphic displays of the characters deaths. One such example is a character being cut in half, or being shot in the head. Until Dawn contains lots and lots of swearing and sexual remarks. One example is one of the characters saying "Let's party like we're fu**** porn stars" or when a character screams remarks of having sex into the woods. To add on to that, the game is realistic. So that normally leads to realistic cut-scenes of death and injury. This game is graphic. If anything is coming out of this, families should be aware, that if their child wants to play this. It's full of gore, horror, and sex. Just that simple. This is a good title for mature teenagers, adults, etc. If your 15 or up, go right ahead and play it. If not, make a good decision, yeah?

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byHorrorIsMyLife September 17, 2016

It's A Great Love Letter To Horror Movies, But It's Definitely For Older Audiences

With several sexual references, constant swearing, and gruesome deaths, this game IS NOT FOR CHILDREN. Why do you think it's rated 18+? I'm not hating on the game though, it's a great homage to horror cliches and has some great actors like Peter Stomare as Dr.Hill and Rami Malek as Joshua Washington. The graphics are realistic and it's your fault if the character's die, which could make you feel bad about killing a nice person like Sam, Matt, or Ashley. (Oh, and, Ashley is the only character who never swears, save for the Weindigos, who can't talk period)

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bygaurav_r123 May 8, 2016

AMAZING GAME!!!

This game is awesome!! But, it's not appropriate for kids at all! It contains (SPOILERS) A sexual prank gone wrong, Ugly monsters, horrible deaths of teens which include, Jaw-ripping, eye-gouging, Stabbing and decapitation. It has a lot of gore and is scary. It has a psycho and a monster and ghosts. One of the scariest scenes was when a couple was going to have sex, they hear a noise. So, the girl goes out to check on and starts shouting out insults, thinking that it's her friends playing a prank on them. Then, when she shuts the door, A hand comes through the window and drags her out through the window, with all glass shattering. This game can be scary even for teens and a few adults. But, The effects are amazing, characters are modeled after their voice actors, and the graphics are a 10/10. A must play game for teens above 16+. Well, I saw my elder brother play through it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byRyanBigGames December 20, 2017

Awesome but gory

This is a really good game but it's filled with Gore and swearing and it is scary. It has scenes where the monsters rip a guys jaw out, stabbing them in the eyes, and getting there head crushed.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 11 years old August 23, 2016

Best game ever

Until dawn is basically an interactive horror movie. It follows 7 teens who go back to the mountains a year after a traumatic event. This game is amazing in every way! The graphics are just like watching a movie. The music is incredibly haunting. And the plot is so twisty. You also really get to know and care about the characters. My favorite was Sam. It does have A LOT of cursing. Definitely not for kids. I've been playing m games forever so I can handle it. It's a very gory game and a lot of characters can die in very gruesome way. And it can be very distressing trying to keep everyone alive. Overall this is an amazing game and I couldn't recommend it more! Obviously, by my name.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 9 years old July 13, 2016

Smart, exciting and intense survival horror is violent and bloody but interesting and strange.

My rating:R for bloody violence and terror/horror, language, and sexuality.
Teen, 14 years old Written byPieceofslushie March 6, 2016

It's great!

Everything about this game is amazing! The characters, the story, the atmosphere, everything! I would recommend this game to anyone ages 16 an up. Now, Violence: there's quite a bit of it. LOTS of blood, characters heads being ripped from their bodies, there's a part where one of the characters is sawd in half and his insides go everywhere. It's pretty gory. Sexual content: there's mention of it at the beginning of the game. Two of the characters talk about doing it a few times. Nudity: there isn't any. The closest you will get is one of the characters in her bra and underwear. But that all depends on what choices you make. Language: LOTS of swearing. There's no avoiding it. Alcohol and drug use: there's none of it whatsoever. The story line is great though and the whole game is amazing. I totally recommend it!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 11 years old December 6, 2015
First I would just like to say THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER. The graphics are so amazing you feel like you really are there. There is a lot of gore though which can be scary for children under 16. You make think that if an 11 year old plays it it can't be THAT bad but really I don't get scared by this kind of stuff. There is full on gore too. It's not like some games where whenever there is real violence it doesn't show it. There is anything from people being decapitated to a man being sawed in half. You can see everything. The graphics are amazing so that doesn't help with the violence. There is also really bad language. Pretty much a s bad and frequent as you can get. There are also many sexual parts to the game. Gameplay is pretty easy. Most of the time your walking or making a decision.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byoh123 October 15, 2018

Ok for mature kids

I think if you are very mature, you can handle alot of cursing, you can handle gore and violence and you can handle occasional sexual jokes and innuendos, you're fine. It can get a little scary, but not 'haunting your nightmares scary' and it certainly didn't effect me. I was fine with all the swearing in this game (and I've got to admit there's alot of it), and if your kid can't handle swearing, it probably isn't for them. Now, the game is quite violent and gory, but it's not too bad, and again, as a 13 year old, I could handle it. The graphics for this is game is 10/10, AMAZING. The whole game is just a great concept, and I love games where your choices can effect what happens. L

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byalicd May 31, 2018

One of the best games I have ever played!

But a lot of vulgarisms and jokes about sex. Don't play it while your parents are at home. The game is scary, but I didn't have nightmares afther playing. I think the game shows what revenge and mental health problems really are. That they are not good.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written bySpaceCat446 May 9, 2018

HOLY CRAP

this was the best game I've ever played... it teaches lessons about loyalty and friendship and also teaches lessons in the choice part of the game showing the player right and wrong.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byDiamondmaster November 1, 2017

Best scary game ever!

Probably the most VIOLENT game I've played, but is my favorite horror game. The cast is great, the scares are spine tingling, story is mind-bending, the violence...EXTREME. Not for the faint of heart. I give it a 97/100 (A+)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byCathrine September 20, 2017

Awesome game

Some jumpscares but nothing too bad. The news are scarier than this game.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written bypeppercat48 July 24, 2017

This game is amazing

This game is absolutely beautiful in the way the game flows. You are completely immersed into the world of Until Dawn. There are a fair amount of sexual references in the beginning but nothing to extreme. At times this game can be very disturbing as you have the lives of the protagonists in your hands. And if you make a decision and one of them dies, the death of the characters are 90% of the time very disturbing and way more violent then they need to be. The game also adapts to what scares you. If you are scared easy, play in the middle of the day and with no headphones or surround sound. The totems in this game are somewhat nerve racking and can disturb younger audiences as you see the possibilities of death, near death and glimpses into the future that may be overwhelming to some. The swearing is definitely there and is used throughout the game but is not over the top. Overall this game is absolutely amazing I recommend you buy it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Teen, 15 years old Written bychiester45 June 24, 2017

An intense and disturbing game that shows the consequences of your choices

"Until Dawn" is more or less just a ten or so hour long campy horror movie that allows interaction from the player to decide the way the plot goes, from which characters die to how much exposition is laid out to the ending. That being said, it is a very cliched game, using various tropes and character stereotypes befitting of a horror movie. Despite that, this is a rather good game. It's interesting and basically a video game equivalent of a thrilling page-turner novel. New things are being added with every chapter and the way the POV switches from character to character adds to the suspense, many times ending on a cliffhanger for one or two characters before the viewpoint changes to (a) different character(s). But its two fatal flaws are the ending and the numerous Deus Ex Machina-s that appear throughout the story. And that's about it for the actual game, now for the content: There is A LOT of violence in "Until Dawn", characters being killed off in numerous, gruesome ways with incredibly realistic graphics (which are actually quite fantastic), meaning the gore is detailed and more likely to affect people. That's the main reason I put this game to be for people 17 and up. Another reason is the swearing: typical of what would happen if a group of teenagers went for a vacation without parents or adults, there's a lot of swearing, both mild and explicit. And that brings me to my third point: the sexual content. A few times during the game, some questionable scenes appear, such as two characters undressing for sex (nothing is shown, though) or two others meeting in the middle of the night under a sexual context. Sex is not directly mentioned but is a very heavy undertone is such scenes as the ones I mentioned above. Overall, "Until Dawn" is a pretty okay game with very gory violence and typical teenage swearing.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language

Pages